Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.0/5
334 reviews
Rating: 1/5

"Very disappointing, flimsy product. Looks much more sturdy online. Needs two people to assemble and impossible to move when full."

Reviewed Saturday, 12 August 2017

Rating: 1/5

"terrible design, shoddy materials,useless instructions. It took me 2hours to make it, and then only by adapting it. Stocking this item can't do you much good - I wish I'd read the Amazon reviews before buying."

Reviewed Sunday, 26 March 2017

Rating: 1/5

"Not recommended, would not buy another."

Reviewed Saturday, 18 October 2014

Rating: 1/5

"Product was a nightmare to assemble. Managed it by tempoarily tying base in place with string and the the top. The wire clips were too long and would not clip into place. Solved that by fixing the top and base by wire. Your clips are in the bin. Good job I am fairly handy otherwise you may well have got it back. I hope now it performs better in producing fruit.. I'll make my own from timber when this dies.."

Reviewed Monday, 25 November 2013

Rating: 1/5

"It's the putting together!!! It took 3 people and several glasses of wine to construct this. There are instructions but no diagrams, so has to be worked out. Now it's up, can see it might work okay, but truly impossible to put together by one person so would have been reasonable at 6.99 but far too expensive at 16.99. Probably needs to come with a health warning. However, now constructed with the help of many friends, we'll see what happens. Delivery perfect, good firm. Construction horrendous - minus 10 out of 10. Whether the planter is okay remains to be seen but does look as though it should be fine."

Reviewed Wednesday, 2 October 2013

Rating: 1/5

"Disappointing quality for the money. This is not likely to last more than a year or two."

Reviewed Sunday, 24 February 2013

Rating: 1/5

"Very hard to set up. I would have returned this item, if It had been bought at full price."

Reviewed Thursday, 21 February 2013

Rating: 1/5

"Badly made of poor quality material, totally inadequate instructions. The parts dont fit together well and parts fell off when trying to fill with strawberry plants. I just hope it burns when I throw it on the bonfire"

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 February 2013

Rating: 1/5

"dear primrose ordered 2 barrels before ordering 2nd barrel i got in contact with you about the 1st barrel. the problem was the plastic inserts 2 of them were faulty.iasked for these to be replaced and an extra couple to be sent. this was okayed by your operative.have received 2nd barrel but no inserts,carnt finish planting would it be quicker to send back faulty barrel thanks paul"

Reviewed Monday, 9 April 2012

Rating: 1/5

"This was the most difficult item I have ever had to erect. "

Reviewed Sunday, 29 January 2012

Rating: 1/5

"I felt that the picture and text were misleading. Nowhere did it sat that the planter was plasticised corrugated cardboard and I thought it was totally inadequate for the purpose. I returned it, but it cost me £14 in postage (del and ret). I hope the cost of the item has been refunded to my a/c but Primrose has not acknowedged the return or told me that my a/c has been credited with the cost."

Reviewed Friday, 17 June 2011

Rating: 1/5

"It would be nice if I could put it together, I've been waiting for the missing pieces for over a week. The initial order was submitted great just a shame there's no service when it comes to putting problems right."

Reviewed Sunday, 1 May 2011

Rating: 1/5

"I'm sorry, but I was very disappointed. I found it incredibly difficult to put together and had to resort to using tools and bad language. The materials seems flimsy and look cheap - hopefully it will be better when the plants have grown on a little."

Reviewed Saturday, 30 April 2011

Rating: 1/5

"The Primrose service was very good at first and I received the barrel very quickly which was great. Unfortunately it all went rather down hill from there. The strawberry barrel is extremely dissapointing. First of all it arrived without instructions and the colour of the body does in no way match the base. It looks revolting - very cheap and nasty. (considering the original price this suprised me) Someone e-mailed me the instructions but unfortunately, even with 2 people, we still have not managed to put the thing together as it is so fidly. (I assume now that this is why it was reduced to such a cheap price.) I did ask for a refund but was advised that I would have to pay the postage, even though the quality of the article is extremely poor. To this end, it is now likely to sit in my loft with all the other junk. Sorry, not impressed which is a shame because had I been happy with the product and the after sales service I would probably have used Primrose again. Suzi Hughes"

Reviewed Sunday, 17 April 2011

Rating: 1/5

"I purchased a strawberry barrel but at the time of writing have still not managed to put it together leaving me very disappointed and feeling I have wasted my money"

Reviewed Tuesday, 5 April 2011

Rating: 1/5

"The box the straberry barrel came in had been taped up top and bottom - it appeared that this product had already been returned once. the barrel was made of cheap plastic and was not as it appeaed in the advert on the webpage. diddferent design in th eplastic finish. Very cheap and flimsy construction and was advertised as being originally £42 or therabouts. There is way this product could have been sold for that amount. instructions inide referred to a picture but there wasn't one. I presume the person who had sent this back had not put it back in the box. very disppointed"

Reviewed Monday, 21 March 2011

Rating: 1/5

"very fiddly to assemble and the quality is not very good "

Reviewed Tuesday, 15 March 2011

Rating: 1/5

"I could not have been more disappointed with the Stawberry Barrell that I purchased.The barrell sides are a plain waxed suface and not the lattice appearane that is on the advert or on the box itself.The cutouts for the cups are all wrong they are not the same as the cups themselves and are very loose.I purchased this item to stand on the decking infront of our Summer House but due to the unsightliness of it I will put it down the garden out of sight. Of all the products that I have purchased on line this is the only one that I have had such disappointment with. Order No 525709 yours sincerly K.Taylor. "

Reviewed Sunday, 26 December 2010

Rating: 1/5

"This barrell was not as expected, extremely fiddly to erect, and it was felt that it would be a continual pain with bits popping out and a nightmare to move if needed. It has been returned by Parcel post - the packaging had already been opened on receipt with us. I hope that weather permitting it should be with you in a few days. Despatched 26th November. Thankyou"

Reviewed Saturday, 4 December 2010

Rating: 1/5

"I have returned the item - strawberry barrel for refund on my credit card, I thought the item poor quality. Please can you refund asap, its not your fault but the item was not what I expected. Mrs L. Groom "

Reviewed Sunday, 14 November 2010