Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.1/5
203 reviews
Rating: 1/5

"Very poor quality, sub standard wood used. Many splits in wood with bits broken off. Received poorly package, but didnít unpack straight away, you live and learn this should have been refused and returned immediately. Have assembled it but canít seen it lasting any more than a season."

Reviewed Wednesday, 13 February 2019

Rating: 1/5

"VERY POOR SERVICE COMPLAINT IGNORED"

Reviewed Tuesday, 5 February 2019

Rating: 4/5

"Bin was as described and was fairly simple to assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 25 December 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Great product. Assembly instructions a bit basic"

Reviewed Monday, 12 November 2018

Rating: 3/5

"Parts broken making it difficult to assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"I've already told you my view."

Reviewed Sunday, 14 October 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Good service, I would buy from them again"

Reviewed Sunday, 16 September 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Just what I needed and fits perfectly in my garden"

Reviewed Thursday, 16 August 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Pleased with the compost bins."

Reviewed Monday, 6 August 2018

Rating: 3/5

"Also, some of the timber components are cracked or broken"

Reviewed Monday, 18 June 2018

Rating: 4/5

"I am very happy with this but would have liked better info on assembly. I did read the linked assembly instructions, but they are not as detailed as they could be."

Reviewed Saturday, 19 May 2018

Rating: 2/5

"Brilliant idea but the quality of the timber doesn't support the design; the slots cut in the front timbers for the slide in bars result in the material in front of the slots breaking off. Several were missing on arrival; more broke off as I tried to assemble it. The only way I managed to get the front timbers in was by knocking nails in to hold them. This either needs to be made of a hardwood - heavy and expensive - or needs metal brackets to hold the removable slats."

Reviewed Thursday, 17 May 2018

Rating: 3/5

"Roughly made But eventually fit for purpose"

Reviewed Wednesday, 16 May 2018

Rating: 4/5

"The design of these compost bins is good, although the side supports could be an inch or two longer. Assembly was straightforward and relatively easy with two of us doing the job. the wood was very wet when it arrived so we let it dry out well before attempting assembly which meant it fitted together reasonably well. However 5 of the side boards were split or completely broken off where the notch is cut into them so that they don't hold the front boards securely"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 May 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Just right, easy to assemble too"

Reviewed Monday, 30 April 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Went together easily although instructions need reworking. The wood looks well preserved and although a few corners fell off it the integrity of the built bins would not be affected. I couldn't have built them better or cheaper myself."

Reviewed Thursday, 26 April 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Really useful if only have a small space"

Reviewed Wednesday, 11 April 2018

Rating: 4/5

"good product easy to assemble"

Reviewed Monday, 5 March 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Great composter, robust and easy to construct (once we'd downloaded the instructions from Primrose website)."

Reviewed Sunday, 4 March 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Attractive, functional, easy to assemble."

Reviewed Friday, 1 December 2017

Rating: 5/5

"It was an excellent service"

Reviewed Saturday, 4 November 2017

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to put together with a mallet to help with the construction. Roomy and will hold lots of leaves."

Reviewed Saturday, 9 September 2017

Rating: 5/5

"This is the second compost bin I have had from Primrose. It is good for the job. The instructions from the internet were easy to follow."

Reviewed Monday, 4 September 2017

Rating: 4/5

"NO INSTRUCTIONS WERE INCLUDED FOR ASSEMBLY"

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 July 2017

Rating: 5/5

"Good product for the price"

Reviewed Sunday, 9 July 2017

Rating: 4/5

"I'd read the other reviews, so I knew what to expect. Yes, the wood was on the damp side, and it was mouldy in places. But it's a cheap item for what it is and I have no doubt it'll last a good few yrs. I used a mallet to fit them together, at the back2 corners, wasn't too tight to slot in the front slats-didn't push them all the way in-no need. Much improved from my plastic bins in size, economy of space (same area at the top as at the bottom) and appearance. I bought 3 and made them into 2 at 1.5 x height which fits my space better. Really pleased ????"

Reviewed Sunday, 9 April 2017

Rating: 4/5

"No instructions how to put the bins together made it difficult"

Reviewed Sunday, 2 April 2017

Rating: 5/5

"This is getting second compost bin that I have bought from primrose. Really pleased with it."

Reviewed Thursday, 12 January 2017

Rating: 5/5

"I'm not DIY-friendly, and it took me ages to assemble, had to borrow a drill in the end as I broke 2 screwdrivers trying to fix pieces of wood together. I didn't bang the pieces home hard enough (the video doesn't emphasise this) and ended up with a wonky look. Then realised I'd got the spacing wrong so had to dismantle it all and start from scratch. Someone with DIY savvy will take two shakes of a lamb's tail though, I'm sure. I'm very proud of the end result and wish I'd bought 2."

Reviewed Friday, 18 November 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Compost bins fine but Aerator (see below) not arrived yet"

Reviewed Thursday, 29 September 2016

Rating: 5/5

"brilliant, 3rd one we've bought"

Reviewed Tuesday, 20 September 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Product as expected."

Reviewed Sunday, 21 August 2016

Rating: 5/5

"So far it seems to be working. Put together relatively well. Will be interesting to see how it ages."

Reviewed Thursday, 4 August 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 15 June 2016

Rating: 4/5

"It was fairly straightforward to assemble once I download the instructions from the website as it didn't come with any. Perhaps it they should be included with the item."

Reviewed Saturday, 14 May 2016

Rating: 4/5

"A great design, but some of the slots on the side pieces were broken. Easy to assemble"

Reviewed Sunday, 1 May 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Good value for money. Bought three, look good"

Reviewed Sunday, 24 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"good enough for a compost bin, timber a bit wet on arrival but will get wet in use anyway. a bit of thinking to sort out assembly instructions, but OK. Good value for purpose."

Reviewed Wednesday, 13 April 2016

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 27 March 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Some of the slats broke as the compost bin was being put together - and it would be useful to have some proper instructions! It was very difficult to screw in the side pieces that were needed to hold the front upright."

Reviewed Thursday, 18 February 2016

Rating: 5/5

"The screw packaging is not good. Luckily the screws had stuck to the tape so ok. It is the flimsy bag the screws are suppose to be in that are too thin and insecure. The side supports need to be about 2" longer. You do not realise this until you secure the top side pieces."

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 February 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good for the price but the slotted design means that the wood easily splits and some end s and corners fell off."

Reviewed Monday, 14 September 2015

Rating: 4/5

"the product is well conceived, but the wood was wet,bent and did fit without some pieces breaking"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 September 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Some pieces damaged probably due to poor packaging and careless handling by courier."

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Similar comment to others, I think. Timber id ok for a compost bin, although the assembly instructions were poor - you need to think it through as you go. I would buy another one if I needed to."

Reviewed Sunday, 19 July 2015

Rating: 5/5

"So far very good. I ope it will help improve my garden"

Reviewed Friday, 10 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bin was not easy to assemble but when it was it looked good and seems to hold the compost well so far"

Reviewed Sunday, 5 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The instructions were a shade terse and 3 pieces had broken slots that I had to fix using screws."

Reviewed Sunday, 28 June 2015

Rating: 2/5

"While the bin is potentially a good product, the quality of the wood used, and the workmanship, leave something to be desired. It is not easy to get the pieces to fit together firmly, meaning that the gaps between the slats are too large. I bought two bins and there was a significant difference in height when I made them up. had to take the first one apart and re-do it."

Reviewed Thursday, 11 June 2015

Rating: 5/5

"It provides the space that you need for all the garden refuse. Easy!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 9 June 2015

Rating: 5/5

"I bought a wooden composter which was excellent value"

Reviewed Saturday, 6 June 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 31 May 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Great product. Easy to put together. Took less than an hour to do two. Perfect for the job. The front slats make loading easy."

Reviewed Saturday, 23 May 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Very pleased with the compost bin, just what we had been looking for at a good price."

Reviewed Monday, 18 May 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Quite easy to assemble once I'd figured out the instructions - what's wrong with a few words to help explain? There seems no good reason why the two side pieces are so short, and an extra five centimetres would not cost much! I like the design though I don't know how the notched front pieces will stand up to being knocked out and back in again over the years - one ear has already split off. Be warned that even the small size is heavy. I put my first of two together in the garage and it was an awkward lift up some steps into the back garden. I part assembled the second one and finished it off on site."

Reviewed Saturday, 9 May 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Wee bit flimsy but easy enough to assemble and does the job"

Reviewed Saturday, 2 May 2015

Rating: 2/5

"The kit arrived very quickly, but one important part was broken. I had to 'bodge' the lowest level of the bin in order to construct it. Rather disappointing."

Reviewed Tuesday, 7 April 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Delighted with box only one I could find which had slats which could easily be removed for emptying. Looks good and was easy to assemble."

Reviewed Sunday, 29 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Much better than the plastic bins - allows aeration and access to turn - and looks more natural"

Reviewed Friday, 27 March 2015

Rating: 5/5

"great value for money- easy to put together- very happy thank you"

Reviewed Thursday, 26 March 2015

Rating: 2/5

"I did not expect to have to borrow a heavy duty cordless screwdriver in order to put the bin together! The instructions were laughable they were so inadequate and the side pieces of timber to hold the structure together, were not long enough, nor were the slats used as spacers, thick enough! I did manage eventually to cobble it together but only because I have a design background and applied that!!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Compost bin arrived in good condition, I have not put together yet"

Reviewed Monday, 23 March 2015

Rating: 2/5

"As above"

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 5/5

"For the price, the compost bin is very good. The wood is pressure treated so should last ok. Assembly was straightforward although I think I was a couple of screws short - may have lost them though."

Reviewed Wednesday, 11 March 2015

Rating: 1/5

"Three of the slats were broken ie at the groovs."

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good except difficult to get the slats out when trying to load."

Reviewed Saturday, 31 January 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 25 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Difficult to rate a very rustic product. There were no shortages or breakages and instructions were clear."

Reviewed Sunday, 23 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 15 November 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Friday, 31 October 2014

Rating: 1/5

"The compost pieces were wet and mouldy with thick black and green mould inside the polythene wrapping. Two prices were broken (just small bits on the end)."

Reviewed Monday, 13 October 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Wednesday, 8 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 6 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"BUTÖthe little bag containing the screws had split so the screws had fallen out. I have only recovered 12 so far. I can't comment on the bin as I haven't put it up yet and probably won't until the spring."

Reviewed Saturday, 4 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 2 October 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 September 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Good bin. Straightforward assembly. Looks so much nicer than a plastic compost bin. We have put an insulating lid on top, using some spare materials we had."

Reviewed Monday, 25 August 2014

Rating: 5/5

"A plus"

Reviewed Sunday, 24 August 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Just what we wanted for compost bins (we bought 2 to fit side by side in a very awkward sized space) and brilliant value for money. Easy to construct and no problems with splitting wood or missing screws as has been reported before."

Reviewed Monday, 18 August 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Overall a good product. The three I bought did not have the problem of being sodden throughout on arrival experienced by others, although some of the wood was wet. Many of the slots were poorly machined and the finished bins do not sit with their tops horizontal as the backs compress down whereas following the instructions the fronts are spaced and screwed. Perhaps the backs should be assembled this way too - it would only take a couple more pieces of wood and some screws. But once in place nobody really notices and they are only compost bins after all."

Reviewed Sunday, 10 August 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Good quality thick wood"

Reviewed Thursday, 7 August 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to assemble and just what we wanted."

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"The compost box is good and easy to assemble but I think it would be fair to let purchasers know that they will need to drill their own holes. This wasn't a problem for me but some might struggle. It would also be good to include some hints and tips on composting in this type of box as many people are beginners and don't understand the different methods of composting. Thanks"

Reviewed Friday, 18 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 13 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"For the money it was excellent needed a little rubbing down in place but excellent value for money."

Reviewed Sunday, 13 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Screws missing. Wood damp and joints not fitting"

Reviewed Sunday, 13 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"The instructions were slightly inaccurate and a couple of the parts were damaged but it did not stop me from building the compost bin which works well."

Reviewed Sunday, 6 July 2014

Rating: 2/5

"As I have started to put the pieces together some of them have broken off, In addition the building is not nearly as simple as it appeared."

Reviewed Monday, 30 June 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Wood was quite green but all fitted together well and does the job."

Reviewed Monday, 30 June 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Very poorly cut wood. Does not fit together well. Very disappointed."

Reviewed Sunday, 29 June 2014

Rating: 5/5

"absolutely perfect, incredible value for money, easy to construct"

Reviewed Sunday, 29 June 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Wood was soaking wet and mouldy when delivered, has had to be painted twice before use, and the pieces of wood to screw into were a bit short."

Reviewed Thursday, 19 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Love the bins, service very goof"

Reviewed Saturday, 14 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"The wood inside the packaging was very wet and showed signs of mould, but dried out once it was opened up."

Reviewed Sunday, 18 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Despite past feedback, it seems that little action has been taken to correct previous criticisms. I also received wood which was covered in mould, joinery which didn't fit, causing the wood to split when trying to carefully hammer the pieces together, and instructions which were too basic. However, with patience and the right tools, I was able to assemble the whole thing in under an hour and it looks fine. Also, I don't think I would find all these materials ready to assemble for £21.99 including a 15-year guarantee against rot anywhere else so it is definitely a bargain."

Reviewed Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"The wood isn't that strong and kept breaking when hammering it all together. I cannot see it lasting that long to be honest"

Reviewed Monday, 12 May 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Very easy to put together and a good size for a small garden."

Reviewed Monday, 12 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble, looks very neat, exactly right for the job. Good value for money."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 April 2014

Rating: 5/5

"easy to put together, just the right size for my plot, good value for money, very quick delivery"

Reviewed Tuesday, 29 April 2014

Rating: 5/5

"I'm delighted with this product. So much easier to use than the old "dalek" shaped composter I was using"

Reviewed Tuesday, 29 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Wood damp, which may have been why it was hard to get some slats to fit together. Someone had gone to the trouble of stapling an empty bag to the wood, rather than stapling a bag of screws - which didn't help construction either. But end result works okay."

Reviewed Sunday, 20 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good product"

Reviewed Sunday, 20 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"As expected from reading other reviews, the compost bins arrived very wet but went together easily. A couple of slots hadn't been properly cut in the wood, but this was easily sorted out."

Reviewed Sunday, 20 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Really solid piece of woodwork. The removable front slats are a bit tight, but can be eased. One load of lawn mowings & a bit of food waste so far, so will have to wait to see if it works!"

Reviewed Sunday, 13 April 2014

Rating: 2/5

"I expected an "easy to assemble" item with parts which could simply be slotted into place. However parts had to be screwed together; screws were provided but no holes. This makes it a workshop job, requiring space, tools and a degree of expertise. I would not purchase this item again."

Reviewed Sunday, 13 April 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 April 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 29 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 17 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"good product"

Reviewed Thursday, 13 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to erect and quickly in use. Good value."

Reviewed Tuesday, 11 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Wednesday, 5 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 2 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"I am so pleased with this. Very good price and easy to assemble (at least it was for my husband!) For me it looks much more natural than the bin idea - much more in line with what we had in the garden when I was a child 60 years ago!!"

Reviewed Sunday, 2 March 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Two out of the three packages arrived very wet, and on assembly, some of slats were swollen and were a very tight fit and broke. The vertical panels could have been longer, since they barely reached a quarter of the way up the top slats."

Reviewed Friday, 14 February 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Quite easy to put together, though it might be helpful to state immediately the tools required ( I was already in the garden when I read the leaflet). Any chance of pre-drilled holes to facilitate construction?"

Reviewed Monday, 3 February 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Only issue is wood would have to be treated"

Reviewed Friday, 31 January 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Friday, 31 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"time will tell how it lasts, but interesting design"

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 January 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Looks great with the natural wood and effective as both storage and to use."

Reviewed Wednesday, 22 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A few broken ends, but not enough to worry about - went together easily. Make sure all the joints are properly secured - I used a lump hammer!"

Reviewed Sunday, 19 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 23 December 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The wooden compost bin was covered in smelly mould, the inside of the plastic cover was very damp."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 December 2013

Rating: 5/5

"good quality"

Reviewed Monday, 2 December 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Several side panels had bits broken off, but it has not affected how it will be used. The instructions were completely sodden, and I only just managed to retrieve them in a readable condition. Overall the product looks to be very good."

Reviewed Thursday, 28 November 2013

Rating: 5/5

"By leaving the front bars out I was able to "WALK" the bin down the garden to its site Bin is now in full use after two coats of fence guard over your own dip coat. Wood was very wet did you float this Pack down river !! --TOP SERVICE"

Reviewed Friday, 22 November 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Although the instructions were scant, but the units were easy to put together by my self without help from my husband. Thankyou, excellent design. I have bought 2!."

Reviewed Thursday, 7 November 2013

Rating: 5/5

"The product was easy to assemble, and lived up exactly to its description."

Reviewed Monday, 4 November 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good quality for price easy enough to assemble just lay things out in order and follow instructions I am just an average D.I.Y. person"

Reviewed Friday, 1 November 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 October 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Reasonable value for money and fairly easy to assembe"

Reviewed Monday, 7 October 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Exactly met my needs. Well made, well packed for delivery."

Reviewed Sunday, 6 October 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Very good product - easy to assemble and does the job perfectly"

Reviewed Sunday, 29 September 2013

Rating: 5/5

"I am so pleased with my composting bin. It was easy to assemble, only took about 20 minutes. One comment, it would have been useful to have has holes drilled in for the screws. Although it was easy to screw the screws in, wood has a habit of splitting if not pre-drilled. For a small bin, it has been used to put a lot of waste in, with plenty of space to spare!"

Reviewed Monday, 16 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"This is the second of these compost bins that I have bought. The construction is a bit tricky since the instructions that come with it are poor. However, having put one together the problem has now been solved."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Poor quality. Wet and mouldy. Ordered two, only one came with screws. Front cut outs where slats rest mostly broke off when putting together and I wasn't heavy handed at all. The uprights for the sides are a little too short so I bulked up with extra ones to make more sturdy. Having said that I would buy again as they still work well, look great and best priced wooden bin I could find. I made a liner for them from old pond liner as the compost would be to dry left unlined."

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"I don't think it was particularly easy to assemble and the instructions were too basic and hard to see. We had to use wood glue to mend areas that broke off whilst hammering it together and had trouble with the spacing between the slats. We are however pleased with the end result but feel that more advise on assembling a good version of this product would be helpful for others."

Reviewed Saturday, 17 August 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Cuts in components inaccurate so modification necessary ,piece broke off in construction"

Reviewed Monday, 12 August 2013

Rating: 2/5

"some bits of wood are warped - the whole thing is very wobbly unless screwed together but no screws or screw holes are provided - other than that it does at least hold the garden refuse together in one place - not a product I would recommend."

Reviewed Sunday, 4 August 2013

Rating: 5/5

"The compost bin is very good. Slightly tricky to put together as instruction sheet not as clear as it could be. A power screwdriver is essential."

Reviewed Sunday, 4 August 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to put together. Just the right size for my small allotment."

Reviewed Sunday, 30 June 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Well made and does the job."

Reviewed Monday, 24 June 2013

Rating: 2/5

"I have never seen a product so bad.. it looks nothing like the pictures on the website. The wood is green, warped and bent which makes it difficult to put together. It arrived without any screws so had to go out and buy some. The concept is a good idea but unfortunately the end product lets it down badly. Saying that though, a compost bin is just a bin!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Ideal for a smaller garden. Sturdy and look good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 11 June 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Good value. A bit worried as the wood was wet and green, so hope it lasts"

Reviewed Saturday, 4 May 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Saturday, 27 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"easy to put together"

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 April 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Wood was green with mould. Wood has gone soft and parts of the compost bin fell off as we assembled it. Sadly disappointed as the concept is great but the materials are poor."

Reviewed Saturday, 6 April 2013

Rating: 5/5

"As described and very easy to construct, Very happy with this product"

Reviewed Tuesday, 2 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 March 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Really pleased with this product."

Reviewed Thursday, 21 March 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent design and straightforward to assemble. Would highly recommend this product."

Reviewed Friday, 8 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 10 December 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Only criticism is that the slats on the front seem very stiff to remove. I would probably need a hammer. Otherwise, as expected."

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 December 2012

Rating: 4/5

"When assemble fine but fiddly building. Would. Have helped had screws Bremen included!"

Reviewed Sunday, 11 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Rating: 2/5

"No instructions, bin difficult to construct as joints did not fit. The "easy load" feature of the bin would not work as the joints so tight they needed to be knocked in with a mallet. We have had to widen them to allow front slats to be removed to load or unload bin."

Reviewed Friday, 12 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble, tho' would advise that 2 people are required as well as use of an electric screw driver. Great compost bin for price. Bought two for rotation."

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 September 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Exactly what I wanted. Suits its purpose and looks fine. Good value for money."

Reviewed Monday, 17 September 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Bit complicated to make up but good value for money. One end got broken in transit which meant we had to cobble one corner, probably should have returned it but then its only a compost!!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 12 September 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Pretty good value for money. Easy to construct. I like the way front slats can be removed to give access to the compost at the bottom of the heap."

Reviewed Monday, 10 September 2012

Rating: 3/5

"Some of the components to the compost bin I ordered had broken in transit. When I reported it to your staff they were very quick to help."

Reviewed Sunday, 8 April 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Purchase and delivery service was excellent, however the product was well made but difficult to assemble, not enough detailed instructions. I now realise that it can only work well if it is placed upon perfectly level ground, which is rare in most gardens, even then found the front slats do not fit easily and cannot be easily removed. I purchased two and have only assembled one for threasons stated. I will persevere as I feel the design in principle is good. could do with slightly longer side vertical timbers and more screws to ensure better rigidity. Having said all that, I will probably purchase more of your range at some time"

Reviewed Monday, 2 April 2012

Rating: 3/5

"two man job to put together and you need an drill which I do not have do not recall reading either of the above points in the purchase summary"

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"I bought this composter to go alongside the one I bought last year so that I can get rotation. I have a large garden with three lawns."

Reviewed Tuesday, 6 March 2012

Rating: 3/5

"A piece of wood was broken off from an end but I glued it on before assembling. Several of the joints needed to be sandpapered before they cold be assembled accurately. I am hoping that when it is in use it will be fit for purpose..... Thank you."

Reviewed Saturday, 11 February 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Will not know result of my purchase which was a Christmas Present for a Grandson. However I have no doubt the item will prove a success.If not I will surely hear !! A.J.Welch "

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 December 2011

Rating: 4/5

"very easy to assemble. good size to suit us as have a allotment for the first time. easy to transport in the car."

Reviewed Sunday, 4 December 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Firstly it wasn't delivered and left where I asked it to be left but the staff at Primrose were helpful and sent me another one but I received 2! Putting the composter together wasn't easy and needed a lot of hammering to get it to slot together. Now it is complete it is lovely and looks good in my garden. The spare composter is being retrned free and this has been sorted out by Primrose very eficiently."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 November 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Very happy with the product. Easy to put together (with two people), looks great and does the job. Very happy! "

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 July 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to build and sturdy once built."

Reviewed Sunday, 3 July 2011

Rating: 4/5

"The three compost bins are now erected and ready to receive the garden and kitchen waste although it will be a little time before all three are 'cooking' Assembly was easy and the last one only took about ten minutes to erect. The only slight defect was two of the angled slots at the front had small pieces split off but not sufficient to render them unusable. Product abd service both highly satisfactory "

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"It was exactly the type of compost container that I wanted, so I purchased two recently, having had a similar pair for many years. However when the re-moveable slats were put in place, they fitted so tightly that I would never have managed to pull them out when the time came to empty the compost. I had to cut slightly larger grooves in each strip of wood in order to remedy this problem. I would recommend constructing the containers near to where you want to place them as it was very heavy and difficult work to carry them down to the bottom of the garden after erecting them! I am sure that they will give me many years of valuable service though."

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"My compost bin arrived promptly and I found it very easy to assemble. So far I've decanted the compost from my old bin into the new one and am adding peelings etc daily. It is in the same place as the old, by a fence that backs onto a small copse. I had masses of brandlings in the old bin so expect to have the same in the new one. A book I have suggests that this type of bin would benefit from some insulation around it to keep the contents warm. If this is the case it might be an idea to suggest it in your instructions. It might be of help to those customers new to compost making. I have looked at your website and am impressed with it and also your customer service. Many thanks Sue Cruh"

Reviewed Friday, 17 June 2011

Rating: 3/5

"We are still waiting for the composters to arrive so can't rate them. Primrose-any idea when they're likely to turn up?"

Reviewed Thursday, 9 June 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Delivered on time , although some screws were missing .Instructions were okay but not perfect for an alligned asthetically pleasing product . This is cheap and for what you get good value "

Reviewed Sunday, 5 June 2011

Rating: 3/5

"The initial delivery lacked not only screws (corrected by post the next day after some persuasion!) but also it transpired 12 pieces of wood of one design and two of another in both of the packs ordered. Having gone through the details twice of what was missing and needed sending, 2 completely new packs were sent but what a waste of money - clearly the company needs to review its dispatch checking systems etc. Also surprised and disappointed that the two uprights did not already have pilot holes drilled to accept the 14 screws. Overall very disappointed and being late in final delivery I couln't assemble them when I had the time to do so they are still waiting "

Reviewed Friday, 3 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"A couple of minor problems:- 1. Five of the side pieces were damaged on receipt. The corners on the lower part of the angled slot had broken off during transit. Four pieces were in the packaging so I glued these into place. 2.I found the removable slats at the front to be a very tight fit and considered this may be a problem when I needed to remove them. I therefore made a shallow groove on each of the front slats to make a push fit. Despite the above, I consider this to be a brilliant product and brilliant design and very good value. Can't wait for spring next year when I can push out the compost from the top, as against being on my knees for a couple of hours with a long handled fork,trowel,shovel etc.to get to the back as in previous years."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 June 2011

Rating: 3/5

"Delivered promptly. Very easy to assemble - helped by my 2 year old! Wood was quite wet so fairly swollen and growing surface mould but should dry out and any problems with tight joints I would hope will resolve - or it may not be an easy load bin anymore. Overall i am happy as it was a very much cheaper option than any others I could find. I'm sure it will serve me well for many years and looks very tidy. "

Reviewed Thursday, 12 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"The Easy-Load Wooden Compost Bin is just the best solution possible. It is quickly assembled and the construction allows an easy turning of the compost as well."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Just the job, looks good, easy to put together and delivery the next day"

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"The composting bin is excellent, easy to up together.Deliver very good"

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to put together but the opening had some broken end pieces where the wood had broken off (due to the cut along the grain). The opening slats are also very tight so that I had to shave off some wood to ease removal. Doubtful about such a wide gap in the opening end slats but time will tell."

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Swift delivery, the items arrived as expected. Many thanks from a happy customer."

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"great...delivery fast.....built fine thanks"

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Really impressed, great value, went together very easily. I modified the front slats so that they could easily be slid out as they were a very tight fit and would have been difficult to remove for emptying when the bin was full."

Reviewed Saturday, 11 December 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Great - arrived quickly, easy to put together (although some instructions would have helped us get started). Looks good and does the job."

Reviewed Monday, 29 November 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Heavy - solid construction - easy to put together"

Reviewed Sunday, 21 November 2010

Rating: 3/5

"disappointed that there were no pre-drilled holes wonder how realistic the removal of slats will be - they were mighty stiff to insert!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 10 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Thanks for the prompt delivery. The item was relatively easy to put together. Some of the pieces (which slot together) didn't do so easily, particularly the bits which are removable for easy loading and unloading, but that's not a problem as they hold well enough to hold in the compost. Best was that they are the only ones I have found that are longer that wide and fit the only place I have to put them perfectly."

Reviewed Monday, 8 November 2010

Rating: 3/5

"It seems quite good but having only just put it together it is difficult to comment on its effectiveness. However it was disappointing to find the ends of several of the slots for the front slats broken off - they are manageable but it is a bit annoying. And the tight fit will probably make the front slats difficult to remove when the time comes so they are only pushed into the slots a little way. Also the 2 side planks are too short and there is only space to screw in 5 levels and not 6 if one uses a front slat as a spacer between each level as instructed."

Reviewed Friday, 29 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"For the most part the structure was satisfactory. I do have an issue however with the vertical pillars on either side. These proved to be undersized. As a result I was unable to fix the top side rails. You will appreciate that the structure remains unfinished. This is not a complaint merely an observation. After all the product is probably still worth the cost. There simply remains a feeling that the bin didn't quite do what it said on the tin. "

Reviewed Wednesday, 20 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bin was delivered promptly and was easy to instal. It remains to be seen how good it is a compost heap, but pleased so far."

Reviewed Thursday, 14 October 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Received very quickly and all items as expected Thank you!"

Reviewed Sunday, 10 October 2010

Rating: 5/5

"These were a gift to my son as he and his family moved into a new home. I have seen photographs of them constructed in position and heard no complaints about any part of the process. Only time will tell how they work as composters. "

Reviewed Sunday, 19 September 2010

Rating: 3/5

"The compost bin was easy to assemble and very functional - more attractive than the plastic type and the front slats are useful if loading with a barrow. Unfortunately the flat pack must have been sitting in a yard for some time as the wood was very damp and fungus could be seen growing on the wood - I'm not too bothered by that though it was a little disappointing."

Reviewed Saturday, 11 September 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Superb service from Primrose, delivered within 24 hours and an absolutely brilliantly designed compost bin. It is sooo much more attractive than the black plastic composter I had before. Easy to assemble, I got it up and running in less than half an hour."

Reviewed Monday, 6 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to put together. The contents were very wet when they arrived though. A good size and easy to use."

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The two compost bins had been packed wet. One was assembled almost on arrival without difficulties. Second one not unpacked and assembled for a week by which time the slots for the bars on the front of the bin had swollen to such an extent that they had to be hammered into place and I needed to enlarge some of the slots to make them fit. Since then the timber of both bins has swollen to such an extent that the front slotted timbers can now only be removed with heavy hammering. Suggest you increase the tollerances."

Reviewed Sunday, 29 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Hi I was very satisfied with my purchase and will buy again from Primrose. Thank you Joseph Scott "

Reviewed Saturday, 28 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"Joints for front removable slats are too tight. Also, wood too brittle, craks/splits too easily. Delivery/Carrier company should be able to phone when they're about to deliver. Just turning up on the chance a customer will be in is not good practice these days."

Reviewed Thursday, 19 August 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Delivery was incredibly fast. The item was exactly as described. "

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 July 2010