Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.1/5
203 reviews
Rating: 4/5

"Bin was as described and was fairly simple to assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 25 December 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Great product. Assembly instructions a bit basic"

Reviewed Monday, 12 November 2018

Rating: 4/5

"I've already told you my view."

Reviewed Sunday, 14 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Pleased with the compost bins."

Reviewed Monday, 6 August 2018

Rating: 4/5

"I am very happy with this but would have liked better info on assembly. I did read the linked assembly instructions, but they are not as detailed as they could be."

Reviewed Saturday, 19 May 2018

Rating: 4/5

"The design of these compost bins is good, although the side supports could be an inch or two longer. Assembly was straightforward and relatively easy with two of us doing the job. the wood was very wet when it arrived so we let it dry out well before attempting assembly which meant it fitted together reasonably well. However 5 of the side boards were split or completely broken off where the notch is cut into them so that they don't hold the front boards securely"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 May 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Really useful if only have a small space"

Reviewed Wednesday, 11 April 2018

Rating: 4/5

"good product easy to assemble"

Reviewed Monday, 5 March 2018

Rating: 4/5

"NO INSTRUCTIONS WERE INCLUDED FOR ASSEMBLY"

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 July 2017

Rating: 4/5

"I'd read the other reviews, so I knew what to expect. Yes, the wood was on the damp side, and it was mouldy in places. But it's a cheap item for what it is and I have no doubt it'll last a good few yrs. I used a mallet to fit them together, at the back2 corners, wasn't too tight to slot in the front slats-didn't push them all the way in-no need. Much improved from my plastic bins in size, economy of space (same area at the top as at the bottom) and appearance. I bought 3 and made them into 2 at 1.5 x height which fits my space better. Really pleased ????"

Reviewed Sunday, 9 April 2017

Rating: 4/5

"No instructions how to put the bins together made it difficult"

Reviewed Sunday, 2 April 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Product as expected."

Reviewed Sunday, 21 August 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 15 June 2016

Rating: 4/5

"It was fairly straightforward to assemble once I download the instructions from the website as it didn't come with any. Perhaps it they should be included with the item."

Reviewed Saturday, 14 May 2016

Rating: 4/5

"A great design, but some of the slots on the side pieces were broken. Easy to assemble"

Reviewed Sunday, 1 May 2016

Rating: 4/5

"good enough for a compost bin, timber a bit wet on arrival but will get wet in use anyway. a bit of thinking to sort out assembly instructions, but OK. Good value for purpose."

Reviewed Wednesday, 13 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good for the price but the slotted design means that the wood easily splits and some end s and corners fell off."

Reviewed Monday, 14 September 2015

Rating: 4/5

"the product is well conceived, but the wood was wet,bent and did fit without some pieces breaking"

Reviewed Sunday, 6 September 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Some pieces damaged probably due to poor packaging and careless handling by courier."

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Similar comment to others, I think. Timber id ok for a compost bin, although the assembly instructions were poor - you need to think it through as you go. I would buy another one if I needed to."

Reviewed Sunday, 19 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bin was not easy to assemble but when it was it looked good and seems to hold the compost well so far"

Reviewed Sunday, 5 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The instructions were a shade terse and 3 pieces had broken slots that I had to fix using screws."

Reviewed Sunday, 28 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Wee bit flimsy but easy enough to assemble and does the job"

Reviewed Saturday, 2 May 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Much better than the plastic bins - allows aeration and access to turn - and looks more natural"

Reviewed Friday, 27 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Compost bin arrived in good condition, I have not put together yet"

Reviewed Monday, 23 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good except difficult to get the slats out when trying to load."

Reviewed Saturday, 31 January 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 25 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Difficult to rate a very rustic product. There were no shortages or breakages and instructions were clear."

Reviewed Sunday, 23 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 15 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 6 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"BUT…the little bag containing the screws had split so the screws had fallen out. I have only recovered 12 so far. I can't comment on the bin as I haven't put it up yet and probably won't until the spring."

Reviewed Saturday, 4 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 2 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Overall a good product. The three I bought did not have the problem of being sodden throughout on arrival experienced by others, although some of the wood was wet. Many of the slots were poorly machined and the finished bins do not sit with their tops horizontal as the backs compress down whereas following the instructions the fronts are spaced and screwed. Perhaps the backs should be assembled this way too - it would only take a couple more pieces of wood and some screws. But once in place nobody really notices and they are only compost bins after all."

Reviewed Sunday, 10 August 2014

Rating: 4/5

"The compost box is good and easy to assemble but I think it would be fair to let purchasers know that they will need to drill their own holes. This wasn't a problem for me but some might struggle. It would also be good to include some hints and tips on composting in this type of box as many people are beginners and don't understand the different methods of composting. Thanks"

Reviewed Friday, 18 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 13 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"For the money it was excellent needed a little rubbing down in place but excellent value for money."

Reviewed Sunday, 13 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"The instructions were slightly inaccurate and a couple of the parts were damaged but it did not stop me from building the compost bin which works well."

Reviewed Sunday, 6 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Love the bins, service very goof"

Reviewed Saturday, 14 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"The wood inside the packaging was very wet and showed signs of mould, but dried out once it was opened up."

Reviewed Sunday, 18 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Despite past feedback, it seems that little action has been taken to correct previous criticisms. I also received wood which was covered in mould, joinery which didn't fit, causing the wood to split when trying to carefully hammer the pieces together, and instructions which were too basic. However, with patience and the right tools, I was able to assemble the whole thing in under an hour and it looks fine. Also, I don't think I would find all these materials ready to assemble for £21.99 including a 15-year guarantee against rot anywhere else so it is definitely a bargain."

Reviewed Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble, looks very neat, exactly right for the job. Good value for money."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Wood damp, which may have been why it was hard to get some slats to fit together. Someone had gone to the trouble of stapling an empty bag to the wood, rather than stapling a bag of screws - which didn't help construction either. But end result works okay."

Reviewed Sunday, 20 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good product"

Reviewed Sunday, 20 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"As expected from reading other reviews, the compost bins arrived very wet but went together easily. A couple of slots hadn't been properly cut in the wood, but this was easily sorted out."

Reviewed Sunday, 20 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Really solid piece of woodwork. The removable front slats are a bit tight, but can be eased. One load of lawn mowings & a bit of food waste so far, so will have to wait to see if it works!"

Reviewed Sunday, 13 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 29 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 17 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Sunday, 2 March 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Quite easy to put together, though it might be helpful to state immediately the tools required ( I was already in the garden when I read the leaflet). Any chance of pre-drilled holes to facilitate construction?"

Reviewed Monday, 3 February 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Only issue is wood would have to be treated"

Reviewed Friday, 31 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"time will tell how it lasts, but interesting design"

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A few broken ends, but not enough to worry about - went together easily. Make sure all the joints are properly secured - I used a lump hammer!"

Reviewed Sunday, 19 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 23 December 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Several side panels had bits broken off, but it has not affected how it will be used. The instructions were completely sodden, and I only just managed to retrieve them in a readable condition. Overall the product looks to be very good."

Reviewed Thursday, 28 November 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good quality for price easy enough to assemble just lay things out in order and follow instructions I am just an average D.I.Y. person"

Reviewed Friday, 1 November 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 23 October 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Reasonable value for money and fairly easy to assembe"

Reviewed Monday, 7 October 2013

Rating: 4/5

"This is the second of these compost bins that I have bought. The construction is a bit tricky since the instructions that come with it are poor. However, having put one together the problem has now been solved."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Poor quality. Wet and mouldy. Ordered two, only one came with screws. Front cut outs where slats rest mostly broke off when putting together and I wasn't heavy handed at all. The uprights for the sides are a little too short so I bulked up with extra ones to make more sturdy. Having said that I would buy again as they still work well, look great and best priced wooden bin I could find. I made a liner for them from old pond liner as the compost would be to dry left unlined."

Reviewed Tuesday, 3 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"I don't think it was particularly easy to assemble and the instructions were too basic and hard to see. We had to use wood glue to mend areas that broke off whilst hammering it together and had trouble with the spacing between the slats. We are however pleased with the end result but feel that more advise on assembling a good version of this product would be helpful for others."

Reviewed Saturday, 17 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"easy to put together"

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 10 December 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Only criticism is that the slats on the front seem very stiff to remove. I would probably need a hammer. Otherwise, as expected."

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 December 2012

Rating: 4/5

"When assemble fine but fiddly building. Would. Have helped had screws Bremen included!"

Reviewed Sunday, 11 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble, tho' would advise that 2 people are required as well as use of an electric screw driver. Great compost bin for price. Bought two for rotation."

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 September 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Bit complicated to make up but good value for money. One end got broken in transit which meant we had to cobble one corner, probably should have returned it but then its only a compost!!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 12 September 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Pretty good value for money. Easy to construct. I like the way front slats can be removed to give access to the compost at the bottom of the heap."

Reviewed Monday, 10 September 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Purchase and delivery service was excellent, however the product was well made but difficult to assemble, not enough detailed instructions. I now realise that it can only work well if it is placed upon perfectly level ground, which is rare in most gardens, even then found the front slats do not fit easily and cannot be easily removed. I purchased two and have only assembled one for threasons stated. I will persevere as I feel the design in principle is good. could do with slightly longer side vertical timbers and more screws to ensure better rigidity. Having said all that, I will probably purchase more of your range at some time"

Reviewed Monday, 2 April 2012

Rating: 4/5

"I bought this composter to go alongside the one I bought last year so that I can get rotation. I have a large garden with three lawns."

Reviewed Tuesday, 6 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"very easy to assemble. good size to suit us as have a allotment for the first time. easy to transport in the car."

Reviewed Sunday, 4 December 2011

Rating: 4/5

"The three compost bins are now erected and ready to receive the garden and kitchen waste although it will be a little time before all three are 'cooking' Assembly was easy and the last one only took about ten minutes to erect. The only slight defect was two of the angled slots at the front had small pieces split off but not sufficient to render them unusable. Product abd service both highly satisfactory "

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"It was exactly the type of compost container that I wanted, so I purchased two recently, having had a similar pair for many years. However when the re-moveable slats were put in place, they fitted so tightly that I would never have managed to pull them out when the time came to empty the compost. I had to cut slightly larger grooves in each strip of wood in order to remedy this problem. I would recommend constructing the containers near to where you want to place them as it was very heavy and difficult work to carry them down to the bottom of the garden after erecting them! I am sure that they will give me many years of valuable service though."

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to put together but the opening had some broken end pieces where the wood had broken off (due to the cut along the grain). The opening slats are also very tight so that I had to shave off some wood to ease removal. Doubtful about such a wide gap in the opening end slats but time will tell."

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"great...delivery fast.....built fine thanks"

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Really impressed, great value, went together very easily. I modified the front slats so that they could easily be slid out as they were a very tight fit and would have been difficult to remove for emptying when the bin was full."

Reviewed Saturday, 11 December 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Thanks for the prompt delivery. The item was relatively easy to put together. Some of the pieces (which slot together) didn't do so easily, particularly the bits which are removable for easy loading and unloading, but that's not a problem as they hold well enough to hold in the compost. Best was that they are the only ones I have found that are longer that wide and fit the only place I have to put them perfectly."

Reviewed Monday, 8 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"For the most part the structure was satisfactory. I do have an issue however with the vertical pillars on either side. These proved to be undersized. As a result I was unable to fix the top side rails. You will appreciate that the structure remains unfinished. This is not a complaint merely an observation. After all the product is probably still worth the cost. There simply remains a feeling that the bin didn't quite do what it said on the tin. "

Reviewed Wednesday, 20 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bin was delivered promptly and was easy to instal. It remains to be seen how good it is a compost heap, but pleased so far."

Reviewed Thursday, 14 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to put together. The contents were very wet when they arrived though. A good size and easy to use."

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"The two compost bins had been packed wet. One was assembled almost on arrival without difficulties. Second one not unpacked and assembled for a week by which time the slots for the bars on the front of the bin had swollen to such an extent that they had to be hammered into place and I needed to enlarge some of the slots to make them fit. Since then the timber of both bins has swollen to such an extent that the front slotted timbers can now only be removed with heavy hammering. Suggest you increase the tollerances."

Reviewed Sunday, 29 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Hi I was very satisfied with my purchase and will buy again from Primrose. Thank you Joseph Scott "

Reviewed Saturday, 28 August 2010