Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.2/5
141 reviews
Rating: 4/5

"Slightly different size to originals so couldn't mix with them. However sturdy enough. Slight gripe: some rough edges with splinters must use gloves to handle them. Recommend though."

Reviewed Tuesday, 30 April 2019

Rating: 5/5

"Looks good. Very easy to put together and in use they say they arrived."

Reviewed Thursday, 28 February 2019

Rating: 2/5

"See the previous comments"

Reviewed Monday, 25 February 2019

Rating: 5/5

"Very good and exactly what we wanted"

Reviewed Monday, 19 November 2018

Rating: 3/5

"In essence it is a sound, simple composter. The only issues, were: 1) The wood was obviously kept unwrapped and in a wet environment so was swollen and required assistance to slot together, annoying not an issue. 2) Probably due to handling in transit, some slats had their ends broken, not the end of the world but disappointing for what is a good product. (Other reviews had noted similar damage). I didn't think it worth the hassle of raising a request for replacement as it holding together."

Reviewed Thursday, 15 November 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Quick delivery, item easy to assemble and looks good"

Reviewed Thursday, 8 November 2018

Rating: 1/5

"I ordered x2 wooden composters. When they arrived they were very wet and upon removing the packaging lots of the pieces of wood were rotten. I called up and the person I spoke to was very apologetic and said they would despatch x2 more immediately. These came two days later. They weren't as bad as the first two but they were still quite wet. I had to pick and mix from the x4 packets to find sufficient wood to make up the composters and then left them to dry out in my garage for 2 weeks before I could use them."

Reviewed Tuesday, 9 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"This product is well designed, easy to put together and was serving it's function immediately. Our only small gripe is that the delivery man refused to drive up our road so we had to collect it from him."

Reviewed Thursday, 23 August 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Gbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbnbbbn bmjhjbhghkhjbjn"

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 August 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Great as described & simple to put together."

Reviewed Monday, 30 July 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Very efficient service. I am very pleased with the product. The delivery was fast."

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 July 2018

Rating: 2/5

"Three faults: 1) the timber was damp, mouldy and unpleasant to handle as if it had been badly stored. 2) Some of the saw-cuts for the slots were very crudely cut and unfinished. 3) In some cases the timber between a slot and the end of the plank arrived broken off so that there is no interlock on some corners when assembled."

Reviewed Tuesday, 10 July 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Good value and easy to put together. Very pleased with what I puchased."

Reviewed Saturday, 30 June 2018

Rating: 4/5

"In place for last 2 months and so far doing the job????"

Reviewed Thursday, 28 June 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Once wood was dry, easily assembled"

Reviewed Monday, 11 June 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Good quality product and easy to assemble."

Reviewed Saturday, 19 May 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Have had two good experiences with primrose"

Reviewed Wednesday, 16 May 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Time will only tell If it bears up to taking apart and reassembling. For the price this composter is about right. A few slat end joints fell off due to the wood grain on the second bought unit while assembling but as long as only one or two it doesn’t compromise the structure. ."

Reviewed Saturday, 5 May 2018

Rating: 4/5

"The wood may have been stored for some time in a damp environment as it looked slightly mouldy, but all the pieces fitted together satisfactorily so I am optimistic that the composers will last a reasonable time."

Reviewed Wednesday, 25 April 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Strong and just the right size for our garden"

Reviewed Sunday, 11 March 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Basic wooden composter....easy to assemble....very good value compared to similar products on the market"

Reviewed Tuesday, 27 February 2018

Rating: 5/5

"great product easy to assemble to place"

Reviewed Thursday, 1 February 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Solid, easy to construct, does the job."

Reviewed Thursday, 1 February 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Easy order, delivery and assembly!"

Reviewed Thursday, 11 January 2018

Rating: 5/5

"the purchase was easy to assemble and seems to be very sturdy."

Reviewed Friday, 3 November 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Once dry, the kit was reasonably easy to assemble."

Reviewed Wednesday, 25 October 2017

Rating: 1/5

"I didn't buy these. Wrong product listed"

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 August 2017

Rating: 1/5

"This isn't my order........ If you are going to do a survey at least get the facts right....."

Reviewed Monday, 3 July 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 5 April 2017

Rating: 2/5

"No way to empty composter from the bottom so was useless to me"

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 April 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 25 March 2017

Rating: 5/5

"Very easy to assemble and is exactly what I wanted. Am now ordering a second one."

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 March 2017

Rating: 5/5

"This is my second box after about twenty years. I put it up without any problem."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 February 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble and as stated but were very wet and one small piece broke off ."

Reviewed Tuesday, 31 January 2017

Rating: 5/5

"As described,easy to assemble, quick delivery"

Reviewed Monday, 5 December 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 17 November 2016

Rating: 5/5

"just what my allotment needed"

Reviewed Thursday, 3 November 2016

Rating: 2/5

"The wood was wet and discoloured with some black mould, so must have been stored in the open."

Reviewed Thursday, 3 November 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Video confusing as it appeared that I didn't have some components but I didn't need them. Easy to assemble."

Reviewed Tuesday, 6 September 2016

Rating: 1/5

"Very poor quality and overpriced. Would not recommend. When it arrived it was soaking wet so I had to leave it to dry out before attempting to assemble it. I picked up one of the slats and the end just broke off. I have since tried assembling it but some of the notches haven't been sawn correctly so the pieces won't fit together. It seemed to much hassle to send back as it was very heavy as arrived wet so it's now in the allotment, still in pieces, being used to help weight down a weed suppressant membrane as not fit for purpose. When a friend whose a carpenter saw it he burst out laughing at the quality (or lack of) and was amazed at how much it cost. This was my first order with Primrose and to be honest I think it will be my last."

Reviewed Sunday, 21 August 2016

Rating: 5/5

"This composter was incredibly easy to erect, no nails or screws, but make sure that you use a wooden mallet or put a slat of wood between a metal hammer and the product to avoid splitting. Superb product, just what we wanted!"

Reviewed Friday, 12 August 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 24 July 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Unable to find this product elsewhere. It was just what I was looking for."

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 July 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good construction but a better quality timber would be nive."

Reviewed Tuesday, 5 July 2016

Rating: 4/5

"good looking composter, but had some mould issues upon unpacking, good product though"

Reviewed Saturday, 25 June 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent value. Easy to erect. Solid construction and does the job."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 June 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Some wood a little rough, and slightly different thickness due to imperfections in the timber. Generally very satisfactory."

Reviewed Saturday, 30 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"I bought 2 of these bins. I had expected them to consist of 4 made-up sides, so Initially I was surprised that they were just bundles of slats. However, they were straight-forward to put together, only needing a big hammer & a little strength! Several small ends of wood broke off, but it didn't affect the construction of the bins, and they look sturdy."

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Fine. A couple of the wooden edges broke off. But not enough to be a problem. Easy enough to put together."

Reviewed Wednesday, 16 March 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Really pleased with this good quality composter - Very easy to put together... No instructions needed! I would suggest drying it out before constructing though"

Reviewed Monday, 22 February 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Thursday, 11 February 2016

Rating: 4/5

"an inexpensive product of reasonable quality"

Reviewed Tuesday, 11 August 2015

Rating: 1/5

"all wooden parts were wet and some parts broke during assembly due to deformation based on the high water content in the material. Very poor quality of material and care about the final product."

Reviewed Wednesday, 3 June 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 April 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Far better quality than expected for the price paid"

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 April 2015

Rating: 2/5

"The wood was soaking wet as it had been stored outside in the wet and the wood had swollen, making it impossible to fit together. I am drying them out in the greenhouse, so hopefully the joints will fit"

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"All the pieces went to together o.k., but the wood had got wet inside the plastic which made assembly more difficult than it should be."

Reviewed Friday, 20 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 9 February 2015

Rating: 4/5

"It was good value but as others have commented, the wood is wet in the pack, and the push - together joints need a mallet on them and therefore they tend to break."

Reviewed Monday, 2 February 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Some instructions would be helpful"

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 January 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The composter is a big improvement on previous plastic containers. When putting together some of the wooden joints cracked - but still holds shape and does the job it is supposed to do."

Reviewed Monday, 1 December 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to put up and all the pieces fitted together. Thank you"

Reviewed Thursday, 20 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"for the money good but 2 boards broken and joints on 6 boards had to be recut as too small. Easy to put together."

Reviewed Friday, 7 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Wood sweating in plastic packaging...."

Reviewed Monday, 22 September 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Exactly what they should be. Good size, easy to assemble."

Reviewed Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Rating: 2/5

"It would be helpful if some simple construction instructions were included. I had to look at the picture very closely to work it out. Also the corners on two pieces were broken so I had to stick them back with wood glue, and one end split as I was knocking it together."

Reviewed Thursday, 28 August 2014

Rating: 5/5

"We are very pleased with the wooden composter, it was simple to erect & meets our requirements exactly"

Reviewed Thursday, 21 August 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Generally good, but on a couple of struts the assembly slots were out of line and needed some carpentry to fit"

Reviewed Monday, 18 August 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to assemble and good value"

Reviewed Friday, 11 July 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Assembly was not as easy as I had hoped, partly because the timber was wet and swollen, and partly because the notches were often not cleanly cut and contained splinters. (I have a rubber mallet, but without it, assembly would have been very difficult) I bought this item because I have another similar bin which I can partly dismantle when digging out the compost. Whether I will be able to dismantle the new bin in the same way remains to be seen. The 'Good' rating above is based on the optimistic assumption that I'll be able to."

Reviewed Thursday, 3 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"one is good quality, the other not so good (timber not such good quality)"

Reviewed Monday, 16 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good, but the two commpost bins were very wet"

Reviewed Sunday, 23 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"perfect, met my requirements"

Reviewed Sunday, 23 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 16 February 2014

Rating: 5/5

"had one before and rated it as good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 12 February 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent product would buy again"

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 February 2014

Rating: 5/5

"simple & just what we were looking for"

Reviewed Wednesday, 13 November 2013

Rating: 4/5

"so far so good it has a large capacity. We have been filling it now with Autumn compostibles for the last 3 weeks and have plenty of space. It's not clear how well it will compost the content as there is no sign of composting breakdown yet"

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 September 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Good quality product"

Reviewed Tuesday, 10 September 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Came with no instructions though"

Reviewed Monday, 12 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Does what is says. Went together easily."

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"It was a little mouldy here and there, presumably after the poor weather earlier this year. However I decided it didn't really matter in the garden."

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 July 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The compost bins were wet and the packs did not contain all of the required parts. I made up the bins from pieces of timber and screws I had in the garage. Very disappointing."

Reviewed Thursday, 27 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Generally good but three of the compost bin laths had split ends"

Reviewed Thursday, 13 June 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Monday, 27 May 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Great item for my garden!"

Reviewed Thursday, 23 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Relatively easy to erect with occasional broken slat"

Reviewed Tuesday, 7 May 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Monday, 6 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Perfectly adequate"

Reviewed Monday, 29 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"As described and cheaper than same products from other advertisers. Only fault was slight damage to a couple of fitting slots but went together easily and seems very adequate for purpose."

Reviewed Saturday, 6 April 2013

Rating: 5/5

"the parcel arrived next morning early,cheers"

Reviewed Wednesday, 20 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Composter looks just as I expected and was easy to assemble. The only little snag was 2 small chunks of wood had fallen off 2 of the posts (near to the 'groove - a weak-spot?) but this did not affect assembly or result. The posts were quite damp/wet, which was a surprise but did not affect the assembly either. On the whole the composter is excellent value and looks much better than the usual 'dalek' in the garden!"

Reviewed Monday, 11 March 2013

Rating: 2/5

"No assembly instructions."

Reviewed Friday, 8 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"product was good - could do with a lid, though"

Reviewed Monday, 4 March 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Please use this space to let us know what you think or leave blank if not applicable."

Reviewed Friday, 1 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"You need to supply struts for sides to aid lifting as it fall apart when moved."

Reviewed Thursday, 28 February 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Thursday, 22 November 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Tuesday, 20 November 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Does exactly what it says on the tin!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 14 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"It wasn't difficult to assemble but some simple instructions or a diagram would have been nice."

Reviewed Saturday, 13 October 2012

Rating: 2/5

"When my friend received it a few of the strats were cracked and when the compost bin was put together they broke. They had to nail them together to use the bin"

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 September 2012

Rating: 4/5

"The compost is fine and as advertised. My only criticism would be that the timber had been packed in tight polythene for some time and had developed mould. "

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 August 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Timbers arrived largely covered in mold. I assume unsightly but harmless?"

Reviewed Monday, 20 August 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Sturdy basic composter, good value, much cheaper than the same product in my local garden centre."

Reviewed Tuesday, 22 May 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Service was extremely good and the item arrived very quickly.We did find that some of the fitting grooves were a bit small.Also the wood was quite wet."

Reviewed Friday, 23 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"The design is good but has two drawbacks. It has to be dismantled to extricate the compost and the cut out's in each plank that hold it together at the coners can easily be brocken. I have seen similar but from thiner timber localy but think these are a better buy. I have also modified both of mine so that I can take the front out to get the compost out without breaking it down completely. I have also inserted a extra bar across the top in the middle to create a 'tent' like effect for the cover."

Reviewed Tuesday, 20 March 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Everything GREAT. Received on time, 5minutes to construct. In full working order."

Reviewed Sunday, 12 February 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent service and very quick delivery. Easy to assemble and I will definately be ordering more. BRILLIANT!!!!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 January 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Delivery very fast (next day)!! and item just as described. The only problem with this design is that, in order to empty it, one has to dismantle the whole thing as it slots in in pairs. Not sure what the solution could be!!! But well pleased with the service and the price"

Reviewed Wednesday, 18 January 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good quality, useful sized composter. Would have given it 5 but some of the slats were not cut true which meant a bit of a fiddle to put it together."

Reviewed Thursday, 30 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Does what I wanted and expected. Easy to assemble. No problems"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Thanks Primrose for a hassle free shopping experience. Great price, good quality and delivered on time....what more could I have asked for?"

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Built it in 2 minutes, and it will do the job!"

Reviewed Monday, 20 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Delivery excellent - packaging appropriate -pricing fantasic - wood treament a bonus but not erected as yet as we are preparing the site in the garden as a composting area"

Reviewed Saturday, 4 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"arrived 2 days later, easy to assemble. good quality and just what i ordered."

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble and good value "

Reviewed Monday, 23 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Simple and straightforward to put together and very competitively priced."

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"The composter arrived the following day as promised and and was dead easy to assemble. It's just what I wanted."

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"The wooden composter I ordered arrived here in Scotland the *same* day you told me you'd despatched it! Its exactly what I wanted -- great quality and excellent price. Would you consider stocking a model twice the volume, for larger gardens?"

Reviewed Monday, 9 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Product was as expected. Very pleased with the efficient delivery service."

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Great service - arrived very quickly with no problems at all! Thank you."

Reviewed Friday, 29 April 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Fantastic Value for Money. Easy Assembly You could easily pay twice this price."

Reviewed Friday, 22 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"I purchased 3 of the medium composter bins - (Unfortunately they were very wet when I received them as though they had been stored outside which made the wood a little swollen) however they were in fact Very easy to assemble although a few of the end pieces broke off overall though they do the job well and after assembly they are very sturdy - Promrose delivered next day as stated and they are good value for money"

Reviewed Sunday, 17 April 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent product. Far superior than a similar product bought from my local garden centre. Much stronger. Much better value. Delivered the next day - so excellent service. Have already recommended you to other people. Will certainly use you in future."

Reviewed Wednesday, 13 April 2011

Rating: 2/5

"Essentially I have a wooden crate. All the pieces in the package were the same. I do not have a tilted front or side pieces to hold up. Once I had carried the package to the allotment and un packed I did not have te energy to return home again to make the call to complain and wait for the correct parts to be delivered."

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"fast delivery easy to install - will buy again from this supplier "

Reviewed Monday, 4 April 2011

Rating: 5/5

"This item is excellent value, easy to assemble and very strong. Perfect for its intended use. Highly recommended"

Reviewed Sunday, 27 March 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent item. Very straightforward to assemble and quick delivery."

Reviewed Thursday, 24 March 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Exactly as the description stated. And at a good price and with quick delivery. No complaints!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 16 March 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble and robust, but a couple of the slats had some damage on the weak points where cut out is - this is a shame as it weakens the whole structure now and I am worried will allow greedy labrador to access smelly compost! Overall good value and service but not perfect condition"

Reviewed Sunday, 30 January 2011

Rating: 4/5

"excellent service, items delivered when you said they would be. thank you "

Reviewed Friday, 3 December 2010

Rating: 4/5

"I found that the composter ('s'-I now have three) are ideal for my small vegetable garden. They are cheap and easy to assemble. "

Reviewed Friday, 26 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Next day delivery superb. Some five wood pieces arrived with bits broken off ends. Now glued together."

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 November 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Exactly as advertised,easy to put together, great prompt service will use again very happily."

Reviewed Saturday, 23 October 2010

Rating: 5/5

"The service was impeccable and the product excellent value"

Reviewed Friday, 22 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Sturdy. Good value for money. Quick delivery. Minor gripe - 2 of the rails were of a slightly different size (width) to the rest which, if they had been of a greater number, would have caused problems in maintaining a uniform sized bin during construction. But overall a much better bin than one I paid 30% more for last year."

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Does all it should"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"A good solid piece of equipment. Easy to assemble. "

Reviewed Friday, 20 August 2010

Rating: 5/5

"very pleased with item good service fast delivery,would buy from again"

Reviewed Sunday, 15 August 2010