Customer Reviews

Average Rating

3.9/5
245 reviews
Rating: 1/5

"I bought the first one which came quick, but once i got it the wood was soaking wet, even the driver said the wood was really heavy and wet. Now i know it gets wet outside, but i would like it to be dry first, so i can put the screws in, this wood was that wet the screws would not have gripped. I rang Primrose and they said that it was dry from them and it was the Carriers fault, so they organised to pick up the wet one and replace it with another. The next day the carrier came (same carrier) and took the wet one away, the day after the second one turned up (same carrier), and the bloke carried it in and he slid it off his shoulders, onto the floor with the sound of a big CRACK, i said to the driver that i hope you haven't broken it, which i couldn't see with it being all wrapped up. After he went i cut off the wrapping and found this one to be soaking wet as well, and also broken from the driver putting it down. I rang Primrose and had a talk with this women who apologised, and offered to replace it with a third one, to which i said no to as after the last two i just didn't want to chance it being soaking wet and broken again. In the end i received £19.99 back in a refund, and after a very long time drying out, i cut off all the broken pieces, and used them in the bottom of a planter for slats."

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 February 2019

Rating: 5/5

"Exactly what was expected, good value, good size."

Reviewed Wednesday, 13 February 2019

Rating: 5/5

"A solid compost bin, which is pressure treated, so should last for years. One side is removable, which is very useful for filling and emptying the bin. This is the second one Iíve bought."

Reviewed Saturday, 17 November 2018

Rating: 3/5

"They are ok, do the job. The timber is rough sawn of mediocre quality. Would not expect expensive timber to be used but a lot of knots a couple of which broke off during assembly"

Reviewed Friday, 16 November 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to assemble, clear instructions, all screws and even a wee screwdriver included!!"

Reviewed Thursday, 15 November 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Easily assembled, especially the second one. Looks good (for years to come I hope) and good value for money."

Reviewed Thursday, 8 November 2018

Rating: 3/5

"Matters didn't start well, as the goods (2 compost bins) were left where I'd asked them to be put if I was OUT. But, I was IN; the courier just hadn't bothered to ring the bell - and it IS a loud ring! Upon unwrapping the two items I found them to be dripping wet - not just damp, but water actually running out. How long they'd been in that condition is impossible to say, but this was during the very long hot spell of 2018! They were so wet and swollen they had to be stood to dry out for 3 days before they could be assembled. One can only imagine the poor storage conditions at Primrose. There are no assembly instructions - one is advised to find a relevant pdf on Primrose's website, except that what is shown bears no relationship whatsoever to the product supplied. Is there no-one at primrose who takes responsibility for the accuracy of these matters? The best advice I can offer is to study the photo of a completed bin on the website, then the process becomes fairly straightforward. The parts themselves fit together quite well, (use a mallet) those that are already not broken that is. It was necessary to repair (glue and screw) seven bin front angled members before they could be used. Fully assembled, each bin was placed upon a double course of bricks to raise it above soil level, thus, hopefully, extending its life. At least, that's the theory! Overall, and very much taking into consideration the price, these bins are quite adequate and should give good service for a few years. Not, I would add in my opinion, the 15 years claimed by Primrose - they are not THAT good, quality wise. But, as with everything, time will tell."

Reviewed Wednesday, 10 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"This is exactly what I wanted."

Reviewed Monday, 8 October 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Product was as advertised"

Reviewed Tuesday, 18 September 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to erect and good value for money compared to others."

Reviewed Thursday, 13 September 2018

Rating: 3/5

"There weren't any instructions, either with the product or online for assembly, the closest was for a different bin. I'm no DIY expert but only managed to build it by looking at the pictures on the website. Pretty poor show on that front, even a one page document would have helped. Product as described though although a few screws also missing"

Reviewed Monday, 20 August 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Seem well designed and a good size, it remains to be seen how well they will last over the years, but overall very pleased."

Reviewed Monday, 6 August 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Relatively easy to assemble, although wood components were wet so the joints were very tight, one split so had to repair the joint. Pack of screws missing from one of the two bins I ordered. The bins look good now they are assembled and are an ideal size, very good value, I would order agan."

Reviewed Sunday, 15 July 2018

Rating: 5/5

"Good product, quick delivery. Looks great in the garden!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 June 2018

Rating: 3/5

"Good idea but needs modification to make the removable front slats work as intended, ie slide in and out relatively easily. Widened the slots in the removable slats and reduced the thickness across the slats between the slots. They now operate extremely well. Manufacturer needs to produce front slats differently from the static ones, ie wider slots and less thick wood. Slats easily broken at corners, mainly, and will need replacing. Good looking product but to produce the first two bins I had to use parts from the third bin which I must now get replaced."

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 May 2018

Rating: 1/5

"I ordered 2 items. The first delivery arrived and was just left in the middle of the drive way and only one item and that was not complete. Phoned customer services, very apologetic. arranged for re delivery of 2nd item and missing pieces. missing pieces arrive but no second item. Phone again "they are sorry". I'll get it delivered tomorrow. Again no item arrives, I waited in all day. Phone again, apparently the replacement item was never dispatched because they actually put the order for a replacement through the system. Forth time lucky they delivered. Finally I have all items even if the wood is damaged slightly in places."

Reviewed Thursday, 26 April 2018

Answer from Primrose: "Hi\n\nPlease accept our apologies once more that the item first arrived missing a unit and some parts and then that the replacement wasn't shipped as quickly as it should have been. I can see that the last operator you spoke with upgraded the shipping of the replacement to a Saturday service to ensure it reached you as fast as could be achieved.†\n\n- Primrose†"
Rating: 5/5

"Excellent quality composter."

Reviewed Friday, 9 February 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble but electric screwdriver essential. Quite a few of the slats had loose end parts so the removeable front slats will not all fit correctly."

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 November 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Bin is fine when you have worked it out."

Reviewed Saturday, 21 October 2017

Rating: 4/5

"solid construction, but some parts needed a little trimming to ensure a good fit."

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Rating: 4/5

"The wood is by no means perfect, it arrives very wet and the pre-cut slots create weak points where the wood is easily broken. I had to glue several pieces back together to retain the structure. But considering the price, these compost bins are excellent value for money and very easy to assemble."

Reviewed Sunday, 17 September 2017

Rating: 5/5

"perfect purchase does what it says"

Reviewed Monday, 11 September 2017

Rating: 5/5

"It works, i.e. the item fulfills the purpose for which it was bought."

Reviewed Monday, 11 September 2017

Rating: 5/5

"We have purchased one of these before from Primrose and its ideal for our requirements."

Reviewed Saturday, 9 September 2017

Rating: 3/5

"This was a replacement item for first faulty item, it was also damaged but between the two items I was able to construct one complete compost bin. Lots of left over broken pieces . Poor quality but Primrose were helpful."

Reviewed Wednesday, 9 August 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Product arrived as expected, some slight damage to some of the pieces of wood but nothing that prevented it from being assembled. Would have been good to get a set of assembly instructions with the packages but these were easily found online."

Reviewed Sunday, 30 July 2017

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to assemble, despite arriving with the tape all unravelled, and a screw missing. Hope for many years of use."

Reviewed Sunday, 16 July 2017

Rating: 5/5

"Just as it said on the packet... great product"

Reviewed Saturday, 8 July 2017

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to put together and does the job. I bought a small one of these a couple of years ago and needed another to deal with the overflow. No hesitation in buying the same product again."

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 July 2017

Rating: 4/5

"It was only OK as the wood was saturated when I unpacked it and had to be dried out for days before it would fit together. It did go up well eventually."

Reviewed Monday, 10 April 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Assembly instructions not too good. They suggest that screwing on the two D upright pieces is step 4 whereas they need to be screwed on as you build it up layer by layer. Only found how to do it by googling and watching a video."

Reviewed Sunday, 26 February 2017

Rating: 2/5

"Billed as 'easy to put together', it would have been if there had been pre-drilled holes for the screws!!!"

Reviewed Monday, 5 December 2016

Rating: 4/5

"We already have two of the compost bins at our church and this is the third. I believe the person putting them together found it a little tricky but managed in the end. I am going to put the corners on bricks to save from damp. Thank you."

Reviewed Thursday, 10 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good, but some assembly instructions would have been useful"

Reviewed Tuesday, 8 November 2016

Rating: 5/5

"This is my 4th of these bins. I already have 3 large bins and I just needed 1 more as a seasonal overflow. Excellent quality and easy to put together. Download the instructions from the web site and make sure you have a small mallet and an electric screwdriver."

Reviewed Thursday, 3 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Some of the slates a bit chipped but overall does the job so now have 4."

Reviewed Wednesday, 26 October 2016

Rating: 2/5

"The wood was breaking as the item was put together. While Slotting wood into the front section, pieces of wood were breaking off and some were already broken off."

Reviewed Sunday, 23 October 2016

Rating: 4/5

"So far so good..............."

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 October 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Small issue with the wood, but this was sorted without any problem."

Reviewed Thursday, 18 August 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 1 August 2016

Rating: 5/5

"great"

Reviewed Monday, 4 July 2016

Rating: 2/5

"One of the bins was missing it's screws and neither came with a picture of what the assembled product should look like never mind any assembly instructions!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 June 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Wood quality was poor in some instances as it split when attempting to slot some pieces together."

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2016

Rating: 1/5

"I ordered two of these items. The quality control on these items was very poor. I had expected that since the item was advertised as easy to construct the vertical side panels would be drilled but this was not the case. No matter I set to to mark up and drill the holes. However on the first bin the second vertical side panel was cut an inch too short and was of insufficient length to span all the side pieces. It turned out that I was one screw short (maybe it was thought unnecessary to provide the screw as the panel was too short!). Worse to occur for the second bin as although the panels were the correct length no screws were provided. Overall the wood was poor quality. Of the 60 pieces of wood for the two bins 8 pieces were badly chamfered at the notch ends thus rendering the interlocking system less efficient. The notches were not clean cu apparently having been cut when the wood was wet."

Reviewed Sunday, 24 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good value for the price, if a little rough around the edges. Some instructions on how to assemble would have been useful though."

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 11 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to put together and perfect for the job"

Reviewed Monday, 21 March 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Although the wood was exactly as ordered there were no screws for assembly. I went out to purchase them then assembled the compost bin...very poor."

Reviewed Thursday, 10 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Slight problem with fitting. On-line instruction did not make it clear that it was necessary to use a hammer to get wooden slots properly fitted. As a result, my fist attempt had gaps that were too large at the sides and back."

Reviewed Monday, 7 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"easy assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Two wood panels had a broken edge."

Reviewed Friday, 22 January 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Some of wooden slats have pieces 'chipped' off the ends which makes it hard to assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 29 December 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Planks did not slot together well, some corners fell off. No screws in one of the packages. I can see why these were cheap."

Reviewed Monday, 16 November 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Great product"

Reviewed Saturday, 7 November 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 27 October 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Wood was very damp, so when slotting together, started to split! Some of the ends on some slates broke off when unpacked, so needed screwing together. So disappointed."

Reviewed Thursday, 22 October 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Some pieces damaged probably due to poor packaging and careless handling by courier."

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 2 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Assembly fairly easy and you tube video was a great help."

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 June 2015

Rating: 5/5

"We are more than pleased with our purchase, and will take very opportunity to recommend the compost bin to fellow gardeners."

Reviewed Sunday, 21 June 2015

Rating: 1/5

"The assembly time took much longer than anticipated because I had re-saw every lap joint, they were not wide enough. The width of the cut should acommadate the corresponding slat. Order ref: PR-2654399"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 2 June 2015

Rating: 1/5

"Rather disappointing. The wood was extremely wet and heavy- it was softwood. The slats were not evenly cut and either fell loose or had to be hammered together. The screws provided were too short to hold softwood joints together and I had to go out and purchase longer sets."

Reviewed Tuesday, 2 June 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Items arrived wet, damaged and of inferior quality"

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Rating: 5/5

"I'm pleased with it"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 April 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Poor"

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 April 2015

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to put together excellent value for money"

Reviewed Tuesday, 7 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"When built are ideal for my usage but a lot of the components were damaged. The slots cut to interlink the wooden fame were broken so I have had to repair at least 8 slats on one and about 4 on the other which is not very good!!"

Reviewed Friday, 3 April 2015

Rating: 1/5

"Missing instructions and wood in poor condition - some sections broken."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Everything was fine but the two vertical side strips at the front need to be about 2 inches longer."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Took a little while to work out the instructions. Some of the wood a little damaged, but for its purpose, that didn't seem too important. Looks far better than what it replaced. Good value for money."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Despite negative comments from others, I'm very pleased. I got three; screws were missing from one - well - buy 12 screws then. The wood was wet in the pack - so what - it dried out. I found 1 warped piece out of 60 or so & bent it back into place. The instructions were OK; if you can build an IKEA unit, this is a doddle. They were a tad smaller than they looked / I expected, but I will extend them upwards. They look nice, they're solid & are cheap. Recommended."

Reviewed Saturday, 28 March 2015

Rating: 2/5

"pieces of wood to secure the sides of the composter were not long enough, hence a bit of DIY necessary, slits for the front panels don't fit very well."

Reviewed Friday, 20 March 2015

Rating: 1/5

"Arrived wet and pieces fell apart as I fixed them together. Pieces of wood for screws are too short. Needs better quality control, wood joints aren't cut well and wood is brittle."

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Well constructed and easy to assemble. Following on from other reviews, the screws were absolutely perfect."

Reviewed Thursday, 22 January 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The wooden pieces were parceled up tightly but were very, very damp when opened. There were no screws in the pack so had to go and buy some. Some pieces of wood next to the openings flew off when the slats were fitted together. I would have rated the product somewhere between good and poor."

Reviewed Saturday, 3 January 2015

Rating: 1/5

"The product was wet and mouldy on arrival. The screws needed to fit this together were not included although they are referred to in the instructions. Have not yet tried assembling yet."

Reviewed Wednesday, 31 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Wood arrived wet, so wood very swollen making it difficult to drive home the dovetails properly until it was dried out. Could have provided the appropriate screws for the uprights! Otherwise all seems to be fine. Hopefully it will prove badger proof !!!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 31 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good product for the price paid."

Reviewed Thursday, 18 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Fast delivery thank you"

Reviewed Monday, 15 December 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to build and good quality."

Reviewed Wednesday, 10 December 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Time will tell but easy to erect and looks to be an efficient composter"

Reviewed Monday, 1 December 2014

Rating: 5/5

"easy to build"

Reviewed Monday, 1 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Quite easy to assemble. The dimensions given on the website are internal so it was tight in the space I had. The wood was very wet when it arrived"

Reviewed Monday, 24 November 2014

Rating: 2/5

"In all three packs the screws had come out of their (clearly inadequate) plastic wrapper and were loose. Several were missing and they were in any case of very inferior quality: some actually bent as they were screwed in and were therefore useless."

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A couple of elements had pieces or knots that have parted from the main piece of wood - but that is frankly minor. The instructions were in unsealed plastic envelopes and were therefore sopping wet."

Reviewed Monday, 17 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"As described good value"

Reviewed Saturday, 15 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Just what I wanted - good product"

Reviewed Thursday, 13 November 2014

Rating: 2/5

"As with other reviews, the wood was WET due to sweating in the plastic wrapping, BUT once the wood had dried out the item is as good as you'd expect for a wooden compost bin."

Reviewed Thursday, 13 November 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 9 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"It was fairly easy to put together. the pack arrived plastic wrapped but the wood inside was wet. Not important as it is for use in the garden in all weather! Maybe made working with it a bit harder. And it was reduced.."

Reviewed Saturday, 8 November 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Great value for the money."

Reviewed Friday, 7 November 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Exactly what I wanted!"

Reviewed Friday, 31 October 2014

Rating: 5/5

"These bins are excellent value for money - my daughter and I assembled both in just 3 hours. They did arrive rather damp which then meant that we had to tap the slots into each other, but the end result has been a success."

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"good"

Reviewed Monday, 27 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good value for money. Better than I expected at the price. This is only a compost bin but I feel confident that it will last as long as promised which, at the price, is a 'RESULT'!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good composters as long as woods not too wet when slotting them together."

Reviewed Thursday, 9 October 2014

Rating: 2/5

"The wood/wrapping was sodden and the assembly instructions fell apart they were so wet !! also the screws/fixings were missing from one of the bins. Nowhere near as substantial as I had expected but I guess you get what you pay for."

Reviewed Tuesday, 7 October 2014

Answer from Primrose: "Thanks for your review. We are currently working with the manufacturer to improve the packaging of this product. Please contact our Customer Support Team & they will arrange to replace any missing/damaged parts."
Rating: 4/5

"Was very wet and mouldy but dried out once out of the plastic wrap. This had been commented on in a review I read previously"

Reviewed Monday, 6 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 2 October 2014

Rating: 5/5

"The product is excactly what I wanted. Easy to put together, & excellent quality."

Reviewed Wednesday, 24 September 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Great value"

Reviewed Monday, 1 September 2014

Rating: 1/5

"many panels broken...managed to build, but poor quality"

Reviewed Sunday, 31 August 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Speedy delivery and all in good order."

Reviewed Monday, 4 August 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 July 2014

Rating: 1/5

"The quality was poor The wood wet and green The tooth slots broken The wood not straight No fixing screws supplied"

Reviewed Monday, 28 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Bought a large bin last year and it works well. I have made my own covers, perhaps Primrose could think about supplying those as well."

Reviewed Wednesday, 2 July 2014

Rating: 1/5

"Missing screws and wood cracked and damaged."

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 June 2014

Rating: 5/5

"This is an excellant compost bin - this is our 4 one purchase thank you Priimrose!"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 June 2014

Rating: 5/5

"great product, good value"

Reviewed Sunday, 15 June 2014

Rating: 2/5

"The compost bin components had clearly been stored in very wet conditions; the polythene cover was damaged and had had been resealed prior to despatch with industrial sellotape. The wood slats were soaking wet and heavily mildewed; some slats were warped - it took some effort to bend them into shape to construct the bin. There was a small polythene packet which was split and did not contain the required number of screws. Overall I was not impressed! I don't expect that you will bother to respond to this survey."

Reviewed Monday, 9 June 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Just what I wanted easy tp put up better quality than expected would buy from Primrose again."

Reviewed Friday, 23 May 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Monday, 12 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Parts broken was easier to repair than go through the long drawn out process of complaint"

Reviewed Thursday, 1 May 2014

Rating: 5/5

"We ordered two - they were easy to assemble, no faults, and are a good size. We're really pleased with them."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 April 2014

Rating: 1/5

"The compost bin arrived with the corner of one of the front slats broken. The wood was damp as if stored in the open before packaged for dispatch. The vertical side supports were not long enough to attach to the top side slat. I could have dismantled, complained and sent back but having spent 2 hours assembling I could not take any more hassle. Very poor product."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A couple of the planks were broken- the pieces next to the cut outs were snapped off, and there were no screws (luckily I had some suitable ones), there was the bag for the screws stapled to a board but it was cut clean through and the screws were nowhere to be found! The bin was easy to assemble for one person, though, and the instructions were OK. Overall I think it's good value for money and I'd buy another."

Reviewed Sunday, 6 April 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Tuesday, 18 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Wednesday, 12 March 2014

Rating: 5/5

"I am very pleased with the product. It tidies up a corner of our garden that was formerly a bit of an eyesore and was occupied with a dilapidated ad hoc compost pile."

Reviewed Monday, 24 February 2014

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to put together it took two of us ten minutes."

Reviewed Monday, 27 January 2014

Rating: 5/5

"good value for money"

Reviewed Friday, 17 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A compost bin is a compost bin"

Reviewed Monday, 13 January 2014

Rating: 5/5

"One slat was slightly damaged but overall it was just what we needed"

Reviewed Tuesday, 19 November 2013

Rating: 4/5

"have not yet constructed !!!!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 October 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Monday, 7 October 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to put together on my own. I bought two and have filled up one of these already. Overall great. A couple of minor negative points to note. One of the packages was missing the packet of screws but having read the other reviews I was not surprised at this and got some myself. The wood had split on one of the front slats of wood which means it doesn't quite fit in the grooves properly."

Reviewed Sunday, 6 October 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Sunday, 29 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Some corners of the wood broken, some lengths warped and definitely a 2 person job to put up. Having said that it will do the job (already full from vegetable plot) and is value for money."

Reviewed Sunday, 22 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 September 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Took a bit of sorting out to assemble the bins, The instructions were not very clear and I couldn't have managed without some help when constructing them but once we got going there were no problems. Bins seem to be sturdy and suitable for my requirements."

Reviewed Saturday, 21 September 2013

Rating: 2/5

"We ordered 2 bins and neither came with the screws needed. Following instructions rigidly on 1st bin meabt that upright support to each side was not long enough as gaps left by inserting front pices of wood were slightly to wide. As I said this was following the instructions and I avoided this on the second bin by leaving a slightly narrower gap than instructions say. The wood that the bins are made from was very wet on delivery and i suspect were made when the wood was wet as the bin was well packed in a watertight package. I am not sure that the easy load front is going to work well when we need to remove it as the joints are very tight and once the bin is filled may be difficult to remove from the front only. We will see. Overall the product is very disappointing for what seem very minor issues to correct. I suspect that neither the retailer nor the manufacturer has ever tried to assemble one or tested the product as it is meant to be used."

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Reasonably priced but no instructions for assembly and a few cutout broken and poor fit. Nevertheless I managed to put it together from pictures on the web site and it looks ok."

Reviewed Sunday, 15 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Condition of panels could have been a bit better some had splits which broke when assembled."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"As expected - fine"

Reviewed Tuesday, 27 August 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Clear diagram and straightforward to put together. Whether it makes good compost I wait to see .... I guess that bit is down to me!"

Reviewed Monday, 26 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"generally a good product - the slotted ends of some pieces - a couple, I think it was, were a bit fragile and snapped off easily during construction (one on arrival) but in my case it was not a problem and I didn't consider it worth following up"

Reviewed Thursday, 22 August 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Web reviews could have been off putting but it was possible to see beyond what some people were saying - the less practical ones - and recognise that this product is good value for money. Our delivery included printed instructions that were easy to follow and the product in use does the job well."

Reviewed Sunday, 11 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"This missed being rated excellent for just one reason. The main slats are made from timber measuring approximately 83mm by 20mm; the bottom rail from timber measuring approximately 43mm by 20mm. Using, as directed, the front slats as spacers means that the minimum height of the sides of the bin is, one width (43mm) of a bottom rail, plus 6 times the thickness (20mm) of a slat, plus 6 times the width (85mm) of a slat. This means that the minimum height of the side of the bin is 673mm. (The actual height of the sides of my 2 bins is 678mm.) Now, each of the two short planks you supplied are only 610mm long, and so comes up barely a quarter of the way up the top slat. Its support of this top slat is therefore somewhat compromised. What would be the additional cost of lengthening these two short planks so that they do indeed reach most of the way to the top of the topmost slat? Are you in reality 'spoiling the ship for a hap'orth of tar'?"

Reviewed Friday, 9 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"it came together easily but the 'removable' slats are going to be a job to remove"

Reviewed Thursday, 18 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 6 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"These are the best value for money I could find for wooden slat construction compost buns anywhere, and they are genuinely easy to assemble. However, one problem arose which I feel Primrose need to address. The website gives vey specific dimensions for the compost bin - stating that they are 92cm square., While this is an accurate statement of the exterior dimensions of the assembled BOX it does not take account of the protrusions at the sides and rear. Each bin actually needs a square meter to stand in. I needed 3 bins, to stand in a row - the additional space needed meant that I had to do quite a bit of modification to fit them into the space available. Also, if stood next to each other there would be 8cm of dead space between each bin. When selling on the internet, an accurate description of SIZE and SPACE REQUIRED is essential!!"

Reviewed Sunday, 23 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"great product, but sadly lacking any instructions to assist in construction (had to use photo from catalogue)"

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"I love the design and they were very simple to put together. The two packs we received did have a few broken bits in but my immediate requirement for the bins meant I did not contact primrose about this. I was able to fix them, it was just a bit of a shame."

Reviewed Monday, 17 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 3 June 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent, very pleased"

Reviewed Monday, 3 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The wood was quite wet when arrived but left outside to dry out so easier to put together. A couple of the bits had split but didn't really affect the construction."

Reviewed Sunday, 2 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to construct although it would have helped if the uprights were pre-drilled. About to order another."

Reviewed Wednesday, 22 May 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Good product. Easy to assemble. Now full of spring-fallen Beech leaves!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 20 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble."

Reviewed Thursday, 9 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to erect but would recommend using gloves - to protect from the preservative and possible splinters. In situ within an hour."

Reviewed Monday, 6 May 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The compost bins were hard to assemble. As an engineer I think the cut outs were probably inconsistent in width and depth and so fitting was a problem. Also was the wood too wet or dry? A consequence was that the wood next to the tabs split a lot, so a number of repairs were needed (wood screwed back on, cut outs enlarged...)."

Reviewed Sunday, 5 May 2013

Rating: 5/5

"For such a small garden, I could have got next model down. But would recommend product"

Reviewed Thursday, 2 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The same comments apply except that the packing was good but still only a few screws at the bottom of the pack. Primrose need to devise a different, more secure way to provide the screws"

Reviewed Tuesday, 30 April 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Friday, 26 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 22 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Needed to be assembled on a flat surface, instructions could be more informative"

Reviewed Monday, 8 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good product, exactly as described."

Reviewed Wednesday, 3 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Look good and are easy enough to build, although the diagram and the actual build don't quite match as the uprights that are screwed in are not in fact long enough to cover the entire height, you have to sort of guess an offset height to make them reach both top and bottom slats properly."

Reviewed Wednesday, 20 March 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Friday, 15 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"came with damage to side slats where angle cut,sorted with primrose.product storage needs to be looked at, was wet and this made it easy to damage.made repairs myself with allowance.now great, much better than a plastic one.overall very pleased with product and easy to build.!!"

Reviewed Thursday, 7 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble and a good looking, sturdy product"

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 February 2013

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent"

Reviewed Saturday, 23 February 2013

Rating: 5/5

"I'm sure it will be excellent. I haven't installed yet !"

Reviewed Thursday, 20 December 2012

Rating: 5/5

"It was exactly the size that I wanted and the open type of bin required to replace one that I made many years ago"

Reviewed Monday, 26 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Supplied with all necessary equipment including instructions and screws. Straightforward to assemble and I am very pleased with it so far. (Only had it two weeks)"

Reviewed Saturday, 17 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"bit tricky for my husband to put together. we'll see how well it makes compost next year"

Reviewed Tuesday, 13 November 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent. Easy to assemble and this is the second one I have ordered and both are full (really easy to use) Thank you "

Reviewed Monday, 12 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Product good but it was so wet on delivery that would not easily fit together as the wood was so swollen."

Reviewed Wednesday, 7 November 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent product, much easier to use than a standard wooden bin."

Reviewed Saturday, 27 October 2012

Rating: 5/5

"came with assembly instructions and easy to put together and very sturdy although the screws were missing from the package."

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Went together well. Holds a good amount. Looks tidy."

Reviewed Friday, 12 October 2012

Rating: 5/5

"very good value for money, easy to put together, just what I wanted to make compost in my garden."

Reviewed Wednesday, 10 October 2012

Rating: 5/5

"It arrived. I constructed it. It's full of future compost. I may need another."

Reviewed Saturday, 22 September 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Product easy to assemble and use"

Reviewed Thursday, 13 September 2012

Rating: 3/5

"Simple construction but poor product quality. The end of five planks of wood were split off and the side uprights were 50mm too short. Primrose replaced the planks quickly."

Reviewed Monday, 20 August 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good product and prompt delivery. One or two ends were damaged in transit. More packing needed perhaps on the ends."

Reviewed Friday, 25 May 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Hi there, I recently ordered and received from you a wooden, slatted compost bin. It arrived promptly, was just what I wanted and expected, and is already in use. Thank you very much. Yours sincerely, Caren Felton"

Reviewed Sunday, 8 April 2012

Rating: 1/5

"I found this item very disappointing. Some of the joints were broken off, the side panels were too short and a number of screws were missing. The panels did not fit together easily, some being a very tight fit indeed. The wood was also soaking wet."

Reviewed Sunday, 1 April 2012

Rating: 5/5

"This is a great compost bin. It came with instructions which was a pleasant surprise, after reading other comments, and very useful. "

Reviewed Friday, 30 March 2012

Rating: 3/5

"Excellent delivery of product. It was a bit tricky to assemble and really needed two people. Would have been easier if screws had been included! They were included for 2 of the 3 compost bins only so had to source and fit our own. Alison musgrave"

Reviewed Thursday, 29 March 2012

Rating: 3/5

"One of the front spars was broken - there was a knot in the wood. Some of the wood was not too easy to put into place. Albeit there were screws provided, there were not holes pre made in the 2 supports."

Reviewed Monday, 26 March 2012

Rating: 3/5

"A great purchase but!!! the two front side panels were too short my husband had to make his own up and it says easy access to and fro compost the slot in panels are a very tight fit so they will be hard to remove, "

Reviewed Thursday, 22 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"I am very pleased with my compost bins, but with no knowledge of woodwork I had to be introduced to a mallet and a power drill. It would have been helpful to be told I needed a mallet. It took a while to realise I needed one to slot the slats together properly."

Reviewed Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Easy to assemble and is perfect for my needs."

Reviewed Friday, 16 March 2012

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent product and swift delivery"

Reviewed Wednesday, 14 March 2012

Rating: 5/5

"excellant service. Arrived when they said. Would use the company again. Mrs berry"

Reviewed Friday, 24 February 2012

Rating: 4/5

"The item is a very good idea, but I feel the tolerance for the joints was a bit tight and also the item did appear to be damp/wet which would have contributed to fact that 5 small sectons fell off either in transport or assembly. The web site is good , delivery was as promised to the hour. After sales was excellant, I believe it was Matt that I dealt with"

Reviewed Friday, 10 February 2012

Rating: 1/5

"In principle a very good idea, but why is it that nothing these days can ever arrive made to the correct specifications? We ordered two of these compost bins, and they both had the same problem, so we know it's not just a one off mistake. The vertical slats you screw against the horizontal side slats in order to keep them in place are shown to be full length in the instructions (i.e. they reach from the bottom slat all the way flush to the end of the top slat). Unfortunately though, they were too short and we needed to hunt around for additional pieces of wood at home. (We didn't have any, so we used four metal brackets instead - four because you need one on each side and we had bought two bins). Another disappointment was the unreadable instruction sheet, which was written in the most horrendous 'Engrish'. Assembly is really quite simple, so writing in addition to the schematics wasn't really necessary, still the fact that the instructions were unintelligible did not make for a very professional impression. "

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 February 2012

Rating: 5/5

"it seems to be fine. Thank you."

Reviewed Wednesday, 18 January 2012

Rating: 3/5

"Product is good, but does not come with any assembly instructions and when I emailed customer services asking for some, I didn't get any response. "

Reviewed Tuesday, 13 December 2011

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bins arrived very promptly, which was excellent. The side struts which had to be screwed onto the slats were too short for both the bins we received. It was dificult to screw the top slat onto the side piece, and impossible for the larger bin. "

Reviewed Thursday, 24 November 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Only just got someone to put these together for me. The screws were missing. Seem good for the purpose required, but a little on the flimsy side when erected. Overall quite good."

Reviewed Wednesday, 3 August 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Overall am pleased; however two long slats, (ones with a V cut) and one short slat were damaged at ends due to knots at sawn ends. did not bother to complain as it all holds together and I can cut other wood to replace."

Reviewed Saturday, 18 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Very quick delivery and a great item. I was a little apprehensive buying this compost bin as previous feedback said it was difficult to assemble. However between myself , my husband, a screwdriver, a drill and a hammer we had it fully assembled in 30 mins. A great value for money product. Does what it says on the tin! Now fully installed in my new allotment and rapidly being filled. Thank you for a very positive internet experience."

Reviewed Tuesday, 14 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Good value for money , product fulfilled our expectations. Good website and service from Primrose who kept us updated on likely date of delivery . "

Reviewed Saturday, 4 June 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Fast delivery. Easy to follow assembly instructions. Easy access at front is a great idea."

Reviewed Wednesday, 25 May 2011

Rating: 2/5

"Bit disappointed. Two pieces of timber were broken and I had to glue them back with wood glue. It was essential to do this as onw of the pieces that was broken was a leading notched edge and could not be used, had I not glued it back. The other piece simply snapped off when being taken out of the pack. The timber is fine and the assembly was OK. "

Reviewed Saturday, 21 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Good value, but no instructions for construction! Otherwise just fine "

Reviewed Thursday, 5 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"It was quite easy to assemble, although not really clear from the diagram how many side slats needed screws. A professional gardiner friend told us that the slats are too wide apart - compost does not need that much air - but we'll wait to see the result."

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2011

Rating: 2/5

"the product arrived the next day, great. No instruction! Not so great! Rang you guys was emailed instructions, small but just about usable, very helpful telephone response. Good design, had to add two more uprights to make the product solid. Weak pieces meant that some slats broke, so it was necessary for the additional uprights. the product is cheap, would have been more disappointed if I had paid alot for it."

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 April 2011

Rating: 3/5

"A good price and a good design. Easy to put together - I built 2 in 40 minutes. Cut outs on some slats were too large though leading to the fit being too snug with tiny and sloping gaps between slats. Using slat depth as a spacing guide also meant the front was higher than the back and the side pieces weren't long enough."

Reviewed Monday, 25 April 2011

Rating: 5/5

"very prompt delivery. Excellent value for money. Thought side brace which secures the structure could have been longer but easy to put together, I'm a DIY novice! Would definitely recommend this product."

Reviewed Monday, 25 April 2011

Rating: 5/5

"Delivered on schedule, all items there, easy to assemble. "

Reviewed Saturday, 23 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Once one had a closer look at the picture on your website it was easy to assemble. The wooden compost conrainer blend in to the garden surrounds."

Reviewed Sunday, 17 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy load 530 litre wooden compost bin x3. These seem to be all they promise (except instructions on the first two!) A couple of minutes of head scratching soon resolved the omission and assembly was very easy. Having bought two to go side by side, I found that they were smaller than I had imagined, so I bought a third to increase the height of the first two by 50%. Worked well and I haven't seen better compost bins anywhere. Delivery was only the let down. I provided full directions but the courier only had half of them on his paperwork. So three working days instead of the next."

Reviewed Sunday, 17 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Items well wrapped but the contents were saturated so difficult to put together as all the joints were swollen. Not sure how easy it will be to take the front off at a later date as the fit is very tight. Time will tell how well the item lasts but it appears to be fairly sturdy. "

Reviewed Sunday, 10 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Excellent value and just the right size. The ability to remove the front section without dismantling the whole of it is an enormous benefit that is not available on most other types. We had to print the photos off the website to work out how to assemble it - printed instructions would have been useful. But very easy once we'd worked it out. Also, the second one was missing 9 screws - although these were easily replaced."

Reviewed Tuesday, 5 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Good product it was easier to put the second one together, but look good and smell lovely!"

Reviewed Sunday, 3 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Very pleasded with the product. Assembly instructions would be an enormous help. Bought two. The first took just over two hours to assemble and the second twenty minutes. I read other customer comments before purchasing and anticipated aassembly difficulties as this had been mentioned so I would hope that you would consider this for the future. As I said I am happy with the end product."

Reviewed Saturday, 2 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"I am very satisfied with the compost bin. It was fairly simple to assemble, though the instructions could be more explicit."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 March 2011

Rating: 2/5

"I have only just had the time and weather to assemble the item and found that it did not have any instructions or screws in the package, fortunately I had assemble one a little while ago and could see how it went together"

Reviewed Sunday, 16 January 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble but could do with uprights at the rear to keep the spacing, I used some old 75mm x 15mm and it worked perfectly."

Reviewed Thursday, 9 December 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Prompt, trackable e-ordering and delivery. Excellent, I don't hesitate to recommend. Jules F. Cumbria."

Reviewed Monday, 6 December 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Good product and excellent next day delivery. Delighted."

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 December 2010

Rating: 4/5

"THE COMPOST BIN IS EXACTLY WHAT WE WANTED, WHAT MORE IS THER TO SAY, THE NEXT DAY DELIVERY WAS BANG ON TIME."

Reviewed Saturday, 27 November 2010

Rating: 5/5

"easy to assemble, super fast delivery, great product!"

Reviewed Saturday, 20 November 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Arrived promptly and as described. Assembly was straight forward but quite tough putting the screws through the wood undrilled and with a manual screwdriver. All the bits slotted together well and pleased with the finished product - I don't think I could have done better for the price."

Reviewed Thursday, 18 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"I chose the compost bin because it was good value for money. It arrived quickly. The lack of assembly instructions was a draw-back. I had to guess how to put it together. "

Reviewed Monday, 15 November 2010

Rating: 5/5

"I purchased 2 of the medium compost bins - one for new and one for old compost. They were good value, extremely easy to assemble and look good and functional in the veg plot. Delivery was the following day after ordering so all in all an excellent purchase and experience with Primrose."

Reviewed Thursday, 28 October 2010

Rating: 2/5

"When unwrapped the wood was very damp. No assembly instructions. Bits chipped off when assembling as the intersections had to be forced in. Overall not as good I thought they would be."

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Compost bin easy to assemble and quality appears good. The only glitch was the delivery. I asked for the bin to be left around the side of the garage if we were. out and drop a note through the letterbox. The bin was left in next doors porch and no note was left. I didn't know about it until the following day when contacted by the neighbours."

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 October 2010

Rating: 2/5

"Some end pieces of wood were delivered broken, several screws were missing from one pack, no assembly instructions (I managed by constantly referring to Online pictures via my phone) and worst of all this product is advertised as pressure treated wood guaranteed for 15 years. Two independent old hands at woodwork assure me the wood has not been treated at all, and I should pay for waterproofing and paint it myself if I expect it to last more than a year or so, so overall I wish I'd used pallets like most people on the allotment. The only saving grace is that these look neater than pallets. Could not recommend and would not buy again."

Reviewed Saturday, 23 October 2010

Rating: 1/5

"several pieces of wood were broken which I had to fix together. I would not recommend this product"

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Exceptional delivery"

Reviewed Sunday, 10 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"easy to put together, although one or two of the slats could have been of better quality..but it's fine for a compost bin!"

Reviewed Sunday, 10 October 2010

Rating: 5/5

"This is an excellent, simple, functional answer to my compost problems! Flat pack assembly was quick and straightforward and easy. It sits happily in the corner of my city garden and is unobtrusive to the eye or garden layout."

Reviewed Thursday, 7 October 2010

Rating: 5/5

"For the price, you will it difficult to beat. Instructions could be a little more detailed, but even I figured them out eventually! Recommended."

Reviewed Sunday, 26 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"My only worry is that it might come to pieces when I start to remove the compost. Otherwise, excellent."

Reviewed Wednesday, 22 September 2010

Rating: 5/5

"very easy to erect, very rigid, looking forward to using it over the next few years"

Reviewed Monday, 20 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Excellent delivery service, although construction is relatively simple, for those not DIY minded, an instruction sheet could be of benefit. Look forward to using your products in the future."

Reviewed Sunday, 19 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"After initial delay the bin was delivered next day. A request for assembly instructions was dealt with immediately.Now waiting for the Aerator which was out of stock when I ordered."

Reviewed Friday, 17 September 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Accurate description, arrived the next day, clear & easy instructions. Will be getting another soon, to rotate whilst composting."

Reviewed Thursday, 9 September 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Great item. Delivered on time. Thank you."

Reviewed Saturday, 28 August 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent product and such a simple idea"

Reviewed Sunday, 22 August 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Good bin for a good price. It did come without instructions, but when I called I received a very helpful response and they were emailed to me reasonably quickly. It was very straightforward to put together. I'm very happy with it. Much nicer to have wood than a big plastic monstrosity and much easier to mix and better for wildlife too."

Reviewed Sunday, 22 August 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent product"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"no instructions hampered construction, also a spacer was required when attaching side panel (used my finger to support the slat as husband drilled screw in)Husband had to guess position of each screw when pre-drilling holes, so took longer than it should of to construct, But now finished and for a composter it looks good , do find when mixing it material can fall through slats but not to much of a problem"

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"A great idea for a product, unfortunately when my 3 composters turned up they were wrapped in plastic but water had got inside and there was lots of mould on most of the wood (so it had obviously been like that for some time). I then spent an extra hour scrubbing the wood to try to make it look better (it is still discoloured in parts). I then noticed that one of the packs didn't have any screws with it so I needed to drive to the hardware shop to buy some more (v. annoying). Whilst putting the together I noticed that in one of the kits nearly every piece of wood had a small split right by where the pieces fit together, unsurprisingly the wood broke when put with the other piece and then I needed to nail the wood back together so it could be used properly. The delivery was perfect and the composters are a great idea (hence the 3 stars) but the quality control of the kits is woefully poor."

Reviewed Monday, 2 August 2010

Rating: 5/5

"Excellent, arrived very quickly and easy to assemble. Also good price. All in all very happy."

Reviewed Sunday, 18 July 2010