Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.1/5
83 reviews
Rating: 5/5

"Gradually clearing my pond ."

Reviewed Thursday, 10 January 2019

Rating: 5/5

"I've tried these lots of times. but the time before I lost everything in my pond. and I cried. But as it is winter I went back to them as they clear the water so quickly. there is just one problem they are supposed to sink which they did. but this time they came up. and they did not do there job. so I had to open the bags and drop the badly flakes drop to the bottom of my pond they are hopefully working better than they were. it's just I now have frothy water and it's also muddy. I'm concerned about my fish."

Reviewed Thursday, 22 November 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Water is looking good and duck weed has almost vanished"

Reviewed Thursday, 18 October 2018

Rating: 5/5

"What can l say.they are exactly as described."

Reviewed Thursday, 19 July 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Because I have just had to struggle putting in a new pond. and to keep it clear of algy and to keep the water clear I buy Barley straw, Primrose as I know I can count on them to have the correct item, at a reasonable price. and so would give their details to all who need items at reasonable prices. ."

Reviewed Wednesday, 14 February 2018

Rating: 5/5

"We have been plagued by blanket weed and duckweed all summer. Have tried several products, some expensive, some sort of worked. The net bag works very well and tethered on string for easy removal. In just a few days after the pond clean which is recommended, I saw the duck weed start to return. Within literally hours of putting in the barley flakes the weed disappeared and has not returned. This was two weeks ago. I would also recommend, clean the pond out before starting the barley flakes. I also poured a solution with the barley flakes around the pond and dunked new plants in a bucket with the barley flakes before putting them in."

Reviewed Sunday, 12 November 2017

Rating: 5/5

"The organic Barley flakes have exceeded expectation...they attract LEECHES!!! I have tried everything over the years with very limited success. I attached the bag to a length of wire, dropped the bag into the pond, attaching the wire to the side of the pond. After a week in the wild life pond, at the side in the sun, the bag was alive with Leeches, absolutely revolting. I lifted the bag out of the pond and submerged it into a jug of salt water. Left it over night, all of the Leeches were dead, safe to throw out with the general rubbish. Nothing short of a miracle!"

Reviewed Sunday, 20 August 2017

Rating: 5/5

"I had always had a green pond, earlier this year I tried straw barley in tubes, I bought five, but sadly they had no affect on my pond and they floated for weeks, making my pond literally unsightly. This time I decided to return to the flakes, I bought five containers holding two pouches. I put them in, and within a space of two days my green pond had been transformed to a sight to behold, my wildlife, were & still are thriving, & birds come to bathe, & drink. Its as though an angel, waved her wind, thank you primrose for the flakes, I wouldn't have known what to do without you. Or the flakes, they saved my pond & wildlife."

Reviewed Sunday, 2 July 2017

Rating: 5/5

"Fish seem happy & water clearing slightly"

Reviewed Monday, 14 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 1 September 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 8 August 2016

Rating: 2/5

"The blanket weed is still growing after 4 bags!"

Reviewed Monday, 18 July 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 5 July 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 June 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 May 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Not used this yet!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 May 2016

Rating: 5/5

"doing the job its supposed to do"

Reviewed Saturday, 26 March 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Time will tell"

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 March 2016

Rating: 1/5

"The product is useless and does not do as stated. The water in my pond was cloudy and I had to take the flakes out and throw them away."

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 March 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"I think they will do the job only time will tell"

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 March 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Does what it says! ????"

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 December 2015

Rating: 5/5

"The product cleared the pond almost immediately. Thank you."

Reviewed Sunday, 26 July 2015

Rating: 5/5

"good product"

Reviewed Wednesday, 24 June 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Great service"

Reviewed Sunday, 21 June 2015

Rating: 5/5

"They have completely cleared the murky water in the pond - fantastic result!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 17 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 9 May 2015

Rating: 4/5

"does as supposed to"

Reviewed Sunday, 3 May 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Great packaging easy to use"

Reviewed Saturday, 2 May 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Monday, 6 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 2 April 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Water is still not clear and one bag has already floated to the surface instead of remaining at the bottom of the pond"

Reviewed Sunday, 29 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The design was even better that expected"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 27 October 2014

Rating: 5/5

"excellent product"

Reviewed Tuesday, 29 July 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Thursday, 10 July 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 July 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 29 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"."

Reviewed Sunday, 22 June 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Fantastic service, very quick."

Reviewed Thursday, 12 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 7 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"as above"

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 June 2014

Rating: 2/5

"There is little difference to the amount of weed on the pond. Unfortunately I wasn't able to clear it manually first, as suggested, as it pulled out the tadpoles."

Reviewed Monday, 2 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Its early days to say if they are working but the fish like them!!!"

Reviewed Sunday, 1 June 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Saturday, 31 May 2014

Rating: 5/5

"I have a large pond it is six foot in length and is shaped like a figure eight, I enlarged it last year, making slightly wider at one point between the two joining circles, now it is more like a out of shape kidney, but is still as deep, I thought I had ordered two containers of arley straw, as I new I should need another two for the depth is just over 18inches but at the moment it is doing ok, with the two I ordered, as it has plants as well, adding to that I have an oxiginator, which keeps the oxigen high as I have newts frogs and toads as well as lots of other wonderful wildlife in it, yes I would buy this product every time it is well worth the pricve and the service is extremely good. Thank you primrose."

Reviewed Tuesday, 20 May 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Ordered same previously, needed some more"

Reviewed Monday, 7 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 24 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"the pump is having difficulty in clearing the sludge but product works well"

Reviewed Saturday, 5 October 2013

Rating: 1/5

"DONT THINK THEY WORK AT ALL. WATER SUDSY ALL THE TIME AND HAZY."

Reviewed Monday, 16 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 9 September 2013

Rating: 1/5

"Not sure these are working as expected due to strange reaction in pond water. Have currently removed from pond"

Reviewed Monday, 9 September 2013

Rating: 5/5

"really pleased"

Reviewed Sunday, 11 August 2013

Rating: 2/5

"No visible effect yet"

Reviewed Tuesday, 6 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 July 2013

Rating: 5/5

"They seem to be clearing my pond"

Reviewed Thursday, 4 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Although our pond is looking good, the barley balls do not float on the surface for many days before disappearing below the plants. Is this OK? Perhaps they are not so densly packed with barley as they were? Previous balls would initially sink and then reappear and float for some weeks."

Reviewed Sunday, 23 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 22 June 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Tuesday, 11 June 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Not only do the bagged flakes harvest the algae, they also act as feeding stations for the tadpoles. There has been a definate increase in the clarity of my pond water since I introduced the barley straw flakes."

Reviewed Sunday, 9 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 12 May 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Just what was needed, and very reasonably priced."

Reviewed Saturday, 11 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 17 May 2012

Rating: 5/5

"I used barley flakes last year and found them very convenient and are excellent for keeping the water clear. I am ordering another supply this year and will continue to use it in the future. mof"

Reviewed Monday, 19 March 2012

Rating: 1/5

"I spent a lot of my pension on the barley flakes and they did nothing at all! What a waste of money. I could have had a slap up meal instaed."

Reviewed Friday, 9 September 2011

Rating: 1/5

"We have a pool of 1500gallons so used 23 bags of flakes - no change so repeated the 3 bags. We still have a very green murky pool. aA complete waste of money."

Reviewed Thursday, 14 July 2011

Rating: 2/5

"The green algae seem a little less dense, the duckweed is spreading further and the water snails love it!"

Reviewed Friday, 1 July 2011

Rating: 4/5

"After 3 weeks pond was much clearer - although I did double the amount suggested."

Reviewed Monday, 27 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent service from yourselves and the product did exactly what it said.We have now got a crystal clear pond.Thank you."

Reviewed Sunday, 26 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent service and prompt delivery.My Pond is getting into shape again. will have no hesitation to order again. Thanks. móf"

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"very good barley flakes,but need stronger bags as the fish open the bags,and eat the contents,"

Reviewed Monday, 30 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Too soon to know if the brown algae will clear, but thank you for the way you dealt with my order. Leila Buckland"

Reviewed Thursday, 5 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"barley flakes takes about three days to clear the green algea in my pond i have tried the straw which does not seem to work as well good product good service many thanks brian s"

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"I ordered this item just over a week ago and though it has took it's time coming this time round I am happy with it, I have had it in the past year for my pond, I was not sure at first but over the winter months I have been proven wrong, it has been well worth the money I spent, it has done it's job twice over, it was ment to do, and I have been well and truly happy with it's results, my pond is now looking more like a pond than a green sludgy mess, thank you primrose, Thank you very much. "

Reviewed Saturday, 30 April 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Seems to be working well clearing the pond"

Reviewed Thursday, 14 April 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Very good value. "

Reviewed Saturday, 26 March 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Hi, dont think the flakes have been in the water long enough to see the benefits. However, I do know that it does work as I have used barley straw before to clear the pond water. regards"

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 March 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Very good quality product, and nicely packaged and quick prompt service "

Reviewed Monday, 15 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The service was fast and efficient. I'm not sure whether I am rating your servgice or the product. I have not used the product yet, so am unable to comment"

Reviewed Tuesday, 2 November 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Barley pond flakes They seem to have reduced the amount of blanketweed considerably but instead of lasting about 3 months they lasted 3 weeks. We think this is because our goldfish took a liking to them and managed to take the flakes out of the netting bags, leaving them empty. However, we are going to persevere and order another 6 bags. "

Reviewed Sunday, 15 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Not sure what this has done for the pond itself but it was a talking point in the pond until the dog stole it and made off with it."

Reviewed Monday, 2 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Very pleased with your Delivery and the product is working well in my pond. I have given your details to Mr MR Copp of West Moors, Dorset who will be ordering from you the same product shortly.`"

Reviewed Friday, 23 July 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Organic Barley Straw Flakes, though this item is very good for any size pond, it does not keep the pond clear of green algae for up to four months as stated, I have had a pond now for Two and a half months and I have had two pouches in to clear, now I have four in, my pond is 10 ft by 5ft it certainly does not last for a total of 4 months as it clearly states on the label it only lasts for one month at a time to me that will become expensive in the long run, therefore I will not be renewing when these pouches have finished there work, I will be buying chemicals,as I feel it would be more economical."

Reviewed Monday, 19 July 2010