Customer Reviews

Average Rating

3.9/5
245 reviews
Rating: 4/5

"This is exactly what I wanted."

Reviewed Monday, 8 October 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Seem well designed and a good size, it remains to be seen how well they will last over the years, but overall very pleased."

Reviewed Monday, 6 August 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Relatively easy to assemble, although wood components were wet so the joints were very tight, one split so had to repair the joint. Pack of screws missing from one of the two bins I ordered. The bins look good now they are assembled and are an ideal size, very good value, I would order agan."

Reviewed Sunday, 15 July 2018

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble but electric screwdriver essential. Quite a few of the slats had loose end parts so the removeable front slats will not all fit correctly."

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 November 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Bin is fine when you have worked it out."

Reviewed Saturday, 21 October 2017

Rating: 4/5

"solid construction, but some parts needed a little trimming to ensure a good fit."

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Rating: 4/5

"The wood is by no means perfect, it arrives very wet and the pre-cut slots create weak points where the wood is easily broken. I had to glue several pieces back together to retain the structure. But considering the price, these compost bins are excellent value for money and very easy to assemble."

Reviewed Sunday, 17 September 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Product arrived as expected, some slight damage to some of the pieces of wood but nothing that prevented it from being assembled. Would have been good to get a set of assembly instructions with the packages but these were easily found online."

Reviewed Sunday, 30 July 2017

Rating: 4/5

"It was only OK as the wood was saturated when I unpacked it and had to be dried out for days before it would fit together. It did go up well eventually."

Reviewed Monday, 10 April 2017

Rating: 4/5

"Assembly instructions not too good. They suggest that screwing on the two D upright pieces is step 4 whereas they need to be screwed on as you build it up layer by layer. Only found how to do it by googling and watching a video."

Reviewed Sunday, 26 February 2017

Rating: 4/5

"We already have two of the compost bins at our church and this is the third. I believe the person putting them together found it a little tricky but managed in the end. I am going to put the corners on bricks to save from damp. Thank you."

Reviewed Thursday, 10 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good, but some assembly instructions would have been useful"

Reviewed Tuesday, 8 November 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Some of the slates a bit chipped but overall does the job so now have 4."

Reviewed Wednesday, 26 October 2016

Rating: 4/5

"So far so good..............."

Reviewed Tuesday, 4 October 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Small issue with the wood, but this was sorted without any problem."

Reviewed Thursday, 18 August 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 1 August 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Wood quality was poor in some instances as it split when attempting to slot some pieces together."

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good value for the price, if a little rough around the edges. Some instructions on how to assemble would have been useful though."

Reviewed Tuesday, 12 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 11 April 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to put together and perfect for the job"

Reviewed Monday, 21 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Slight problem with fitting. On-line instruction did not make it clear that it was necessary to use a hammer to get wooden slots properly fitted. As a result, my fist attempt had gaps that were too large at the sides and back."

Reviewed Monday, 7 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"easy assemble"

Reviewed Tuesday, 1 March 2016

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 27 October 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Some pieces damaged probably due to poor packaging and careless handling by courier."

Reviewed Tuesday, 28 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 2 July 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Assembly fairly easy and you tube video was a great help."

Reviewed Tuesday, 23 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 2 June 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Wednesday, 29 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"When built are ideal for my usage but a lot of the components were damaged. The slots cut to interlink the wooden fame were broken so I have had to repair at least 8 slats on one and about 4 on the other which is not very good!!"

Reviewed Friday, 3 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Everything was fine but the two vertical side strips at the front need to be about 2 inches longer."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Took a little while to work out the instructions. Some of the wood a little damaged, but for its purpose, that didn't seem too important. Looks far better than what it replaced. Good value for money."

Reviewed Thursday, 2 April 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Despite negative comments from others, I'm very pleased. I got three; screws were missing from one - well - buy 12 screws then. The wood was wet in the pack - so what - it dried out. I found 1 warped piece out of 60 or so & bent it back into place. The instructions were OK; if you can build an IKEA unit, this is a doddle. They were a tad smaller than they looked / I expected, but I will extend them upwards. They look nice, they're solid & are cheap. Recommended."

Reviewed Saturday, 28 March 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Well constructed and easy to assemble. Following on from other reviews, the screws were absolutely perfect."

Reviewed Thursday, 22 January 2015

Rating: 4/5

"The wooden pieces were parceled up tightly but were very, very damp when opened. There were no screws in the pack so had to go and buy some. Some pieces of wood next to the openings flew off when the slats were fitted together. I would have rated the product somewhere between good and poor."

Reviewed Saturday, 3 January 2015

Rating: 4/5

"Wood arrived wet, so wood very swollen making it difficult to drive home the dovetails properly until it was dried out. Could have provided the appropriate screws for the uprights! Otherwise all seems to be fine. Hopefully it will prove badger proof !!!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 31 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good product for the price paid."

Reviewed Thursday, 18 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Fast delivery thank you"

Reviewed Monday, 15 December 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Quite easy to assemble. The dimensions given on the website are internal so it was tight in the space I had. The wood was very wet when it arrived"

Reviewed Monday, 24 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A couple of elements had pieces or knots that have parted from the main piece of wood - but that is frankly minor. The instructions were in unsealed plastic envelopes and were therefore sopping wet."

Reviewed Monday, 17 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"As described good value"

Reviewed Saturday, 15 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Just what I wanted - good product"

Reviewed Thursday, 13 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"It was fairly easy to put together. the pack arrived plastic wrapped but the wood inside was wet. Not important as it is for use in the garden in all weather! Maybe made working with it a bit harder. And it was reduced.."

Reviewed Saturday, 8 November 2014

Rating: 4/5

"good"

Reviewed Monday, 27 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good value for money. Better than I expected at the price. This is only a compost bin but I feel confident that it will last as long as promised which, at the price, is a 'RESULT'!"

Reviewed Tuesday, 21 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good composters as long as woods not too wet when slotting them together."

Reviewed Thursday, 9 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Was very wet and mouldy but dried out once out of the plastic wrap. This had been commented on in a review I read previously"

Reviewed Monday, 6 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Thursday, 2 October 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Bought a large bin last year and it works well. I have made my own covers, perhaps Primrose could think about supplying those as well."

Reviewed Wednesday, 2 July 2014

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A couple of the planks were broken- the pieces next to the cut outs were snapped off, and there were no screws (luckily I had some suitable ones), there was the bag for the screws stapled to a board but it was cut clean through and the screws were nowhere to be found! The bin was easy to assemble for one person, though, and the instructions were OK. Overall I think it's good value for money and I'd buy another."

Reviewed Sunday, 6 April 2014

Rating: 4/5

"A compost bin is a compost bin"

Reviewed Monday, 13 January 2014

Rating: 4/5

"have not yet constructed !!!!"

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 October 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Some corners of the wood broken, some lengths warped and definitely a 2 person job to put up. Having said that it will do the job (already full from vegetable plot) and is value for money."

Reviewed Sunday, 22 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 21 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Reasonably priced but no instructions for assembly and a few cutout broken and poor fit. Nevertheless I managed to put it together from pictures on the web site and it looks ok."

Reviewed Sunday, 15 September 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Condition of panels could have been a bit better some had splits which broke when assembled."

Reviewed Wednesday, 28 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"As expected - fine"

Reviewed Tuesday, 27 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"generally a good product - the slotted ends of some pieces - a couple, I think it was, were a bit fragile and snapped off easily during construction (one on arrival) but in my case it was not a problem and I didn't consider it worth following up"

Reviewed Thursday, 22 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"This missed being rated excellent for just one reason. The main slats are made from timber measuring approximately 83mm by 20mm; the bottom rail from timber measuring approximately 43mm by 20mm. Using, as directed, the front slats as spacers means that the minimum height of the sides of the bin is, one width (43mm) of a bottom rail, plus 6 times the thickness (20mm) of a slat, plus 6 times the width (85mm) of a slat. This means that the minimum height of the side of the bin is 673mm. (The actual height of the sides of my 2 bins is 678mm.) Now, each of the two short planks you supplied are only 610mm long, and so comes up barely a quarter of the way up the top slat. Its support of this top slat is therefore somewhat compromised. What would be the additional cost of lengthening these two short planks so that they do indeed reach most of the way to the top of the topmost slat? Are you in reality 'spoiling the ship for a hap'orth of tar'?"

Reviewed Friday, 9 August 2013

Rating: 4/5

"it came together easily but the 'removable' slats are going to be a job to remove"

Reviewed Thursday, 18 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Saturday, 6 July 2013

Rating: 4/5

"These are the best value for money I could find for wooden slat construction compost buns anywhere, and they are genuinely easy to assemble. However, one problem arose which I feel Primrose need to address. The website gives vey specific dimensions for the compost bin - stating that they are 92cm square., While this is an accurate statement of the exterior dimensions of the assembled BOX it does not take account of the protrusions at the sides and rear. Each bin actually needs a square meter to stand in. I needed 3 bins, to stand in a row - the additional space needed meant that I had to do quite a bit of modification to fit them into the space available. Also, if stood next to each other there would be 8cm of dead space between each bin. When selling on the internet, an accurate description of SIZE and SPACE REQUIRED is essential!!"

Reviewed Sunday, 23 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"great product, but sadly lacking any instructions to assist in construction (had to use photo from catalogue)"

Reviewed Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"I love the design and they were very simple to put together. The two packs we received did have a few broken bits in but my immediate requirement for the bins meant I did not contact primrose about this. I was able to fix them, it was just a bit of a shame."

Reviewed Monday, 17 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 3 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The wood was quite wet when arrived but left outside to dry out so easier to put together. A couple of the bits had split but didn't really affect the construction."

Reviewed Sunday, 2 June 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to construct although it would have helped if the uprights were pre-drilled. About to order another."

Reviewed Wednesday, 22 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 20 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble."

Reviewed Thursday, 9 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to erect but would recommend using gloves - to protect from the preservative and possible splinters. In situ within an hour."

Reviewed Monday, 6 May 2013

Rating: 4/5

"The same comments apply except that the packing was good but still only a few screws at the bottom of the pack. Primrose need to devise a different, more secure way to provide the screws"

Reviewed Tuesday, 30 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good"

Reviewed Monday, 22 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Needed to be assembled on a flat surface, instructions could be more informative"

Reviewed Monday, 8 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Good product, exactly as described."

Reviewed Wednesday, 3 April 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Look good and are easy enough to build, although the diagram and the actual build don't quite match as the uprights that are screwed in are not in fact long enough to cover the entire height, you have to sort of guess an offset height to make them reach both top and bottom slats properly."

Reviewed Wednesday, 20 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"came with damage to side slats where angle cut,sorted with primrose.product storage needs to be looked at, was wet and this made it easy to damage.made repairs myself with allowance.now great, much better than a plastic one.overall very pleased with product and easy to build.!!"

Reviewed Thursday, 7 March 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble and a good looking, sturdy product"

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 February 2013

Rating: 4/5

"Supplied with all necessary equipment including instructions and screws. Straightforward to assemble and I am very pleased with it so far. (Only had it two weeks)"

Reviewed Saturday, 17 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"bit tricky for my husband to put together. we'll see how well it makes compost next year"

Reviewed Tuesday, 13 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Product good but it was so wet on delivery that would not easily fit together as the wood was so swollen."

Reviewed Wednesday, 7 November 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Went together well. Holds a good amount. Looks tidy."

Reviewed Friday, 12 October 2012

Rating: 4/5

"Good product and prompt delivery. One or two ends were damaged in transit. More packing needed perhaps on the ends."

Reviewed Friday, 25 May 2012

Rating: 4/5

"I am very pleased with my compost bins, but with no knowledge of woodwork I had to be introduced to a mallet and a power drill. It would have been helpful to be told I needed a mallet. It took a while to realise I needed one to slot the slats together properly."

Reviewed Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Rating: 4/5

"The item is a very good idea, but I feel the tolerance for the joints was a bit tight and also the item did appear to be damp/wet which would have contributed to fact that 5 small sectons fell off either in transport or assembly. The web site is good , delivery was as promised to the hour. After sales was excellant, I believe it was Matt that I dealt with"

Reviewed Friday, 10 February 2012

Rating: 4/5

"The compost bins arrived very promptly, which was excellent. The side struts which had to be screwed onto the slats were too short for both the bins we received. It was dificult to screw the top slat onto the side piece, and impossible for the larger bin. "

Reviewed Thursday, 24 November 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Only just got someone to put these together for me. The screws were missing. Seem good for the purpose required, but a little on the flimsy side when erected. Overall quite good."

Reviewed Wednesday, 3 August 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Overall am pleased; however two long slats, (ones with a V cut) and one short slat were damaged at ends due to knots at sawn ends. did not bother to complain as it all holds together and I can cut other wood to replace."

Reviewed Saturday, 18 June 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Good value, but no instructions for construction! Otherwise just fine "

Reviewed Thursday, 5 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"It was quite easy to assemble, although not really clear from the diagram how many side slats needed screws. A professional gardiner friend told us that the slats are too wide apart - compost does not need that much air - but we'll wait to see the result."

Reviewed Monday, 2 May 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Once one had a closer look at the picture on your website it was easy to assemble. The wooden compost conrainer blend in to the garden surrounds."

Reviewed Sunday, 17 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy load 530 litre wooden compost bin x3. These seem to be all they promise (except instructions on the first two!) A couple of minutes of head scratching soon resolved the omission and assembly was very easy. Having bought two to go side by side, I found that they were smaller than I had imagined, so I bought a third to increase the height of the first two by 50%. Worked well and I haven't seen better compost bins anywhere. Delivery was only the let down. I provided full directions but the courier only had half of them on his paperwork. So three working days instead of the next."

Reviewed Sunday, 17 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Items well wrapped but the contents were saturated so difficult to put together as all the joints were swollen. Not sure how easy it will be to take the front off at a later date as the fit is very tight. Time will tell how well the item lasts but it appears to be fairly sturdy. "

Reviewed Sunday, 10 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Excellent value and just the right size. The ability to remove the front section without dismantling the whole of it is an enormous benefit that is not available on most other types. We had to print the photos off the website to work out how to assemble it - printed instructions would have been useful. But very easy once we'd worked it out. Also, the second one was missing 9 screws - although these were easily replaced."

Reviewed Tuesday, 5 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Good product it was easier to put the second one together, but look good and smell lovely!"

Reviewed Sunday, 3 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Very pleasded with the product. Assembly instructions would be an enormous help. Bought two. The first took just over two hours to assemble and the second twenty minutes. I read other customer comments before purchasing and anticipated aassembly difficulties as this had been mentioned so I would hope that you would consider this for the future. As I said I am happy with the end product."

Reviewed Saturday, 2 April 2011

Rating: 4/5

"I am very satisfied with the compost bin. It was fairly simple to assemble, though the instructions could be more explicit."

Reviewed Wednesday, 30 March 2011

Rating: 4/5

"Easy to assemble but could do with uprights at the rear to keep the spacing, I used some old 75mm x 15mm and it worked perfectly."

Reviewed Thursday, 9 December 2010

Rating: 4/5

"THE COMPOST BIN IS EXACTLY WHAT WE WANTED, WHAT MORE IS THER TO SAY, THE NEXT DAY DELIVERY WAS BANG ON TIME."

Reviewed Saturday, 27 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"I chose the compost bin because it was good value for money. It arrived quickly. The lack of assembly instructions was a draw-back. I had to guess how to put it together. "

Reviewed Monday, 15 November 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Compost bin easy to assemble and quality appears good. The only glitch was the delivery. I asked for the bin to be left around the side of the garage if we were. out and drop a note through the letterbox. The bin was left in next doors porch and no note was left. I didn't know about it until the following day when contacted by the neighbours."

Reviewed Tuesday, 26 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Exceptional delivery"

Reviewed Sunday, 10 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"easy to put together, although one or two of the slats could have been of better quality..but it's fine for a compost bin!"

Reviewed Sunday, 10 October 2010

Rating: 4/5

"My only worry is that it might come to pieces when I start to remove the compost. Otherwise, excellent."

Reviewed Wednesday, 22 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Excellent delivery service, although construction is relatively simple, for those not DIY minded, an instruction sheet could be of benefit. Look forward to using your products in the future."

Reviewed Sunday, 19 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"After initial delay the bin was delivered next day. A request for assembly instructions was dealt with immediately.Now waiting for the Aerator which was out of stock when I ordered."

Reviewed Friday, 17 September 2010

Rating: 4/5

"Good bin for a good price. It did come without instructions, but when I called I received a very helpful response and they were emailed to me reasonably quickly. It was very straightforward to put together. I'm very happy with it. Much nicer to have wood than a big plastic monstrosity and much easier to mix and better for wildlife too."

Reviewed Sunday, 22 August 2010