Customer Reviews

Average Rating

4.0/5
196 reviews
Rating: 2/5

"Poor design - difficult to assemble. The online instructions are not straightforward and require revision. However it does serve the purpose once assembled."

Reviewed Thursday, 7 June 2018

Rating: 2/5

"Many of the wooden junction sections were broken and could not interlock; thus, the construction had to be made secure by other means. Yes the items were inexpensive but at approx 40 they should be fit for purpose."

Reviewed Monday, 20 March 2017

Rating: 2/5

"No packaging - the pieces of wood only banded together with damage to the slats and loss of screws. No response to my Complaints email. No assembly instructions either. These had to be downloaded."

Reviewed Monday, 27 February 2017

Rating: 2/5

"The bin components arrived very wet and when unpacked small corners fell off making fitting more difficult."

Reviewed Friday, 17 February 2017

Rating: 2/5

"Some of the planks had split which needed more screws when assembled to strengthen the structure."

Reviewed Tuesday, 22 November 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Well, the product itself is somewhat rotten, and it's not had anything in it yet!"

Reviewed Sunday, 23 October 2016

Rating: 2/5

"When the package was opened half of the screws were missing."

Reviewed Wednesday, 16 March 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Disappointed that number of ends of slats damaged in package- suggest not courier or package but in manufacture."

Reviewed Tuesday, 9 February 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Joints splitting when TAPPED together - Cheap product but not great quality - would help if a simple A4 of assembly instruction was attached to package"

Reviewed Friday, 11 December 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Two compost bins - one with instructions but no screws, the other with screws but no instructions. Very poor quality wood - in each case, needed a hammer to engage the lugs, & in each case one of the bars snapped. I note from your responses to other customer complaints that you use the excuse of wood treatment for poor fitting together - surely therefore you should take steps to leave the treated wood longer to dry before supplying the product! No way would I recommend this product or anything similar from you."

Reviewed Wednesday, 18 November 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Timber damp and split including some of the joints. Screw bags torn- packaging damaged, some screws missing. Inadequate instructions"

Reviewed Saturday, 9 May 2015

Rating: 2/5

"not happy, they arrived wet and minus the appropriate screws. I have complained and have not been sent any screws and the explanation for the wet wood did not seem to ring true. Whey wrap them until they have dried out?"

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Very soft wood which easily splits during construction. One pack arrived damp. Not sure how long they will last. ......"

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 April 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Poor"

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 2/5

"I ordered 2 bins but both had missing parts. However I was able to build 1 which is good value for the price."

Reviewed Saturday, 18 October 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Mouldy, wet, no screws, poor instructions."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 October 2014

Rating: 2/5

"I thought the compost bin I purchased looked like a load off old pallet slats, some of the slots had broken and they didn't fit together properly,the slats was rough and in the picture looked smooth so very disceptive, so not up to standard , a bit disappointed"

Reviewed Sunday, 25 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"We ordered two of the Easy-Load Wooden compost bins - One appears to be fine, though we haven't put it together yet, but the other arrived with bits broken off the slots to put in the removable front slats. I am about to contact Primrose to ask for a replacement."

Reviewed Sunday, 30 March 2014

Rating: 2/5

"The product is good but construction was difficult as some of the precut slots had to be enlarged to fit. The product when received and also its replacement had been stored badly and both items were wet, covered in green mold and dirty. This was disappointing as the other products we have bought from you have been excellent."

Reviewed Thursday, 5 September 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Timber quality was poor. Some of the cuts had been made badly and at least two joints split/broke off during careful and gentle assembly. Since neither was vital I have not returned the product, but only because of the additional trouble involved"

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 February 2013

Rating: 2/5

"There were no screws with the compost bin so I had to buy them. The side panels could have been pre-drilled and needed to be about another 4-5 cms in length - slightly short to properly accommodate the 7 screws."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 November 2012

Rating: 2/5

"The slots were badly cut so I had to sand each one down so that it would fit together. There were no pilot holes drilled, which meant that construction was much more labor intensive than an average flat pack. One of the slots was broken in the wrapping. Once it is built though, it looks well and it does what it says on the tin."

Reviewed Monday, 26 November 2012

Rating: 2/5

"I bought 2 of these compost bin kits and, for the money, they will do the job. However, where the front slats fit into the bin, I had to enlarge every cut-out both on the front pieces slotting in and on the side planks into which the front pieces slot. Had I not done this, pieces would have broken off as the slots were far too tight - they need to be easy to slot in and one has to bear in mind that wood swells in the fullness of time, which would have made the problem even worse - if not impossible. Why can't Primrose make the correct cut in the first place?"

Reviewed Monday, 16 May 2011

Rating: 2/5

"Came with no instructions as to how to put it together. I found a video on YouTube - with no sound! A great deal smaller than expected, and seems to be untreated. I had to stain it to give me some confidence it would last. Arrived soggy and with bits broken from the wooden pieces. Altogether I am pretty unimpressed and would build my own next time. It is far from "easy" to load as the wooden slats are nothing but a nuisance. I'll use 4 pallets next time."

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 August 2010