Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.0/5
334 reviews
Rating: 2/5

"Hard to assemble, Cheap plastic just not worth the money."

Reviewed Thursday, 29 March 2018

Rating: 2/5

"I bought my first barrel about 12 months ago. It was horrible to put together and really naff to look at, but as you can see, the strawberries grew well and I was still harvesting in October this year, so I bought 2 more. Yes probably mad! Still cheap and tatty product and hard to assemble, but this time in one pack the central white watering tube was missing and a plastic cup for the side, although there was one extra in the second pack! The really faded top piece was one of the new ones sent. So the product is serviceable so far as the compost maintains the shape for you, but if you want quality don't buy this!"

Reviewed Sunday, 3 December 2017

Rating: 2/5

"I have never seen such cheap quality, nearly sent it back, very fiddley to put together, have yet to fill it with soil. Not happy, not worth the 20."

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 October 2016

Rating: 2/5

"The product is not the quality expected. The central column is flimsy very hard to put into octagonal shape & fit between base & top. The strengthening wires are flimsy & hard to fit then bend if not fitted properly immediately. In the end I could only manage to put 2 in, the others are not really fitted, instead the soil has provided the strength within the barrel. I've placed in a sunny sheltered place but will be intrigued to see how well the plastic survives the winter. I wouldn't recommend buying the product I bought 2 so have the joy of putting another together. It's not helped that the instructions are only written no diagrams."

Reviewed Sunday, 2 October 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Not as robust as it could be and extremely difficult to assemble. Tension wires do not fit as per instructions and required a minor personal modification in order to fit!"

Reviewed Monday, 18 July 2016

Rating: 2/5

"I was disappointed to discover it's made from plasticised paper rather than a stronger plastic. It was very difficult to assemble as the supports didn't fit over the top rim. Also the compost that came with the barrel only filled half the barrel so was insufficient. The advert gave the impression that it was a complete growing kit which it clearly was not."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 June 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Flimsy, no build instructions, difficult to put together."

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 April 2016

Rating: 2/5

"The tub was difficult to assemble and the instructions were very poor. There was no diagram and they were wrong. The internal tension wires need to be fitted the opposite way round (i.e S shape end downwards) from that described in the instructions. The plastic cups to fit in the holes appeared to be varying sizes and some of them were to small for the holes and fell out - very poor manufacturing standards. Very disappointed with the product. Unfortunately I bought two!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 16 March 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Very disappointed with the quality"

Reviewed Tuesday, 15 March 2016

Rating: 2/5

"product not to bad when assembled , getting wires to stretch was difficult."

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 December 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Doubt its going to last very long while the "cups" are a poor fit in the barrel side panels"

Reviewed Thursday, 18 June 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Perhaps I choose a too cheap version - it is OK but very poor construction materials and not good quality. However it does what it is supposed to do and has been planted up. But walls made of corex, that is plastic corregated card.... not quite what I expected."

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 October 2014

Rating: 2/5

"The plastic is quite weak. I expected a stronger barrel from the picture on the website."

Reviewed Monday, 12 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"I have rated this poor because there is nothing between poor and good. The barrel body is not particularly sturdy, I did expect its composition to be of perhaps plastic or similar, not the compressed stuff it is made of and, some of the cups have been squashed so that they are too small to fit into the holes, still trying to figure out how to overcome that problem."

Reviewed Sunday, 30 March 2014

Rating: 2/5

"difficult to construct, and very flimsy will be very surprised if it lasts even one season but we get what we pay for and should have known better :(("

Reviewed Sunday, 21 July 2013

Rating: 2/5

"cheap & not very cheerful"

Reviewed Wednesday, 10 April 2013

Rating: 2/5

"expected a more substantial barrel"

Reviewed Friday, 22 March 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Hard to put together and the shoulders for the plants are poor fitting."

Reviewed Friday, 8 March 2013

Rating: 2/5

"very poor ,will ony last one season"

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 February 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Extremely difficult to assemble... poor instructions. Also, online catalog did not specify that some of this item is made from cardboard. Works OK, but I wouldn't buy it again."

Reviewed Wednesday, 12 September 2012

Rating: 2/5

"very flimsy"

Reviewed Thursday, 17 May 2012

Rating: 2/5

"STRAWBERRY PLANTER It's a pity the description did not state the sides of the planter were made from 'corriflute'. This was slightly damaged on arrival. As the delivery was very late I didn't really notice and the driver needed to be on his way. Nevertheless the item is performing its function, and the sale price represents good value money."

Reviewed Wednesday, 22 June 2011

Rating: 2/5

"The barrel was bought for strawberries but the holes are not big enough for them. When making up the barrel the cups had to be warmed up and flexed open to stop them going straight through the holes. I have planted it up with flowers but I was disappointed with it. I still have to get something for my strawberries and I had to pay out for plants for the barrel. "

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 June 2011

Rating: 2/5

"it was very difficult making and holding the shape of the tub to fit into the base. the rods to some degree do hold the tension on the barrel, but a much better design would have been better. im very sorry to say, i was very disappointed with the barrel and therefore have decided to buy another model."

Reviewed Thursday, 26 May 2011

Rating: 2/5

"Hi I was disappointed on how difficult it was to assemble the planters, especially the wire fixers and moulding the sides to get into the base of the unit. I think there should be a firmer and more stable way of of assembling these units. If they had not been reduced I would have sent them back. Kind regards Eleanor Caley "

Reviewed Friday, 29 April 2011

Rating: 2/5

"Thought it would have been more robust than what it is, but time will tell. Thank You "

Reviewed Friday, 29 April 2011

Rating: 2/5

"The item is not as durable or of the quality I had expected. Reasonable price when on sale but would have been disappointed if bought at full price."

Reviewed Monday, 25 April 2011

Rating: 2/5

"The quality is poor. Construction less than perfect. We had to use gaffer tape to hold it together in spite of following instructions to the letter on how to put it together. at the moment it is holding up. Maybe in a year's time it will have fallen apart."

Reviewed Sunday, 17 April 2011

Rating: 2/5

"The containers for the strawberries were just not stable enough for the job."

Reviewed Monday, 11 October 2010

Rating: 2/5

"putting the barrel together is a nitemare!!! as with the potatoe one the same, getting the barrel in the grove at the bottom and keeping it there it took over an hour, and then the top dosent fit unless you squezze it with your knees hold onto it so it dosent slip out, a scene out monty python!!!! Not impressed at all, concept brill etc."

Reviewed Sunday, 15 August 2010

Rating: 2/5

"I found that the base and top rim was very sturdy but actual barrel was not made very well and putting the wires in was harder than i thought, the makers could of done better making this item also all the side bits didn't fit securely and were loose when fitting them in. p.c"

Reviewed Tuesday, 27 July 2010