Customer Reviews

Average Rating

3.9/5
245 reviews
Rating: 1/5

"I bought the first one which came quick, but once i got it the wood was soaking wet, even the driver said the wood was really heavy and wet. Now i know it gets wet outside, but i would like it to be dry first, so i can put the screws in, this wood was that wet the screws would not have gripped. I rang Primrose and they said that it was dry from them and it was the Carriers fault, so they organised to pick up the wet one and replace it with another. The next day the carrier came (same carrier) and took the wet one away, the day after the second one turned up (same carrier), and the bloke carried it in and he slid it off his shoulders, onto the floor with the sound of a big CRACK, i said to the driver that i hope you haven't broken it, which i couldn't see with it being all wrapped up. After he went i cut off the wrapping and found this one to be soaking wet as well, and also broken from the driver putting it down. I rang Primrose and had a talk with this women who apologised, and offered to replace it with a third one, to which i said no to as after the last two i just didn't want to chance it being soaking wet and broken again. In the end i received £19.99 back in a refund, and after a very long time drying out, i cut off all the broken pieces, and used them in the bottom of a planter for slats."

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 February 2019

Rating: 1/5

"I ordered 2 items. The first delivery arrived and was just left in the middle of the drive way and only one item and that was not complete. Phoned customer services, very apologetic. arranged for re delivery of 2nd item and missing pieces. missing pieces arrive but no second item. Phone again "they are sorry". I'll get it delivered tomorrow. Again no item arrives, I waited in all day. Phone again, apparently the replacement item was never dispatched because they actually put the order for a replacement through the system. Forth time lucky they delivered. Finally I have all items even if the wood is damaged slightly in places."

Reviewed Thursday, 26 April 2018

Answer from Primrose: "Hi\n\nPlease accept our apologies once more that the item first arrived missing a unit and some parts and then that the replacement wasn't shipped as quickly as it should have been. I can see that the last operator you spoke with upgraded the shipping of the replacement to a Saturday service to ensure it reached you as fast as could be achieved.†\n\n- Primrose†"
Rating: 1/5

"I ordered two of these items. The quality control on these items was very poor. I had expected that since the item was advertised as easy to construct the vertical side panels would be drilled but this was not the case. No matter I set to to mark up and drill the holes. However on the first bin the second vertical side panel was cut an inch too short and was of insufficient length to span all the side pieces. It turned out that I was one screw short (maybe it was thought unnecessary to provide the screw as the panel was too short!). Worse to occur for the second bin as although the panels were the correct length no screws were provided. Overall the wood was poor quality. Of the 60 pieces of wood for the two bins 8 pieces were badly chamfered at the notch ends thus rendering the interlocking system less efficient. The notches were not clean cu apparently having been cut when the wood was wet."

Reviewed Sunday, 24 April 2016

Rating: 1/5

"The assembly time took much longer than anticipated because I had re-saw every lap joint, they were not wide enough. The width of the cut should acommadate the corresponding slat. Order ref: PR-2654399"

Reviewed Tuesday, 16 June 2015

Rating: 1/5

"Rather disappointing. The wood was extremely wet and heavy- it was softwood. The slats were not evenly cut and either fell loose or had to be hammered together. The screws provided were too short to hold softwood joints together and I had to go out and purchase longer sets."

Reviewed Tuesday, 2 June 2015

Rating: 1/5

"Missing instructions and wood in poor condition - some sections broken."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 April 2015

Rating: 1/5

"Arrived wet and pieces fell apart as I fixed them together. Pieces of wood for screws are too short. Needs better quality control, wood joints aren't cut well and wood is brittle."

Reviewed Thursday, 12 March 2015

Rating: 1/5

"The product was wet and mouldy on arrival. The screws needed to fit this together were not included although they are referred to in the instructions. Have not yet tried assembling yet."

Reviewed Wednesday, 31 December 2014

Rating: 1/5

"many panels broken...managed to build, but poor quality"

Reviewed Sunday, 31 August 2014

Rating: 1/5

"The quality was poor The wood wet and green The tooth slots broken The wood not straight No fixing screws supplied"

Reviewed Monday, 28 July 2014

Rating: 1/5

"Missing screws and wood cracked and damaged."

Reviewed Tuesday, 24 June 2014

Rating: 1/5

"The compost bin arrived with the corner of one of the front slats broken. The wood was damp as if stored in the open before packaged for dispatch. The vertical side supports were not long enough to attach to the top side slat. I could have dismantled, complained and sent back but having spent 2 hours assembling I could not take any more hassle. Very poor product."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 April 2014

Rating: 1/5

"I found this item very disappointing. Some of the joints were broken off, the side panels were too short and a number of screws were missing. The panels did not fit together easily, some being a very tight fit indeed. The wood was also soaking wet."

Reviewed Sunday, 1 April 2012

Rating: 1/5

"In principle a very good idea, but why is it that nothing these days can ever arrive made to the correct specifications? We ordered two of these compost bins, and they both had the same problem, so we know it's not just a one off mistake. The vertical slats you screw against the horizontal side slats in order to keep them in place are shown to be full length in the instructions (i.e. they reach from the bottom slat all the way flush to the end of the top slat). Unfortunately though, they were too short and we needed to hunt around for additional pieces of wood at home. (We didn't have any, so we used four metal brackets instead - four because you need one on each side and we had bought two bins). Another disappointment was the unreadable instruction sheet, which was written in the most horrendous 'Engrish'. Assembly is really quite simple, so writing in addition to the schematics wasn't really necessary, still the fact that the instructions were unintelligible did not make for a very professional impression. "

Reviewed Wednesday, 1 February 2012

Rating: 1/5

"several pieces of wood were broken which I had to fix together. I would not recommend this product"

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 October 2010