Customer Reviews

Average Rating

3.9/5
245 reviews
Rating: 3/5

"They are ok, do the job. The timber is rough sawn of mediocre quality. Would not expect expensive timber to be used but a lot of knots a couple of which broke off during assembly"

Reviewed Friday, 16 November 2018

Rating: 3/5

"Matters didn't start well, as the goods (2 compost bins) were left where I'd asked them to be put if I was OUT. But, I was IN; the courier just hadn't bothered to ring the bell - and it IS a loud ring! Upon unwrapping the two items I found them to be dripping wet - not just damp, but water actually running out. How long they'd been in that condition is impossible to say, but this was during the very long hot spell of 2018! They were so wet and swollen they had to be stood to dry out for 3 days before they could be assembled. One can only imagine the poor storage conditions at Primrose. There are no assembly instructions - one is advised to find a relevant pdf on Primrose's website, except that what is shown bears no relationship whatsoever to the product supplied. Is there no-one at primrose who takes responsibility for the accuracy of these matters? The best advice I can offer is to study the photo of a completed bin on the website, then the process becomes fairly straightforward. The parts themselves fit together quite well, (use a mallet) those that are already not broken that is. It was necessary to repair (glue and screw) seven bin front angled members before they could be used. Fully assembled, each bin was placed upon a double course of bricks to raise it above soil level, thus, hopefully, extending its life. At least, that's the theory! Overall, and very much taking into consideration the price, these bins are quite adequate and should give good service for a few years. Not, I would add in my opinion, the 15 years claimed by Primrose - they are not THAT good, quality wise. But, as with everything, time will tell."

Reviewed Wednesday, 10 October 2018

Rating: 3/5

"There weren't any instructions, either with the product or online for assembly, the closest was for a different bin. I'm no DIY expert but only managed to build it by looking at the pictures on the website. Pretty poor show on that front, even a one page document would have helped. Product as described though although a few screws also missing"

Reviewed Monday, 20 August 2018

Rating: 3/5

"Good idea but needs modification to make the removable front slats work as intended, ie slide in and out relatively easily. Widened the slots in the removable slats and reduced the thickness across the slats between the slots. They now operate extremely well. Manufacturer needs to produce front slats differently from the static ones, ie wider slots and less thick wood. Slats easily broken at corners, mainly, and will need replacing. Good looking product but to produce the first two bins I had to use parts from the third bin which I must now get replaced."

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 May 2018

Rating: 3/5

"This was a replacement item for first faulty item, it was also damaged but between the two items I was able to construct one complete compost bin. Lots of left over broken pieces . Poor quality but Primrose were helpful."

Reviewed Wednesday, 9 August 2017

Rating: 3/5

"Simple construction but poor product quality. The end of five planks of wood were split off and the side uprights were 50mm too short. Primrose replaced the planks quickly."

Reviewed Monday, 20 August 2012

Rating: 3/5

"Excellent delivery of product. It was a bit tricky to assemble and really needed two people. Would have been easier if screws had been included! They were included for 2 of the 3 compost bins only so had to source and fit our own. Alison musgrave"

Reviewed Thursday, 29 March 2012

Rating: 3/5

"One of the front spars was broken - there was a knot in the wood. Some of the wood was not too easy to put into place. Albeit there were screws provided, there were not holes pre made in the 2 supports."

Reviewed Monday, 26 March 2012

Rating: 3/5

"A great purchase but!!! the two front side panels were too short my husband had to make his own up and it says easy access to and fro compost the slot in panels are a very tight fit so they will be hard to remove, "

Reviewed Thursday, 22 March 2012

Rating: 3/5

"Product is good, but does not come with any assembly instructions and when I emailed customer services asking for some, I didn't get any response. "

Reviewed Tuesday, 13 December 2011

Rating: 3/5

"A good price and a good design. Easy to put together - I built 2 in 40 minutes. Cut outs on some slats were too large though leading to the fit being too snug with tiny and sloping gaps between slats. Using slat depth as a spacing guide also meant the front was higher than the back and the side pieces weren't long enough."

Reviewed Monday, 25 April 2011

Rating: 3/5

"no instructions hampered construction, also a spacer was required when attaching side panel (used my finger to support the slat as husband drilled screw in)Husband had to guess position of each screw when pre-drilling holes, so took longer than it should of to construct, But now finished and for a composter it looks good , do find when mixing it material can fall through slats but not to much of a problem"

Reviewed Wednesday, 4 August 2010

Rating: 3/5

"A great idea for a product, unfortunately when my 3 composters turned up they were wrapped in plastic but water had got inside and there was lots of mould on most of the wood (so it had obviously been like that for some time). I then spent an extra hour scrubbing the wood to try to make it look better (it is still discoloured in parts). I then noticed that one of the packs didn't have any screws with it so I needed to drive to the hardware shop to buy some more (v. annoying). Whilst putting the together I noticed that in one of the kits nearly every piece of wood had a small split right by where the pieces fit together, unsurprisingly the wood broke when put with the other piece and then I needed to nail the wood back together so it could be used properly. The delivery was perfect and the composters are a great idea (hence the 3 stars) but the quality control of the kits is woefully poor."

Reviewed Monday, 2 August 2010