Customer Reviews

Average Rating

3.9/5
153 reviews
Rating: 4/5

"I have had these barrels. This one was not as robust as ones I have bought previously, nut that change is down to the manufacturer, not primrose as the retailer"

Reviewed Wednesday, 14 November 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Prompt efficient service"

Reviewed Sunday, 26 March 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Pretty much as I expected them to be and they work but perhaps not as sturdy as I had hoped. However we'll put them to the test in a month or two when the potatoes are ready!"

Reviewed Thursday, 24 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"easy enough to put together"

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 3 October 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Friday, 11 September 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Friday, 20 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Quite tricky to put together - needs a bit of wrestling with! The tension wires were hard to fit and needed to be bent with pliers. The instructions could definitely be improved by a bigger font and diagrams, as they were hard to read, especially for an older person. Haven't grown the potatoes yet, but am hoping that it works!"

Reviewed Monday, 9 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 14 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 26 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"I have used one of these before and had good service from it"

Reviewed Monday, 26 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"100 %"

Reviewed Thursday, 27 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Looks great product and bought as birthday gift so don't know as yet how the assembling of it goes."

Reviewed Wednesday, 26 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"It took me a while to put it together the first time. The others I hope I will get done more quickly."

Reviewed Friday, 21 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Went together easy looks good just got to use it now."

Reviewed Wednesday, 12 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Obviously not used them yet but look very good and exactly as described."

Reviewed Friday, 7 February 2014

Rating: 4/5

"just what I needed because it does not take up much room."

Reviewed Sunday, 1 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 12 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Once the knack of assembly was found it was easy to build"

Reviewed Sunday, 21 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Can't really answer this until I have sampled the results"

Reviewed Monday, 10 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"A pain to assemble"

Reviewed Wednesday, 5 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Versatile product. Not constructed yet but looks great."

Reviewed Monday, 20 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"good product but instructions not very clear"

Reviewed Saturday, 9 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Fitting the tensioning wires was a little awkward - all else fine."

Reviewed Thursday, 7 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"AS the instructions say easier to put togther with an extra pair of hands but essentially simple"

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 February 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Friday, 22 February 2013

Rating: 4/5

"This went together more easily than the strawberry barrel - maybe that had been my practice run. Instructions here did include a diagram but, as it was tiny and totally blurred even when magnified, that was of little use."

Reviewed Wednesday, 17 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"it's winter the real test will be spring"

Reviewed Monday, 15 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"So far so good! Pots are growing very nicely, geeat delivery by the way!"

Reviewed Monday, 28 May 2012

Rating: 4/5

"This is not the best product you are going to buy. But there aren't many potato barrels. I found four, one of which cost 60, which for my first attempt at growing potato's was to expensive. So it is cheap. It is far more plasticy than the pics, but from a distance it looks ok. It isn't very well made but then for the money i wasn't expecting any more than i got. I read some reviews that said they found it hard to assemble and i can understand why. But if you are prepared to get some pliers and cutters, then its not so bad. The wire stays that give rigidity to the barrel were way to long, so after finally getting it together, i picked it up and it fell apart again. But a few minutes fiddling with the pliers and cutters i shortened the wires and re-bent the hooks. It is doing fine in the garden and amongst my other pots, looks ok. I think people expect a bit to much for what it is. If you want a cheap way to grow spuds, and you don't fancy using the potato grow bags, then i think this is the thing for it."

Reviewed Wednesday, 16 May 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Barrel was easy to assemble and a couple of extre seed potatos to put elsewhere thanks.jk"

Reviewed Saturday, 17 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good, sturdy item, easy to assemble. I was slightly disappointed in the appearance."

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 February 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Quite difficult to construct, definitely need two sets of hands! However once together they're great. For a small garden they're ideal as they don't take up much floor space but give you room for up to 5 plants."

Reviewed Sunday, 28 August 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Cannot fault service, prompt delivery, easy to assemble with precise instructions for use. Potatoes already growing will see yield and may purchase additional items later in the year."

Reviewed Saturday, 14 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"So far seems ok, haven't actually harvested any potatos yet but looks like it will work! Very good idea, to be able to get the bottom layer out without digging the whole lot up. "

Reviewed Saturday, 14 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"I was not that impressed. I thought it would be made from a more durable material but I will have to see how it will last. I know you said the outer part will be more easy to slide once it is filled with compost but mine is still very tight. I did not try to lift it because I'm afraid I might not get it down again without damaging it. To realy say if it works I will have to tell you after the summer. Thank you."

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"arrived quiclky"

Reviewed Sunday, 1 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Despite being of the same make as the strawberry planter this is a much more usable item. Although not as robust as I would like with the clip on trimmings it holds the compost well and is ideal with the sliding door."

Reviewed Monday, 25 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Quick delivery."

Reviewed Sunday, 24 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Very fiddly to put up but once done it appears fairly rigid. Potatoes are currently chitting. "

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 March 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Sorry havent opened them yet but delivery was excellent"

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 December 2010

Rating: 4/5

"great service del was very quick saw product elswhere which was double in price "

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 December 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Not yet put together as they are a Christmas present, but unbelievably speedy delivery - thank you"

Reviewed Tuesday, 30 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Very good way to grow potatoes rather than in a sack, a little difficult to put together on your own, an extra pair of hands is useful. Excellent delivery service and also after sales service, the restraining wires were missing in one of the packs but were received very quickly after my telephone call. Would certainly recommend to others, have always found Primrose to be a very good company."

Reviewed Saturday, 20 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"I havn\'t assebled this item yet. I will not do so until Sping of next year. The early purchase was to enable delivery as one package. As far as delivery goes it came promptly and in good order. I am pleased with the price which represents good value. Kind regards, Clyde Phillips"

Reviewed Thursday, 4 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Purchased for Christmas present. "

Reviewed Saturday, 30 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"They were all stuck together with brown sticking tape they were meant to be presents but they look awful to give as a gift"

Reviewed Thursday, 14 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Hi Sebastien, I recently purchased three of the victorian potato barrels for my father for christmas. Upon delivery i decided to keep one for myself as I was intrigued and a bit cheeky. I actually found it quite difficult to assemble on my own and found an extra pair of hands necessary. The diagram was not clear in illustrating where to fix the metal stabalisers. Other than that it became very sturdy when completely assembled and i'm pleased, I hope my Dad will be too and save his back. Hope this feedback has been of use to you. Gemma."

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The service from primrose was excellent the product was as described,but was a little difficult to assemble the fixing of the four tie bars being the problem which has been resolved looking forward to home grown potatoes"

Reviewed Sunday, 10 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The barrels look great, very easy to put together. One thing though is that one kit did not have any tension wires."

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Fit for purpose and my potatoes seem to be growing well in it. Would have been extremely dissapointed however if I had payed full price for this item"

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"We have bought the barrel to use next year so can't really comment yet. However, we were very pleased with the way the mistake about our order was promptly dealt with."

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Very pleased, nice and sturdy so will be fit for purpose. Was quite difficult to assemble but after one, the other two were easier."

Reviewed Thursday, 29 July 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Not as substantial as advetisments and pictures would suggest, but a good product for its intended use. Good value for money. Looking forward to my first crop."

Reviewed Friday, 16 July 2010