Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.0/5
145 reviews
Rating: 4/5

"I would have given it 5 stars if there had been some written/pictorial instructions for constructing the bin. Luckily my husband is good at DIY and was able to work it out."

Reviewed Friday, 26 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Great product promptly delivered"

Reviewed Saturday, 20 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Itís a good product well dedigned"

Reviewed Saturday, 13 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to erect, but no assembly instructions with product."

Reviewed Thursday, 11 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Solid. Like the slots for easy access to bottom composted mix."

Reviewed Thursday, 6 September 2018

Rating: 4/5

"reasonable quality for the price"

Reviewed Friday, 1 June 2018

Rating: 4/5

"No assembly instructions but this is my second bin. Very happy with it."

Reviewed Thursday, 24 May 2018

Rating: 4/5

"The wood was very damp when delivered but nothing was missing and the online instructions are clear. Assembly is straightforward although a bit of adjustment is needed and screw-holes have to be drilled, but itís a lot of compost bin for the price. Recommended."

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 December 2017

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bins went together ok. I needed a hammer to ensure the joints closed fully. This is important because, if the joints are not fully closed, the vertical support will be too short."

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 November 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Haven't put it together yet so hope it is ok !"

Reviewed Wednesday, 22 February 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Good, but some assembly instructions would have been useful"

Reviewed Tuesday, 8 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Friday, 4 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"One small piece broken but overall a good buy and relatively simple to construct"

Reviewed Sunday, 21 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The product design suggest that it will be much easier to use than our old black composers, the black Dalek type!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 29 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Joints were very tight and several pieces broke off whilst assembling. However this has not affected the usability, it's just a little annoying."

Reviewed Wednesday, 18 February 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Ok, but came with 1 screw out of 14, and this was one of the main things that customers wrote about, so I was hoping that this would have been sorted out"

Reviewed Saturday, 10 January 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Instructions could be better Knocking the pieces together at the back pushes them closer together than they are at the front - where a piec of the structure is used as a spacer. The construction would work better if a similar principle was used at the back."

Reviewed Friday, 26 September 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Some planks of wood were cracked and screws missing."

Reviewed Saturday, 6 September 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Two packs were short of some screws but not a big problem, some timber was pretty wet so had to be careful with some joints which were difficult as a result of the swollen wood!"

Reviewed Sunday, 24 August 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Simple, does the job."

Reviewed Sunday, 27 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Not quite as easy to assemble as some reviews have suggested; I'm no DIY expert though. No screws in package but some galvanized nails did the job. All told a good product. Yes some rough bits of wood; quite Okay though. In all does what I want."

Reviewed Monday, 7 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Some damage but it still slotted together ok"

Reviewed Monday, 9 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 11 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Great product, time will tell how it stands up over the years."

Reviewed Thursday, 27 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 26 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"This is the second compost bin I have bought from Primrose. On both occasions there was minor damage to some of the timber parts. The packaging does not proect the more delicate corners well enough. It doesn't prevent the bin being constructed but is an irritation that it is to perfect."

Reviewed Thursday, 20 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"The Compost maker is great value (I now have three)"

Reviewed Friday, 24 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Arrived a little damp but apart from that ok"

Reviewed Sunday, 8 December 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 December 2013

Rating: 4/5

"very good product. Easily assembled. I do think that the front supporting planks, which are screwed to the sides, could be a few inches longer. I look forward to using this bin"

Reviewed Sunday, 22 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Instructions for erection a bit sketchy, but managed it okay. The dimensions as given didn't include the sticking out bits, so had to be adjusted with a saw to fit a very tight space. Overall dimensions would have been more helpful."

Reviewed Tuesday, 10 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Condition of panels could have been a bit better some had splits which broke when assembled."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"instructions would have been helpful, one board split"

Reviewed Monday, 26 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 17 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Pretty easy to assemble with two people. Needs to be.built on a flat, hard surface. We ended up splitting two of the planks, which in hindsight is because the wood arrived wet and we should have allowed it to dry out properly. I think the instructions need to make this clear."

Reviewed Sunday, 4 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The product is quite good but I had to enlarge nearly all the "slots" they were either too tight or simply not big enough. Fortunately, I was able to machine the repairs and not everybody would have the facilites. The packing was abysmal and was burst open. All the timber was there but there was a small empty bag where the screws should have been"

Reviewed Tuesday, 30 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"It is fit for purpose and went together well. However, One strut of our compost bin was broken at the notched section but we managed to mend it with wood glue - we considered this to be easier than sending the whole thing back!"

Reviewed Sunday, 21 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good product, only criticism was that one of the bags of screws had split so they weren't all there."

Reviewed Monday, 15 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"It was a bit of a nuisance that the wood was soaking wet, and had to be dried out for a few days in order to be able to fit it together. Four of the side pieces had lost their corners' in the 45 degree cuts - a weakness in the whole system - but I got it working."

Reviewed Wednesday, 3 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble only took an hour an a half or so including preparing the ground. All parts present - though some slightly damaged it didn't really make any difference. The plain side supports were much easier to attach by marking up and pre-drilling holes to suit, which the instructions didn't make clear. Very good value. As expected, product rather basic but it does the job."

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The easy load compost bin was well made and good to construct. The large compost bin had some broken wood and was not strong."

Reviewed Monday, 18 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Would have been excellent if you hadn't hidden the screws - I found most of them scattered amongst the wood and had to use a few of my own."

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Get the spacing right and you are well away."

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Bin was good value for money. Instructions easy to follow. Bit disappointed with the quality of the actual product as wood chips broke off when assembling."

Reviewed Monday, 21 January 2013

Rating: 4/5

"the product seems to be of good quality and design."

Reviewed Thursday, 27 December 2012

Rating: 4/5

"The item is great but was soaking wet when removed from the wrapping and there were no screws supplied with the item and these are essential to build it."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good practical design"

Reviewed Monday, 29 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"These were not easy to construct. It would have helped if the uprights had marks where the holes should be drilled for the screws. Also I wonder if we will actually be able to remove the front slats after the compost bins have been used for a season or two - or will the wood have expanded & shrunk so much that the slats are not easily removeable? We will wait and see... On the plus side these are really large, substantial bins so will hold a lot of grass cuttings & leaves. We wouldn't use them for food waste due to the problem here with rats and mice."

Reviewed Friday, 19 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"In general this is a good product, although 2 sections were missing, but we have managed to over come this."

Reviewed Saturday, 22 September 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Very good product but needed more upright supports"

Reviewed Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Have not put it together yet, but had to print out the picture on the web, as no instructions. My husband has now sussed it. Looks good"

Reviewed Friday, 17 February 2012

Rating: 4/5

"It would be nice touch to pre-drill the side posts to get the spacing right"

Reviewed Thursday, 7 July 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Design of the product is reasonably good and delivery speed and efficiency was good too. However, I have reduced my rating because a) there were no assembly instructions included in any of the four packages I received and b) it was only when assembling the third of the four that I noticed a very small pack of screws which had probably been included in the others but were lost en-route. My suggestion is that Primrose could include the assembly instructions on their web-site where they can't get lost. The only clue I got was by looking at their photographs of the finished bins. Overall, I strongly recommend these products as a thoughtful design and good value for money. Allow in total about 30-45 minutes to assemble and you may well need your own nails or screws to fix the side pieces which are essential for spacing and rigidity in operation."

Reviewed Saturday, 25 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Extra large compost bin is good, but a little low. We are going to buy a second to put on top!"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"A very good basic design at an excellent price. Easy to assemble and prompt and efficient delivery. Only small problem was top bar broken at a knot - but mended with a bit of glue!"

Reviewed Monday, 28 March 2011

Rating: 4/5

"The service from Primrose was excellent during the enquiry and ordering process, and the two composters were delivered quickly. On unpacking the two composters there was some initial confusion as no instructions were included, and the pack of screws was missing from one of the flat packs. Primrose quickly sorted this out. Assembly is fairly straightforward, taking about 30 minutes or so, and the composters look smart. Overall I am pleased with the purchase and the good service from Primrose, and this composter represents good value for money. "

Reviewed Monday, 21 March 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Just what I was looking for. Very easy to assemble but a diagram enclosed with the materials would have saved some time in figuring it out."

Reviewed Monday, 31 January 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Your service is excellent, the products look nice and are reasonably priced. This is why I am taking the time to write a response. But I have several important comments. 1)On the web site you have a section for delivery instructions and a message. Neither of these was of any use. The message and the delivery instructions were too small to be of any use. 2) You don't include any instructions on how to put the compost bins together. It took us several attempts to get it right. Simple instructions would have made the job so much easier. 3) The method of taking the planks off the front to enable loading and unloading is a good idea, but doesn't work. The wood doesn't slide in and out and will become more difficult over time. To move the planks when the bin is full, requires hitting the small exposed ends of the planks with a hammer. This results in some of the small ends of the planks getting broken off. On the positive, I am a happy customer and will continue to use your company and recommend it to my friends and family. HAPPY CHRITMAS! PS This message arrive in my hotmail junk folder so I nearly missed it.....your other correspondence came into my inbox... maybe you know a way of getting it passed the spam filters? "

Reviewed Saturday, 18 December 2010

Rating: 4/5

"fast friendly and convenient no instructions, probably not really needed, but for us non DIY lot a few pointers would have been helpful to get started x2 of the front pieces of the side panels had arrived cracked right through, hopefully wood glue will be enough as they are needed to support the front pieces one of the compost bins had an empty plastic bag with no screws at all and one other was 1 screw short, not critical but irritating "

Reviewed Saturday, 27 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Hello I am a little unqualified to pass comment as I have to be honest that our gardener put the bin together. However, I was extremely pleased with the speed that our order was processed and consequently dispatched. The bin is now in situe and already composting alongside our other two bins. I do think you offer a very good quality product and at a reasonable price. Very happy to recommend you. I hope that this feedback is useful. Kind regards Holly Stone"

Reviewed Thursday, 18 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"All ok although not sure how easy it'll be removing the front slats or getting out low down compost. However, I think I might get another one."

Reviewed Wednesday, 10 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Delivered very quickly and were easy to put together. very happy with the purchase, thankyou "

Reviewed Monday, 30 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Delivery very quick (by return). Easy to assemble with the help of a mallet. Could do with one or two more screws/ties, just to anchor it in places. Results: we'll have to see next year!"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 August 2010