Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.1/5
756 reviews
Rating: 3/5

"I am not convinced thst the product works , cats still visiting the garden and doing what cat's do !"

Reviewed Sunday, 14 April 2019

Rating: 3/5

"First Cat scarer certainly scared the cats but wouldn't turn off so ran the batteries down. A replacement was sent which at this time is not as successful at scaring cats but does turn off when they're not in the garden. Hopefully this will improve over the next couple of weeks."

Reviewed Sunday, 15 October 2017

Rating: 3/5

"Batteries failed after 3 or 4 days. Waiting to see how the scarer works with the new batteries."

Reviewed Monday, 18 September 2017

Rating: 3/5

"Very poor method of suspending product on a wall, had to use ground spike--easy for people to walk off with it ! Also same item from Primrose on E-Bay pounds cheaper, & no p&p"

Reviewed Sunday, 12 August 2012

Rating: 3/5

"Still in the early stages. As your write up suggests, it may take several days to prove the effect on the 'local' cats. So far, so good, it seems that we have fewer cats than previously. We will continue to evaluate and let you know if it proves otherwise. Regards, Pete Horsley"

Reviewed Thursday, 5 April 2012

Rating: 3/5

"I have only just put the cat scarers into the garden so it may take some time before they can be said to have worked."

Reviewed Thursday, 29 March 2012

Rating: 3/5

"Cat scarer unpacked but not yet installed. Delivery was very quick (next day) and packaging was quite good. Build-quality appears to be to commercial standards but is not to professional standards - I am not sure that external switches are adequately protected from the outdoor environment even though they are placed in the most sheltered position (ie, underneath the unit). I shall be very disappointed if this unit is ineffective - £50 is quite a lot to pay for a small electronic unit. I am plagued by cats which use my rose-beds as their toilet."

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 February 2012

Rating: 3/5

"After 2 weeks next door's cat seems a little wary as it sits on the wall. I haven't noticed any messages in its usual place, but found one or two out of range. I'll leave it a couple of weeks then turn it around to face the other way. Early days, but looks promising. Thank you."

Reviewed Tuesday, 13 December 2011

Rating: 3/5

"The effect has yet to be proven, The Cat Scarer has been in position for just over a week and, as yet, the problem still persists. I will leave it for another couple of weeks to see if your instructions are correct. I can't score the rating as yet, hence I have entered a nominal 'average' of 3."

Reviewed Sunday, 27 November 2011

Rating: 3/5

"The overall purchasing experience from Primrose was all good. The cat scarer product is OK so far, but is duplicating a previous order for the same product because the original units failed. Not within warranty period but not exactly particularly old either (I'm sure your won records will show you). That was a little disappointing because basically these things just sit out in the garden and only get moved every few weeks. However, at the end of the day they are an awful lot lower cost than the RSPB ones so I thought I'd give the same models another chance."

Reviewed Monday, 27 June 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Excellent service, arrived very quickly. Only used for a few days so far but still having cats in garden. Must be more patient and hope it solves our problem. Will be in touch after more tests."

Reviewed Thursday, 9 June 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Limited distance range of operation and not as described in product details.Detector only appears to operate within 1 metre!!Maybe it is due to the quality of my alkaline batteries,but somewhat disappointed in this"

Reviewed Sunday, 5 June 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Its still a bit early to decide if its doing the job as I am still getting cats into the Garden but I still have a few weeks to go before the Guarantee is up. Hopefully I will be keeping it. Will let you know in a couple of weeks time. Service from Primrose was excellent and product delivered vary fast. Will buy from again."

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 June 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Unfortunately this is not having the desired effect. It is directly in line with the area where we find cat deposits and only 3m away. I think we must have a deaf cat that defecates because the noise is a lot louder than the previous we had. Maybe we need to wait a bit longer than 10 days."

Reviewed Monday, 18 April 2011

Rating: 3/5

"As I am writing this REVIEW my next door's moggy is quiety giving herself an evening 'wash and brush-up' some 4 meters from, and in full view of the ADVANCED CAT SCARER - I can only hope that these are early days and that my feline friend will get the message and 'push off'. On the other hand she could be just deaf !!!!"

Reviewed Sunday, 10 April 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Still not working been 2 weeks still comes into garden, perhaps not as much but every other day a new poo !!! it does it behind plants so product maybe cannot work there but its so difficult to point it everywhere! can you let me know what type of noise it emits do the cats not like it or does it must frighten them suddenly i suppose could get used to it?"

Reviewed Saturday, 6 November 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Only partly successful. The cats don't seem to like it but still creep past. Hoping that long term they will adjust their behaviour to avoid the noise."

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 October 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Seems to be having an effect but the weather has been so rainy waiting to see what happens when the weather gets better will let you but thanks for your prompt service"

Reviewed Sunday, 10 October 2010

Rating: 3/5

"I really haven't had it long enough to give a review, though the first signs are encouraging in that I have had just one 'incident' since installing it. However I did have, at one time, three of your lesser expensive models, and after about 12 months they all failed to work at all. I think that the weather got the better of all three and they all totally packed in despite repeated attempts to get them to spark into life, including of course,( before you ask, ) the installation of new batteries. So I decided to get just one this time, the more expensive model, to see if lasts the test of time."

Reviewed Friday, 27 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"So far the devices seem to be interrupting the activities of the cat brigrade. However I have had difficulty in finding the position for the rear garden, as we have a large sandstone blocked wall which means they are in the garden before they get the effect of the sonic beam. However so far so good. The plug on the transformer caused a problem as it is a 2 pin plug which will not fit into a 13 amp socket. A further adapter was necessary."

Reviewed Monday, 23 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"The sonic cat scarer appears to be affective in that the foxes and cats are not spending so much time in our garden although it has not put them off actually using our garden as a toilet. However we are pleased that at least they are just passing through now and not pestering the life (literally) out of our fish and tortoise."

Reviewed Thursday, 12 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"First few days cats & foxes were still entering garden, (althought it does say on the infor that it can take up to a month for it to be effective) I then put the fence and wall spikes on the fences and have not seen any cats or foxes in the garden. It may be a combination of both products that is doing the trick! "

Reviewed Tuesday, 10 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"The advanced cat scarer is a value for money scarer. One of the 4 I initially received was faulty (although this was replaced free of charge in line with the excellent customer service I have always had with Primrose). It uses two 9v batteries instead of one yet seems to have a shorter battery life, and it appears more audable to humans than the RSPB approved Cat Watch Repeller. It is however significantly cheaper. If you are buying a single scarer or if your budget allows I would recommend the Cat Watch Repeller as a better device, however the advanced cat scarer is a good value alternative."

Reviewed Saturday, 31 July 2010

Rating: 3/5

"You provide an exellent service but to date the scarer isn't working. I understand you have give time so I hadn't reponded to your feedbackenquiry. Regards."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 July 2010