Customer Reviews

Average Rating

3.9/5
245 reviews
Rating: 2/5

"Billed as 'easy to put together', it would have been if there had been pre-drilled holes for the screws!!!"

Reviewed Monday, 5 December 2016

Rating: 2/5

"The wood was breaking as the item was put together. While Slotting wood into the front section, pieces of wood were breaking off and some were already broken off."

Reviewed Sunday, 23 October 2016

Rating: 2/5

"One of the bins was missing it's screws and neither came with a picture of what the assembled product should look like never mind any assembly instructions!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 June 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Although the wood was exactly as ordered there were no screws for assembly. I went out to purchase them then assembled the compost bin...very poor."

Reviewed Thursday, 10 March 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Two wood panels had a broken edge."

Reviewed Friday, 22 January 2016

Rating: 2/5

"Some of wooden slats have pieces 'chipped' off the ends which makes it hard to assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 29 December 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Planks did not slot together well, some corners fell off. No screws in one of the packages. I can see why these were cheap."

Reviewed Monday, 16 November 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Wood was very damp, so when slotting together, started to split! Some of the ends on some slates broke off when unpacked, so needed screwing together. So disappointed."

Reviewed Thursday, 22 October 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Items arrived wet, damaged and of inferior quality"

Reviewed Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Rating: 2/5

"Poor"

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 April 2015

Rating: 2/5

"pieces of wood to secure the sides of the composter were not long enough, hence a bit of DIY necessary, slits for the front panels don't fit very well."

Reviewed Friday, 20 March 2015

Rating: 2/5

"In all three packs the screws had come out of their (clearly inadequate) plastic wrapper and were loose. Several were missing and they were in any case of very inferior quality: some actually bent as they were screwed in and were therefore useless."

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 November 2014

Rating: 2/5

"As with other reviews, the wood was WET due to sweating in the plastic wrapping, BUT once the wood had dried out the item is as good as you'd expect for a wooden compost bin."

Reviewed Thursday, 13 November 2014

Rating: 2/5

"The wood/wrapping was sodden and the assembly instructions fell apart they were so wet !! also the screws/fixings were missing from one of the bins. Nowhere near as substantial as I had expected but I guess you get what you pay for."

Reviewed Tuesday, 7 October 2014

Answer from Primrose: "Thanks for your review. We are currently working with the manufacturer to improve the packaging of this product. Please contact our Customer Support Team & they will arrange to replace any missing/damaged parts."
Rating: 2/5

"The compost bin components had clearly been stored in very wet conditions; the polythene cover was damaged and had had been resealed prior to despatch with industrial sellotape. The wood slats were soaking wet and heavily mildewed; some slats were warped - it took some effort to bend them into shape to construct the bin. There was a small polythene packet which was split and did not contain the required number of screws. Overall I was not impressed! I don't expect that you will bother to respond to this survey."

Reviewed Monday, 9 June 2014

Rating: 2/5

"Parts broken was easier to repair than go through the long drawn out process of complaint"

Reviewed Thursday, 1 May 2014

Rating: 2/5

"We ordered 2 bins and neither came with the screws needed. Following instructions rigidly on 1st bin meabt that upright support to each side was not long enough as gaps left by inserting front pices of wood were slightly to wide. As I said this was following the instructions and I avoided this on the second bin by leaving a slightly narrower gap than instructions say. The wood that the bins are made from was very wet on delivery and i suspect were made when the wood was wet as the bin was well packed in a watertight package. I am not sure that the easy load front is going to work well when we need to remove it as the joints are very tight and once the bin is filled may be difficult to remove from the front only. We will see. Overall the product is very disappointing for what seem very minor issues to correct. I suspect that neither the retailer nor the manufacturer has ever tried to assemble one or tested the product as it is meant to be used."

Reviewed Tuesday, 17 September 2013

Rating: 2/5

"The compost bins were hard to assemble. As an engineer I think the cut outs were probably inconsistent in width and depth and so fitting was a problem. Also was the wood too wet or dry? A consequence was that the wood next to the tabs split a lot, so a number of repairs were needed (wood screwed back on, cut outs enlarged...)."

Reviewed Sunday, 5 May 2013

Rating: 2/5

"Bit disappointed. Two pieces of timber were broken and I had to glue them back with wood glue. It was essential to do this as onw of the pieces that was broken was a leading notched edge and could not be used, had I not glued it back. The other piece simply snapped off when being taken out of the pack. The timber is fine and the assembly was OK. "

Reviewed Saturday, 21 May 2011

Rating: 2/5

"the product arrived the next day, great. No instruction! Not so great! Rang you guys was emailed instructions, small but just about usable, very helpful telephone response. Good design, had to add two more uprights to make the product solid. Weak pieces meant that some slats broke, so it was necessary for the additional uprights. the product is cheap, would have been more disappointed if I had paid alot for it."

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 April 2011

Rating: 2/5

"I have only just had the time and weather to assemble the item and found that it did not have any instructions or screws in the package, fortunately I had assemble one a little while ago and could see how it went together"

Reviewed Sunday, 16 January 2011

Rating: 2/5

"When unwrapped the wood was very damp. No assembly instructions. Bits chipped off when assembling as the intersections had to be forced in. Overall not as good I thought they would be."

Reviewed Wednesday, 27 October 2010

Rating: 2/5

"Some end pieces of wood were delivered broken, several screws were missing from one pack, no assembly instructions (I managed by constantly referring to Online pictures via my phone) and worst of all this product is advertised as pressure treated wood guaranteed for 15 years. Two independent old hands at woodwork assure me the wood has not been treated at all, and I should pay for waterproofing and paint it myself if I expect it to last more than a year or so, so overall I wish I'd used pallets like most people on the allotment. The only saving grace is that these look neater than pallets. Could not recommend and would not buy again."

Reviewed Saturday, 23 October 2010