Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.0/5
145 reviews
Rating: 3/5

"Missing picture and instructions on how to put it together"

Reviewed Sunday, 4 November 2018

Rating: 4/5

"I would have given it 5 stars if there had been some written/pictorial instructions for constructing the bin. Luckily my husband is good at DIY and was able to work it out."

Reviewed Friday, 26 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Great product promptly delivered"

Reviewed Saturday, 20 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Itís a good product well dedigned"

Reviewed Saturday, 13 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to erect, but no assembly instructions with product."

Reviewed Thursday, 11 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Solid. Like the slots for easy access to bottom composted mix."

Reviewed Thursday, 6 September 2018

Rating: 1/5

"Broken on receipt with no fixings or instructions"

Reviewed Sunday, 2 September 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Great product - replacement for one that had rotted after 10+ years service"

Reviewed Monday, 20 August 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Just what I wanted-- I think!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 July 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Very good. Easy to assemble."

Reviewed Monday, 4 June 2018

Rating: 4/5

"reasonable quality for the price"

Reviewed Friday, 1 June 2018

Rating: 4/5

"No assembly instructions but this is my second bin. Very happy with it."

Reviewed Thursday, 24 May 2018

Rating: 3/5

"it is serviceable blah blah"

Reviewed Monday, 30 April 2018

Rating: 3/5

"Needs instructions on assembly."

Reviewed Thursday, 19 April 2018

Rating: 4/5

"The wood was very damp when delivered but nothing was missing and the online instructions are clear. Assembly is straightforward although a bit of adjustment is needed and screw-holes have to be drilled, but itís a lot of compost bin for the price. Recommended."

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 December 2017

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bins went together ok. I needed a hammer to ensure the joints closed fully. This is important because, if the joints are not fully closed, the vertical support will be too short."

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 November 2017

Rating: 5/5

"Great product. Very easy to assemble."

Reviewed Tuesday, 11 July 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Haven't put it together yet so hope it is ok !"

Reviewed Wednesday, 22 February 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Good, but some assembly instructions would have been useful"

Reviewed Tuesday, 8 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Friday, 4 November 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Look really good and fit in unobtrusively"

Reviewed Thursday, 3 November 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Put it together but it was missing screws."

Reviewed Sunday, 24 July 2016

Rating: 2/5

"The product was not of the best quality - a second set was provided because the first was damaged. Also the product came without instructions. The finished product did not match the illustration on line - which looked straight-forward to assemble. As the actual product differed from the illustration the instructions were necessary to make sense of the contents of the pack."

Reviewed Sunday, 8 May 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Found it hard to put together without any instructions and no screws included. Had to look at picture on website to put it together."

Reviewed Monday, 18 April 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Good capacity and design. Once we worked out the assembly it was quite easy although there was some splitting in the wood and no screws provided. The final result is exactly what we need however!"

Reviewed Monday, 21 March 2016

Rating: 5/5

"The compost bin went together well."

Reviewed Sunday, 19 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"One small piece broken but overall a good buy and relatively simple to construct"

Reviewed Sunday, 21 June 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Somewhere between "Poor" & "Good" would be more appropriate - average/fair - but not given these options. The actual wooden structure itself if fine, although it was supplied without any fixings or an instruction booklet. Neither posed a particular problem since we had purchased one previously so already knew how to construct it, although in fact the first one we bought was damaged since two of the wooden slats were broken on delivery. All in all ok, but not overly impressed."

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 May 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The product design suggest that it will be much easier to use than our old black composers, the black Dalek type!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent product, such a smart looking compost area now."

Reviewed Sunday, 5 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 29 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 2/5

"The construction is not good. The side support rt is too small"

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Joints were very tight and several pieces broke off whilst assembling. However this has not affected the usability, it's just a little annoying."

Reviewed Wednesday, 18 February 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Ok, but came with 1 screw out of 14, and this was one of the main things that customers wrote about, so I was hoping that this would have been sorted out"

Reviewed Saturday, 10 January 2015

Rating: 5/5

"great composting bin although I have made a lid to keep wildlife out as part of our local recycling regime is the separate food scraps so now to be responsible we are recycling this as well as all garden composting materials - easy to assemble ably assisted by grandsons [5 and 2] who are great gardeners........also prompt delivery......as is normal for Primrose - great company"

Reviewed Saturday, 18 October 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Just what we needed for our garden space"

Reviewed Saturday, 11 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Instructions could be better Knocking the pieces together at the back pushes them closer together than they are at the front - where a piec of the structure is used as a spacer. The construction would work better if a similar principle was used at the back."

Reviewed Friday, 26 September 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Had seen adverse comments about assembly instructions but found them perfecrly straightforward. Did find a couple of short cuts to make it easier however. Also seen comments about missing screws. CORRECT, someone in order picking can't count, 3 short. A bit annoying but not the end of the world."

Reviewed Monday, 8 September 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Some planks of wood were cracked and screws missing."

Reviewed Saturday, 6 September 2014

Rating: 5/5

"This large composter is perfect for my needs. it doesn't look out of place as I thing the big barrel=like ones do. Easy to assemble. Thanks"

Reviewed Tuesday, 2 September 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Few of the parts were damaged on delivery!"

Reviewed Monday, 25 August 2014

Rating: 1/5

"3 packages, all three had broken parts, 4 screws missing, only one package had the screws in a small plastic bag. Doubt that I will use your services again."

Reviewed Monday, 25 August 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Two packs were short of some screws but not a big problem, some timber was pretty wet so had to be careful with some joints which were difficult as a result of the swollen wood!"

Reviewed Sunday, 24 August 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Poor instructions - we bought 2 identical bins & 1st took 2.5 hrs to assemble, 2nd 45 mins! Pieces not cut accurately enough & at least 1 screw missing from each pack. SORT OUT YOUR QUALITY CONTROL!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Simple, does the job."

Reviewed Sunday, 27 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Bought three of them. Two of them were short of screws. One had ten pieces of wood that were damaged."

Reviewed Friday, 25 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Not quite as easy to assemble as some reviews have suggested; I'm no DIY expert though. No screws in package but some galvanized nails did the job. All told a good product. Yes some rough bits of wood; quite Okay though. In all does what I want."

Reviewed Monday, 7 July 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 July 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to assemble. Not yet put to the test of time."

Reviewed Sunday, 15 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Some damage but it still slotted together ok"

Reviewed Monday, 9 June 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Little bits of the planks broke in assemblage. Couldn't seem to get the planks to slot into each other as they should. Was the dampness of the wood something to do with it. Had some planks left over at the top because couldn't fit them onto the vertical struts. Instructions need to be clearer."

Reviewed Sunday, 1 June 2014

Rating: 1/5

"You needto add an extra class of product below "bad" so that I can describe this bin ! The instructions were inadequate -only after completion do you realise how unhelpful ! The materials were substandard. I would be ashamed to be connected with this product. If asked I would warn anyone off from buying it !!!"

Reviewed Sunday, 1 June 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to construct and exactly what it says on the packet!"

Reviewed Saturday, 31 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 11 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Wood was damp and - being rough-cut - not easy to slot together. Instruction sheet could have been clearer - it took me some time to realise that the bin is higher at the front than the back."

Reviewed Tuesday, 8 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Great product, time will tell how it stands up over the years."

Reviewed Thursday, 27 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 26 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"This is the second compost bin I have bought from Primrose. On both occasions there was minor damage to some of the timber parts. The packaging does not proect the more delicate corners well enough. It doesn't prevent the bin being constructed but is an irritation that it is to perfect."

Reviewed Thursday, 20 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"easy to put up . thank you"

Reviewed Sunday, 9 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to build by a non DIY lady - great product thanks"

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 March 2014

Rating: 2/5

"dripping wet. parts broken."

Reviewed Monday, 27 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"The Compost maker is great value (I now have three)"

Reviewed Friday, 24 January 2014

Rating: 2/5

"It was very wet in the packaging a lot of the thin pieces of wood split when the supplied screws were inserted into the correct areas and on two occasions small pieces came off completely. All in all I am not very happy with the product and would not recommend it to any friends or family."

Reviewed Thursday, 16 January 2014

Rating: 5/5

"We haven't unpacked them yet, but they look good. We've bought several items before from Primrose and have been happy with them, so we're trusting that the compost bins will also be up to the mark."

Reviewed Tuesday, 14 January 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 22 December 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The wood was very wet, screws were missing, and the product was poorly machined meaning it needed work to get it to fit together properly."

Reviewed Monday, 9 December 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Arrived a little damp but apart from that ok"

Reviewed Sunday, 8 December 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 December 2013

Rating: 5/5

"The timber was carefully cut and fitted well into its slots, and looks as if the timber treatment will indeed allow it to last for a good number of years."

Reviewed Wednesday, 25 September 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Very useful easy to assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"very good product. Easily assembled. I do think that the front supporting planks, which are screwed to the sides, could be a few inches longer. I look forward to using this bin"

Reviewed Sunday, 22 September 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Wasn't sure about placing an order as the feedback on the site stated that a few people had received damaged goods. I decided to order two extra large composters. Both were undamaged and the screws and instructions for assembly were included. Easy to put together in about twenty minutes. Great product."

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Instructions for erection a bit sketchy, but managed it okay. The dimensions as given didn't include the sticking out bits, so had to be adjusted with a saw to fit a very tight space. Overall dimensions would have been more helpful."

Reviewed Tuesday, 10 September 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Just about worth the money. But only just. Wood was soaking wet when unpacked making it difficult to assemble. The support struts on each side of the bin are too short. Very basic but we'll see how long they last."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Condition of panels could have been a bit better some had splits which broke when assembled."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"instructions would have been helpful, one board split"

Reviewed Monday, 26 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 17 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Pretty easy to assemble with two people. Needs to be.built on a flat, hard surface. We ended up splitting two of the planks, which in hindsight is because the wood arrived wet and we should have allowed it to dry out properly. I think the instructions need to make this clear."

Reviewed Sunday, 4 August 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The product arrived and with one part, six out of the 12 pieces were broken, it is still usable but for the price paid would have expected all pieces to be intact!! Annoyed."

Reviewed Thursday, 6 June 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Very easy to assemble, and good product. Just what I needed."

Reviewed Monday, 6 May 2013

Rating: 5/5

"excellent value, simple to erect"

Reviewed Monday, 6 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The product is quite good but I had to enlarge nearly all the "slots" they were either too tight or simply not big enough. Fortunately, I was able to machine the repairs and not everybody would have the facilites. The packing was abysmal and was burst open. All the timber was there but there was a small empty bag where the screws should have been"

Reviewed Tuesday, 30 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"It is fit for purpose and went together well. However, One strut of our compost bin was broken at the notched section but we managed to mend it with wood glue - we considered this to be easier than sending the whole thing back!"

Reviewed Sunday, 21 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good product, only criticism was that one of the bags of screws had split so they weren't all there."

Reviewed Monday, 15 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"It was a bit of a nuisance that the wood was soaking wet, and had to be dried out for a few days in order to be able to fit it together. Four of the side pieces had lost their corners' in the 45 degree cuts - a weakness in the whole system - but I got it working."

Reviewed Wednesday, 3 April 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Wet and some parts split service however was good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble only took an hour an a half or so including preparing the ground. All parts present - though some slightly damaged it didn't really make any difference. The plain side supports were much easier to attach by marking up and pre-drilling holes to suit, which the instructions didn't make clear. Very good value. As expected, product rather basic but it does the job."

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The easy load compost bin was well made and good to construct. The large compost bin had some broken wood and was not strong."

Reviewed Monday, 18 March 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Difficult to fit joints together properly. Various bits of wood already broken off in package when delivered and other bits around joints broke off when trying to fit them together. So the bin is together but will no doubt have more problems in due course when removing slats to empty it"

Reviewed Friday, 15 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Would have been excellent if you hadn't hidden the screws - I found most of them scattered amongst the wood and had to use a few of my own."

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Get the spacing right and you are well away."

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 March 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Monday, 18 February 2013

Rating: 5/5

"A good size, nice and sturdy and easy to assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 22 January 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Bin was good value for money. Instructions easy to follow. Bit disappointed with the quality of the actual product as wood chips broke off when assembling."

Reviewed Monday, 21 January 2013

Rating: 4/5

"the product seems to be of good quality and design."

Reviewed Thursday, 27 December 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Monday, 17 December 2012

Rating: 4/5

"The item is great but was soaking wet when removed from the wrapping and there were no screws supplied with the item and these are essential to build it."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 November 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Monday, 19 November 2012

Rating: 5/5

"easy to assemble"

Reviewed Wednesday, 7 November 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Wednesday, 7 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good practical design"

Reviewed Monday, 29 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"These were not easy to construct. It would have helped if the uprights had marks where the holes should be drilled for the screws. Also I wonder if we will actually be able to remove the front slats after the compost bins have been used for a season or two - or will the wood have expanded & shrunk so much that the slats are not easily removeable? We will wait and see... On the plus side these are really large, substantial bins so will hold a lot of grass cuttings & leaves. We wouldn't use them for food waste due to the problem here with rats and mice."

Reviewed Friday, 19 October 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to construct from the flat pack. Needed two of us to carry the bundle to the selected area. Testament to the bins strength and construction."

Reviewed Saturday, 13 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"In general this is a good product, although 2 sections were missing, but we have managed to over come this."

Reviewed Saturday, 22 September 2012

Rating: 3/5

"A couple of pieces broken at the notch. I only found the screws by chance! Not quite as robust as I had imagined but will give it a try"

Reviewed Sunday, 16 September 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Very good - great value for money. Very easy to install and look as good as a compost bin can!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 September 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Good size as advertised - worth the money"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 August 2012

Rating: 5/5

"After a bit of head scratching (the diagram shows the bin being narrow end on as opposed to wide end on, we assembled it in a very short time and compost is now being made "

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 August 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Cheap, solid, easy to build. Good deal."

Reviewed Sunday, 27 May 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Arrived swiftly. Easy to put up, but did need a bit of force to complete. So far, so good."

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 April 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Very good product but needed more upright supports"

Reviewed Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Rating: 5/5

"No problem with the material. Perhaps teh drawings could indicate that the two side supports at teh front should not be fixed too low so that they hardly reach the top bar. (This was solved by diagonal screwfixing!) The only other problem was that the carrier left the box against the front door and didn't ring the bell, whereas I think we instructed that it should be left in the last door on the back of the house if there was no reply. We are nonetheless delighted with the now nearly full compost bin! "

Reviewed Wednesday, 14 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Have not put it together yet, but had to print out the picture on the web, as no instructions. My husband has now sussed it. Looks good"

Reviewed Friday, 17 February 2012

Rating: 5/5

"This is a great value item!! Large and relatively robust composter for less than a smaller plasti composter.. All you need is a couple of hinges and a big piece of marine ply and you get a lid too.. Overall and excellent product.."

Reviewed Monday, 6 February 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Picture does not do justice to product. Much beeter quality than appears, and compared with other composters great value for money."

Reviewed Monday, 21 November 2011

Rating: 4/5

"It would be nice touch to pre-drill the side posts to get the spacing right"

Reviewed Thursday, 7 July 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Design of the product is reasonably good and delivery speed and efficiency was good too. However, I have reduced my rating because a) there were no assembly instructions included in any of the four packages I received and b) it was only when assembling the third of the four that I noticed a very small pack of screws which had probably been included in the others but were lost en-route. My suggestion is that Primrose could include the assembly instructions on their web-site where they can't get lost. The only clue I got was by looking at their photographs of the finished bins. Overall, I strongly recommend these products as a thoughtful design and good value for money. Allow in total about 30-45 minutes to assemble and you may well need your own nails or screws to fix the side pieces which are essential for spacing and rigidity in operation."

Reviewed Saturday, 25 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Good quality produce, shame you have to buy the screws to put it together."

Reviewed Monday, 20 June 2011

Rating: 1/5

"very poorly constructed. Alot of the wood was broken. Poor standard of wood. The slots cut out of the wood were not always in the right place and poorly cut. No instruction on assembly. If it had not have been difficult I would have returned this product and asked for my money back."

Reviewed Saturday, 11 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Extra large compost bin is good, but a little low. We are going to buy a second to put on top!"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Arrived quickly, easy to build and is as described on the web site. "

Reviewed Saturday, 7 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"We are very pleased that the goods came on the agreed alternative delivery date. They were easy to assemble and we are now in business."

Reviewed Monday, 4 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"A very good basic design at an excellent price. Easy to assemble and prompt and efficient delivery. Only small problem was top bar broken at a knot - but mended with a bit of glue!"

Reviewed Monday, 28 March 2011

Rating: 4/5

"The service from Primrose was excellent during the enquiry and ordering process, and the two composters were delivered quickly. On unpacking the two composters there was some initial confusion as no instructions were included, and the pack of screws was missing from one of the flat packs. Primrose quickly sorted this out. Assembly is fairly straightforward, taking about 30 minutes or so, and the composters look smart. Overall I am pleased with the purchase and the good service from Primrose, and this composter represents good value for money. "

Reviewed Monday, 21 March 2011

Rating: 5/5

"All received in good order. Easy to put together. I will be purchasing a second composter is the next few weeks when I have decided the size I require. David Allen"

Reviewed Sunday, 20 March 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Just what I was looking for. Very easy to assemble but a diagram enclosed with the materials would have saved some time in figuring it out."

Reviewed Monday, 31 January 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Your service is excellent, the products look nice and are reasonably priced. This is why I am taking the time to write a response. But I have several important comments. 1)On the web site you have a section for delivery instructions and a message. Neither of these was of any use. The message and the delivery instructions were too small to be of any use. 2) You don't include any instructions on how to put the compost bins together. It took us several attempts to get it right. Simple instructions would have made the job so much easier. 3) The method of taking the planks off the front to enable loading and unloading is a good idea, but doesn't work. The wood doesn't slide in and out and will become more difficult over time. To move the planks when the bin is full, requires hitting the small exposed ends of the planks with a hammer. This results in some of the small ends of the planks getting broken off. On the positive, I am a happy customer and will continue to use your company and recommend it to my friends and family. HAPPY CHRITMAS! PS This message arrive in my hotmail junk folder so I nearly missed it.....your other correspondence came into my inbox... maybe you know a way of getting it passed the spam filters? "

Reviewed Saturday, 18 December 2010

Rating: 4/5

"fast friendly and convenient no instructions, probably not really needed, but for us non DIY lot a few pointers would have been helpful to get started x2 of the front pieces of the side panels had arrived cracked right through, hopefully wood glue will be enough as they are needed to support the front pieces one of the compost bins had an empty plastic bag with no screws at all and one other was 1 screw short, not critical but irritating "

Reviewed Saturday, 27 November 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Product arrived earlier than promised - great service, great item"

Reviewed Friday, 19 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Hello I am a little unqualified to pass comment as I have to be honest that our gardener put the bin together. However, I was extremely pleased with the speed that our order was processed and consequently dispatched. The bin is now in situe and already composting alongside our other two bins. I do think you offer a very good quality product and at a reasonable price. Very happy to recommend you. I hope that this feedback is useful. Kind regards Holly Stone"

Reviewed Thursday, 18 November 2010

Rating: 5/5

"good product, this is the second grass box I have bought from you. Fast delivery. Thanks Ruth"

Reviewed Sunday, 14 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"All ok although not sure how easy it'll be removing the front slats or getting out low down compost. However, I think I might get another one."

Reviewed Wednesday, 10 November 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Easy Load XL compost bins. 1. The delivery was excellent. It stated next day delivery, and that is what I got. They were a very large delivery, and delivery cost under £5 I think. 2. The price was the best on the web. They were half the price of the others I viewed. I ordered 4. 2. They had to be assembled. Each one took me about 2 hours to assemble. After the first one, it became easier of course except, sometimes the wood was badly cut or had cracks in that split when knocked into place with a rubber capped mallet. They did need knocking in, as the joining notches were often not cut well. As a result of badly split wood, or badly cut notches, I needed No Nails glue, a hacksaw (one blade broke), a rubber mallet and a drill (2 drill bits broke). It was a very difficult job and I recommend that you check the quality a bit better. There were no drill holes for the screws, so you have to line up the supporting sides and drill holes. Hard wrk all in all. That said, the bins were a reasonable price, so as long as they last the minimum of the 15 years stated, once I have forgotten the effort needed in assembling them, I am happy with the product. I have pictures of all the faults, together with the finished bins, but cannot find a way to attach them here."

Reviewed Monday, 1 November 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Delivery was very quick indeed. I discovered that there were no assembly instructions in the package but Primrose were very quick to e-mail me a copy. Not that assembly was particularly difficult anyway. the bin was easy to put up and looks fine."

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 October 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Thank you for prompt delivery. I am happy with the product itself, but the problem is: the front slats are impossible to remove. In fact, they were so tight that I could not assemble without hammering them in with great difficulty. I thought that the whole point of this design was to make the front panels removable for easy access -- is there anything you can suggest to make it usable? Will be grateful for advice!"

Reviewed Friday, 22 October 2010

Rating: 5/5

"The products arrived swiftly and were in good condition. Instructionsto assemble were good and easy to follow. Final product looks good in the garden."

Reviewed Saturday, 2 October 2010

Rating: 3/5

"The compost bin assembly was relatively straight forward and well designed. The package was delivered quickly. However my particular item had clearly been left out in the rain for some time while either in storage and/or being shipped. As a result the cardboard packaging was significantly degraded and so failed to protect a number of the wooden slates from being damaged at their corners. Some of the wood slates had also got a mildew on them from the dam conditions. Fortunely these defects proved to be cosmetic but had they not been then returning the product in the original packaging would not have been possible as it fell in to a pile of soggy bits during unpacking. "

Reviewed Sunday, 12 September 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Great price. Great product. Super speedy delivery with time slot notified too!! All in all just brill. Well done. Thanks. "

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Delivered very quickly and were easy to put together. very happy with the purchase, thankyou "

Reviewed Monday, 30 August 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Seems to be an excellent product. Very easy to put together and good value for money. "

Reviewed Monday, 30 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Delivery very quick (by return). Easy to assemble with the help of a mallet. Could do with one or two more screws/ties, just to anchor it in places. Results: we'll have to see next year!"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 August 2010

Rating: 1/5

"To whom it may concern, I was extremely disappointed with the wooden compost bins I received from Primrose. For starters, many of the ends of the slats were broken where the slots were cut into the wood. I ordered four extra large bins, and all of them had at least three broken slats each. The wood looked nothing like the pictures on the website which show nice quality boxes, very smooth & attractive. The boxes I received were of very rough wood, all of which were damp & covered in mychrorhizal fungus. The slots were very roughly cut with splinters sticking out, & of greatly varying width & depth which meant that the boxes were a nightmare to put together - it was impossible to acheive an even gap between the slats without drilling a great number of extra screws into various places. Screws - there was only one small bag supplied with one of the bins, enough to build one box. I had to purchase more screws to build the other three. Instructions - only one set supplied. There should surely be a set for each box, in case of accidental damge/loss? In short, these boxes are rubbish & I will certainly not be recommending them to anybody, nor purchasing anything from Primrose again. In future I will look to spend more on compost bins, rather than be taken in by the cheap price & misleading pictures. Kind Regards, Mr.M.P.Tillyer Head Gardener The Bedford Estates"

Reviewed Sunday, 8 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"This is a good product but it is better to use your own common sense to assemble it as the instructions were written by someone living in cloud cuckoo land. They could hugely improve the product by providing a plastic spacer template. This would be useful for people assembling it on their own or who have little experience of diy."

Reviewed Friday, 16 July 2010