Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.3/5
295 reviews
Rating: 4/5

"Pieces fitted together easily. Some were swollen due to being wet from the weather, but bins were still easy to construct. Not sure how thorough the preservation treatment of the wood is - preserver is visible on some pieces, but not on others. Time will tell - keeping the docket as product has a 15 year guarantee against rot."

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 February 2019

Rating: 4/5

"I bought this for my husband. He knew it was flat pack and had fun constructing it, (with a little help). It is just what he wanted so he is very pleased."

Reviewed Saturday, 29 December 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Decent quality - for the price. Some bits broke off some of the sections (where the notches were) when putting it together. But still works fine."

Reviewed Thursday, 27 December 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Easy and quick to put together on my own. I knocked off a star as some pieces of wood were slightly damaged and very wet so needed to dry out."

Reviewed Thursday, 22 November 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Good for price. Easy to assemble."

Reviewed Monday, 19 November 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Seems okay. Easy to put together."

Reviewed Wednesday, 24 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"A good product and good value for money."

Reviewed Monday, 15 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Good quality, fair price."

Reviewed Wednesday, 18 July 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Good for the money. A couple of notches broke off but product not effected. I would buy this again for the price."

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 July 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Product was as advertised, good quality item"

Reviewed Saturday, 19 May 2018

Rating: 4/5

"I'm dropping it by one star only because the design is such that there is no way to get the rotted compost out from the bottom. I know it is the second I have purchased, but it was the largest I wanted, easy to assemble, and a good price. Added to which the service was quick. I'll live with the problem."

Reviewed Friday, 4 May 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Quality issues with composter, some of the wooden struts were not of a high quality. that said it has now been assembled and represents value for money."

Reviewed Tuesday, 6 March 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Very easy to assemble. Superb quality. A method of getting into the frame to get to the compost when it's ready, at the bottom of the frame would have made it perfect"

Reviewed Tuesday, 6 March 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Some of the ends of the slats broke off either before or during construction, but otherwise fine."

Reviewed Monday, 12 February 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Product as expected, not a hugely exciting product! Easy to assemble. Quite heavy especially as mine were wet! Minimal packaging which is my preference."

Reviewed Thursday, 25 January 2018

Rating: 4/5

"The two boxes I purchased from you had broken panels that I had to repair"

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 December 2017

Rating: 4/5

"A little shorter than I'd like but otherwise excellent."

Reviewed Thursday, 7 December 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to put together and good price"

Reviewed Thursday, 30 November 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Well packaged, easy to assemble, reasonable price."

Reviewed Monday, 13 November 2017

Rating: 4/5

"The product purchased was excellent, however it was a COMPOSTER not a solar fountain!!!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 20 September 2017

Rating: 4/5

"As ordered,easy to construct and sturdy, but I wish I had ordered the "easy load" bins !!"

Reviewed Thursday, 6 April 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble although no instructions. Well made and neat appearance. Hope it lasts."

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 March 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 29 January 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Whilst delighted with product, it weighed a 'Ton' when received, as the wood was saturated. It took 2 weeks to dry out before I could assemble it . Delivery driver was most helpful and carried parcels for me. I could'nt left them myself!."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Minore damage to end of some of the planks."

Reviewed Monday, 21 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"It will have to be seen, whether the 15-year guarantee proves its worth."

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good value for money, no instructions but husband assembled it quickly and easily and it has made a messy corner look oraganised and very useful"

Reviewed Saturday, 29 October 2016

Rating: 4/5

"No instructions were attached and though the construction was simple it took quite a long time to work out what to do!"

Reviewed Sunday, 23 October 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Exactly as described and expected"

Reviewed Sunday, 25 September 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 25 September 2016

Rating: 4/5

"easy to assemble . too early to tell how effective product is."

Reviewed Wednesday, 21 September 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 29 August 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good value. Product as described, super fast delivery."

Reviewed Sunday, 21 August 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Friday, 3 June 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Pretty good value. Easy to install and it's doing the job adequately. They are also moveable which is good because they are sited temporarily and will be moved within the next 12 months. They look pretty good too and have made that part of the garden look much tidier."

Reviewed Tuesday, 31 May 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Nicely made, however, they arrive as an anonymous bundle of wood. No instructions, picture or even delivery note. This is just laziness by the company and appalling marketing."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Damaged product means it doesn't fit together correctly"

Reviewed Sunday, 20 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"does the job well"

Reviewed Tuesday, 15 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"easy to erect, and delivery fantastic!"

Reviewed Monday, 14 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"The co poster is a great size , easy to put together but unfortunately a couple of the slats broke while putting together...still does the job though ..."

Reviewed Thursday, 3 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"very good for the money it costs."

Reviewed Tuesday, 22 December 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Excellent quality but I have had to get someone in to erect it. Not even a picture of the finished bin so I had to lend him my iPad!"

Reviewed Friday, 30 October 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The composter is sturdy and easy to put together. Very pleased."

Reviewed Sunday, 28 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The wood is solid and it was quick an easy to build the compost bin. I think I am going to have to make my own "lid" for it - cutting up some broad planks as the I can't see the thin plastic cover you can buy for it being very practical, robust or sightly."

Reviewed Friday, 19 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Great size."

Reviewed Wednesday, 17 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Pleased so far"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The composter is good but the packaging did not include any assembly instructions."

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Rating: 4/5

"well made and easy to put together I done it within half an hour"

Reviewed Thursday, 9 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Not as solid as appears in the picture but perfectly adequate after painting with wood preserver"

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The wood isn't as good as it looks in the photo but we are pleased with it. Basic instructions would have been helpful, but our temporary caretaker managed to assemble it in the limited time that he had."

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 February 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 February 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Looks as if iy will be just what we need. Thank you"

Reviewed Monday, 24 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Very simple to erect. Exactly as described."

Reviewed Tuesday, 11 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 10 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good and reasonably priced"

Reviewed Monday, 10 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble and as described in the literature."

Reviewed Saturday, 11 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"But see anove"

Reviewed Saturday, 20 September 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A few of the end bits of wood broke off during assembly where the panels slot into one another. Not really a problem as the composter still works as it should."

Reviewed Tuesday, 15 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Assembled easily, would have liked an option of a few slats higher, but it was certainly a good buy."

Reviewed Tuesday, 20 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Small split in one piece of timber but ot enough to cause a problem. Seems to do the job."

Reviewed Wednesday, 9 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"does what it says on the tin - easy to assemble"

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good quality"

Reviewed Sunday, 9 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 6 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 25 November 2013

Rating: 4/5

"although the bins are good and easy to put together some of the small pieces of wood were broken which i carried repairs too, some of them became detached during the build process also which need repairs."

Reviewed Monday, 7 October 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 October 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Still in it's packaging but looks very good."

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 October 2013

Rating: 4/5

"This is a cheap product - fortunately it is also fairly inexpensive. If you want a quality product look elsewhere. If you want a cheap composter that will last a few years then this is OK. I cannot believe they will honour the 15 year "no rot" guarantee though - it was mouldy when it arrived."

Reviewed Sunday, 29 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 4 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to put together but wood was very moist and had mould on it, it had obviously sweated in packaging! For some instructions and advice on positioning may have been useful."

Reviewed Sunday, 4 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 28 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 6 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 29 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The instructions supplied where not for this composter which was confusing since I wasn't sure if I was putting it together correctly. I was left with a few pieces and don't know why since I didn't have any instructions. The instructions supplied were for a front loading composter."

Reviewed Monday, 24 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"They went together and are full of compost"

Reviewed Sunday, 16 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Reasonable quality softwood. Easy to assemble using rubber mallet to knock notched corners together. (Better than a conventional hammer which could easily damage the wood). Sturdy when assembled."

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 19 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The reviews of this were mixed so I was uncertain about ordering. Some comments were about the timber being thin or not of good quality. i decided to go for it. It is fine. Perfectly okay timber. If i were making a compost bin myself I would happily make it out of this sort of wood. Yes, it is just basic pine boards, but what else would you use? The pieces slot together quite tightly, so I rubbed the slots with a candle to make them slide together more easily."

Reviewed Sunday, 12 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Joints rather tight so two end pieces broke off during erection"

Reviewed Thursday, 4 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"A few chunks needed mending, but overall good value for money."

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Product packed well and very easy to assemble."

Reviewed Monday, 18 February 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Friday, 18 January 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Disappointed you can't just remove front panels to get at compost - have to take a whole layer off all round the 4 sides each time."

Reviewed Tuesday, 6 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good value. Some pieces rather flimsy at connecting joints, which went on to break when bins assembled. Howeverer this has not affected the composters doing their job."

Reviewed Monday, 22 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 15 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"It was larger than I thought, (I still can't get to grips with metric measures!!), but all themore compost. Easy to put together, even without instructions. Good buy. "

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 August 2012

Rating: 4/5

"It was larger than I thought, (I still can't get to grips with metric measures!!), but all themore compost. Easy to put together, even without instructions. Good buy. "

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 August 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Excellent value and very easy to put together. Heavier than I expected but that is a positive thing. Some of the slots seemed a little loose but it all holds together well"

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 August 2012

Rating: 4/5

"I was a bit dissapointed when it arrived, as the wooden composter was very damp and there was a thick mould on it."

Reviewed Thursday, 17 May 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Solid and does the job well"

Reviewed Sunday, 13 May 2012

Rating: 4/5

"fairly good delivery - even better if carrier could have found address and had read special delivery instuctions. No trouble with previous delivery. product good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 14 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"I was very pleased with the composter which is sturdy and a good size. Also very pleased with the service so will be using Primrose again in the future."

Reviewed Tuesday, 13 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good value item, though worth making a modification to make it easier to access the compost once ready. Otherwise you'll need to dig it out from the top or dismantle the whole thing."

Reviewed Friday, 15 July 2011

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bin is very easy to assemble and a better quality wood than other versions I have bought in the past. However, the most impressive thing was the speed it was delivered. It arrived at 9am the day after I ordered it! Thank you."

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Arrived on time, slightly damaged but still functional"

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble, effective design and pleasing on the eye. Good value for money, however, the top slats don't fit particulary well."

Reviewed Friday, 20 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Knew what the item would be like as seen on other sites. However, delivery was very prompt and cheapest price I could find on the net."

Reviewed Thursday, 19 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"delivered speedily. good value for money"

Reviewed Monday, 9 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Very quick delivery. Easy to assemble. Value for money. Looks good. Not much else you can want from a compost bin."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Well-priced with good communication re delivery. Easy to assemble (even with the help of 3 children). The only disappointment was that one of the pieces of wood was clearly rotten in one place and really should not have been included in the pack (hence 4/5 rather than 5/5)."

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bins were easy to put together, look good and I am very pleased with them. "

Reviewed Monday, 11 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Pretty good product for the price and delivered promptly. Only (very minor) complaint is that a couple of the slats broke (where the notch is at the end) when I was building the composter. Nothing a bit of glue couldn't fix though. I'd suggest the notch should be cut a couple of inches further from the end of the slat. Thanks - Stuart Fallon"

Reviewed Sunday, 27 March 2011

Rating: 4/5

"It does what it says on the box and is reasonably priced for what it is. Two quibbles however: 1. It came without assembly instructions and represented a real intelectual challenge when attempting assembly on a freezing cold allotment. 2. The half joints are VERY fragile and several snapped off during the assembly process. That is a major detractor from what is otherwise an excellent product."

Reviewed Thursday, 25 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The composter is easy to assemble and sturdy enough for the job. It was good value for money"

Reviewed Tuesday, 9 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Very good but I felt the need to paint it with preservative because I was not sure that it would last 15 years without that."

Reviewed Monday, 1 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Extremely pleased with this product. easy assembly and good strong wood. Good price. The only small criticism is the lack of instruction. It is fairly obvious how you put it together but it would be good to be told that there are smaller base planks that go on the bottom for idiots like me who don't bother to check the components before starting."

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Item was as advertised and delivered promptly. Satisfied with service. K.Hammond"

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Excellent service, quick delivery, composters were easy to build and look great."

Reviewed Saturday, 2 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Great item, but would have liked a simple diagram of best way to assemble.... I have two spare bits of wood so I must have done something wrong!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Great item, but would have liked a simple diagram of best way to assemble.... I have two spare bits of wood so I must have done something wrong!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The Composters were delivered by a driver who was unhappy because he had not been able to find the house. I asked if he thought that there would be instructions with it and he said "probably not". He was right, there was a delivery note and no other paperwork. Fortunately the photo on the website showed me what it should look like when assembled, all the bits of wood were there so I knocked the first one together with a mallet. I hope to assemble the second one this weekend. It seems to be exactly what I ordered, but it would have been nice to have had some assembly instructions"

Reviewed Thursday, 23 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"the compost bins arrived in a couple of days, and were easy to put up. delighted with them, thanks"

Reviewed Sunday, 19 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Just the job. Vast capacity and easy to assemble. An optional lid would been a good idea. I will make one up. "

Reviewed Friday, 3 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Thought the plastic lid was over priced but the timber frame is good, delivery v good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Item good and service excellent. Thank you."

Reviewed Tuesday, 31 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The 2 large compost bins are used to store logs for my log stove. As such they provide excellent storage (one on top of other) inside my garage/workshop taking up a small area but with excellent capacity for a winters supply of logs. Good price (for 2) compared to most log stores available on the market. Brian Ansell - Norfolk"

Reviewed Wednesday, 25 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Although it is early days, I can confirm solid wood material was delivered with no damage and very quickly, it was easy to assemble and a good price for the size offered. I have only had it up for a few weeks but seems very solid and sturdy. So lets hope that the compost will be as good!"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Product as expected, although packaging had openeed and water had got into it. Good value for money"

Reviewed Sunday, 15 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The Wooden composter was delivered on time and was easy to put together. Packaged in plastic the timber was very wet on arrival but dried out and now looks great."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"I bought my husband 2 of these compost bins for his allotment and he loved them. I do have to admit he was a little sceptical before they arrived as he was sure he could have knocked something up from scrap wood to do the same job for less money but he was wrong! The bins go together in minutes and once in place they're pretty sturdy. They also look much nicer than anything you could build yourself. All in all I would highly recommend. "

Reviewed Sunday, 25 July 2010