Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.1/5
756 reviews
Rating: 2/5

"Hasn't really had any effect on our visiting cats yet, they look at it a bit cautiously but walk on by, the literature says to leave it for 28 days to have full effect but not hopeful."

Reviewed Tuesday, 18 December 2018

Rating: 2/5

"It seems as though product does what it says, I haven't seen any cats in garden for a while. Downside is due to battery life, each time you walk past, leaves/branches move in the wind...batteries last a week. Not feasible to keep switching off just to go in garden and power supply needs a high expenditure to set-up"

Reviewed Sunday, 26 March 2017

Rating: 2/5

"I've had this 2 weeks now cats are still going on my garden,also the batteries don't last long i put 2 9v batteries in and they have already gone so had to buy 2 more which works out expensive"

Reviewed Thursday, 9 June 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Batteries do not last long and so far still have cat problem but it is early days so may be okay"

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 April 2016

Rating: 2/5

"I am getting less cats (not sure if weather is cold and thats why) but still 2 cats have very happily walked past the scarer. :-( Please advise"

Reviewed Thursday, 25 February 2016

Rating: 2/5

"This item doesn't work other than when you push the test button, it stays on with no means of switching it off. Two batteries lasted 5 days and the Cat/fox infra red went off. No way to feedback other than here. What a waste."

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 November 2015

Rating: 2/5

"unfortunately this scarer seems to have packed up. surely batteries can't have died in a couple of weeks can they? will try 2 more batteries first."

Reviewed Thursday, 23 July 2015

Rating: 2/5

"The batteries only last a few days, so you need to be mega rich for this to be an effective remedy. Big shame as it does really work!!!! Back to the drawing board on the design I think!!!!"

Reviewed Thursday, 9 April 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Not the best product on the market as claimed!!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 18 March 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Range doesn't come up to expectations and expensive batteries run out quickly. Not enough information with product."

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Cats don't give a second glance!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 20 January 2015

Rating: 2/5

"So far the cat has ignored the scarer but it is early days"

Reviewed Monday, 19 January 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Rubbish.The little black exterminator,just sits in front of it."

Reviewed Saturday, 15 November 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Cats tearing up the garden where I have laid grass seed even although there are 4 on each lawn."

Reviewed Sunday, 7 September 2014

Rating: 2/5

"After a week's use the new batteries were exhausted. On reporting this a replacement cat scarer was sent. Its efficiency will be tested over time."

Reviewed Friday, 15 August 2014

Rating: 2/5

"either the cat is deaf or the product does not seem to bother the ****** cat"

Reviewed Saturday, 26 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Not convincejd its working properly as a cat has been within fifteen foot of it on its widest setting. I am not convinced that it covers a good area . Brought it to deter from my ponds"

Reviewed Thursday, 24 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"it seems as if the product was working until two days ago I saw a cat in the garden doing its business on checking the scarer it seems that the batteries were flat. I put two new batteries in two weeks ago. if the item uses the batteries that fast I would say it is going to be a very costly experience."

Reviewed Sunday, 20 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Poor"

Reviewed Tuesday, 8 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Cats love it"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"No cats so far but in the case of one the expensive batteries ran out in about a week."

Reviewed Sunday, 6 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"bought cat scarer this does not work has not stopped cats coming into garden will be returning for refund"

Reviewed Monday, 9 June 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Does not appear effective at the moment, but 28 days has not yet passed."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 June 2014

Rating: 2/5

"not too sure about product thought it was working.but cat next door just marched down garden. because it is a silent object we don't know if it is working as it should"

Reviewed Saturday, 31 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Not sure if it's actually stopping the cats going where we don't want them to go; they seem to find another way around which should still be within the range of the Scarer! I've marked it Poor, not because I think it particularly is but because even at close range my cats and dog aren't particularly bothered by it."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"I wanted it to stop cats fouling in my vegetable plot, and it is still happening. In fairness, I think it has reduced however, so this would be a "Medium" rating if that option existed."

Reviewed Monday, 26 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"I am prepared to trial the advanced cat scarer a little longer. Yesterday there was a cat sat within two yards of the device not looking a bit concerned."

Reviewed Saturday, 10 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Does not scare the cats, been out in the garden since it was delivered, the cats stop look at it and carry on."

Reviewed Tuesday, 29 April 2014

Rating: 2/5

"does not work on the local cats round here. either deaf or could not care less."

Reviewed Monday, 24 March 2014

Rating: 2/5

"I'm not sure it works. I have bought two of these for a small garden. Before I used them I bought gravel and placed it around my plants. Then inserted the two devices to cover all areas of the garden. The cat still came and made a mess. Then I started spraying Jeyes fluid around the garden in the morning at 8 am and around 6pm. It seems that Jeyes fluid is what works and not the device. I will continue this process for the next three months and see what happens. Please note paprika, orange peelings, water bottles, egg shells, commercial cat repellants were absolutely useless."

Reviewed Monday, 17 March 2014

Rating: 2/5

"have been trying this out for 2 weeks but so far it hasn't had the desired effect!. As suggested we are going to give it the full 28 days trial."

Reviewed Sunday, 9 March 2014

Rating: 2/5

"So far this is not working how ever i will give a try for the full 28 days"

Reviewed Wednesday, 12 February 2014

Rating: 2/5

"testing at the moment as so far the testing button is sticking and may have to send the scarer back as faulty"

Reviewed Sunday, 19 January 2014

Rating: 2/5

"It has no deterrent effect on the local cats, we are still clearing up as much mess as previously."

Reviewed Tuesday, 10 September 2013

Rating: 2/5

"I've only had this for a couple of weeks but unfortunately it doesn't seem to be working. Some times the sensor goes off constantly as though everything is setting it off (wind, bugs), yet other times it doesn't seem to work at all and no amount of walking/waving at the sensor will set it off ? The 'noise' is there when tested and the battery's are new (I can hear the noise very well when it goes off on its own accord) - however it seems temperamental and my neighbour's cat is still walking right past the sensor and into our bedroom (ground floor patio doors into garden). I will give it another couple of weeks as suggested on the website, but if no improvement I will contact Primrose for my money back as per their advertised guarantee."

Reviewed Wednesday, 7 August 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Not working yet! But I understand it may take two weeks to be effective. This survey is a bit too soon for a realistic answer!"

Reviewed Monday, 8 July 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Not convinced this works. Sounds to me like a bird which would make it attract cats rather than the opposite! We had a cat stroll right past it and seemd completely un affected by the sound."

Reviewed Wednesday, 3 July 2013

Rating: 2/5

"cats still prowling in the garden"

Reviewed Sunday, 30 June 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Not noticed much difference yet"

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Rating: 2/5

"scarer has no effect, next doors cat lies next to the scarer, the cat is not bothered by it at all."

Reviewed Tuesday, 18 June 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The cat still visits our garden to catch the birds. I have tried different locations but he is a very determined animal and I think he is either deaf or totally ignores the noise once he becomes accustomed to it. We did have three days with no cat sightings initially."

Reviewed Saturday, 15 June 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The product has had virtually no effect as yet. I still see the cat and the fox strutting up the garden path and signs of damage to my plants every day. I will give it another three weeks as it is suggested."

Reviewed Thursday, 13 June 2013

Rating: 2/5

"I was disappointed, went through new batteries in 5 days. The red light was on all night. I have now bought rechargeable batteries to see if they are any better. There may be a fault on the product. The cats seam to be putting two pause up to it."

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 May 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The electrical cat repeller appears to be effective. We have not seen the cat in the area covered by the range of the item. The cat repeller sticks are waste of time. The scent disappeared in two or three days."

Reviewed Wednesday, 31 October 2012

Rating: 2/5

"It not good eough info I not understand as I spent 33 for that rib off"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Rating: 2/5

"Not very happy when had bought new battery only 3days battery flat huh it very expeivsen battery!!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Rating: 2/5

"Still waiting to see positive results as some cats still come in the garden. Previously used another manufacturers product, but went with this one because of the extra distance covered. The jury is out!"

Reviewed Sunday, 14 October 2012

Rating: 2/5

"See above"

Reviewed Sunday, 14 October 2012

Rating: 2/5

"So far it has not repelled anything. Primrose advise me that it can take between 14 to 28 days to start functioning. I have not completely given up as Primrose say that if I am not satisfied I can return the item under the guarantee."

Reviewed Thursday, 11 October 2012

Rating: 2/5

"Did not work, cats still like to use my garden as there toilet"

Reviewed Wednesday, 12 September 2012

Rating: 2/5

"Does not seem to work with cats around here. They jump onto car bonnet and scratch it. Have left scarer in place and still hopeful the cats may leave my car alone ."

Reviewed Wednesday, 16 May 2012

Rating: 2/5

"Sorry to say the advanced cat scarer has not worked for us at all, the item itself is of good quality, however it has not detered the intruding cat whatsoever who is still fouling in its favourite spots within our garden. Having spoken to Primrose we have been offered the full refund on return. For dispatch and aftercare Primrose can not be faulted in any way and have our full recomendation on an excellent service. Thanking you G.E.Murphy"

Reviewed Saturday, 28 January 2012

Rating: 2/5

"It does not deter the cats in our neighbourhood and the batteries only last a week or so,perhaps because it is on a lot! we have moved it round the garden but to no avail."

Reviewed Friday, 22 July 2011

Rating: 2/5

"It is patchy at best. Some days the cat soils the garden some days it does not.As we have it mains powered I cannot blame weak batteries for the erratic behaviour."

Reviewed Tuesday, 7 June 2011

Rating: 2/5

"My mum used this for about a month and no cats, but since they have come back, she tried changing batteries and it appears to be working but the cats are back!"

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2011

Rating: 2/5

"I installed the Repeller on the day it arrived, 29th March. There was no sign of cat activity until last night, when a cat has dug quite furiously right in front of the Repeller! We have had heavy rain showers here in Girvan, and that may have kept the cats indoors. I noticed that one neighbour's cat strolled quite unconcerned in front of the Repeller just after I had installed it, but I assumed that the sound may have been on constantly as I, too, was in front of it, and the surprise element would have been missing. However, given the mess left last night, I wonder just how effective it is going to be? Would you like more feedback in a few days' time?"

Reviewed Monday, 11 April 2011

Rating: 2/5

"The first scarer was not effective in the first 3 days at which time it stopped working altogether. After much difficulty I have been able to open the panel to get at the batteries and find on test that they are flat. You have supplied a further scarer (without the batteries) and if you wish I shall submit a further review on that one in due course. As the batteries supplied were obviously faulty I believe you should reimburse me for the cost of the additional batteries which I have had to purchase Regards John Sheldrake"

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 March 2011

Rating: 2/5

"Placing a battery was too much of a challenge as the cover would not open. It eventually did with the help of a screwdriver but it is not ideal as it is quite fragile."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 March 2011

Rating: 2/5

"I installed the Advanced Cat Scarer 4 weeks ago and with the advantage of a covering of snow for most of that time have been able to monitor any cat movements in my garden. Regretably there has been no improvement so far. The tracks pass within two feet of the Scarer on a daily and nightly basis. I am perseveering more in hope than expectation of success. John Taylor "

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 December 2010

Rating: 2/5

"The product hasn\'t been used as yet."

Reviewed Sunday, 24 October 2010

Rating: 2/5

"Hard to say how effective this product really is. It is issuing ultrasound and the PIR works well - however, I have also had to put down chicken wire to stop the cats because they were REALLY like a plague and they didnt seem to bothered by the sonic repeller. - The chicken wire has proven immediately effective, pegged down to prevent it blowing away, or paws moving it! The sonic cat repeller remains in place though (in additon to the chicken wire) to deter cats from loitering in the area."

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 August 2010

Rating: 2/5

"At the moment the product isn't keeping away the Foxes or Cats. It says it can take up to 3 weeks for it to work but at the moment I'm not impressed with it"

Reviewed Monday, 23 August 2010

Rating: 2/5

"Order arrived promptly, good service. But Cat Scarer not doing its job as yet, next-door's cats still using my gravel as their litter tray. Will give it the month and if the habit is still ongoing I will take advantage of the money-back guarantee."

Reviewed Saturday, 14 August 2010

Rating: 2/5

"The product description states that the sensor detects warm body movement. In fact it is activated by any movement which includes vegetation moving in the wind. This means that when there is even the slightest breeze the device is activated. I suspect this will mean it will get through a lot of batteries as our garden is on a windy site so it is being triggered almost continually. However, no cats have been seen in the garden since it was installed which is the good news."

Reviewed Saturday, 31 July 2010